Minimum Petrol Ron

ryan2610888

Jun 14, 2010
SPG
Hi all mates, i'm new to own a fairlady. I would like to ask what is the minimum ron required on 350z?:hmmmm: Is it Ron 95 or Ron 97? Kindly reply me all sifu.

---------- Post added at 02:20 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 02:15 PM ----------

By the way, how many liters of 350zs' tank? I pump into almost 60 liters but the petrol meter showed still no full yet...:hmmmm:

TamanLinkin

Jun 7, 2009
AKI91 or RON96 minimum as stated on USDM Z manual. Dunno bout JDM, but just pump RON97 inside, dun be so cheap lol.

hanhng

Nov 14, 2009
The earth
I think 3.5L engine definitely need 97, you might not get the genuine performance if you put in 95. You got your fairlady edi? GONG XI GONG XI!! :biggrin:
Have to bring me few rounds ah when i go back!!

Mad_Jeff

Apr 1, 2010
Gelang Patah
I would recommend RON97. I've tried the normal RON95. The performance is visibly noticeable, plus the fuel consumption is higher with RON95 petrol. I am currently using Shell 97 with V power. I must say i am impressed with the added V power. That's my two cents. Enjoy your Fairlady. 8-)

E6XLancer

May 2, 2010
1 Malaysia
now Shell launch their V-Power for Malaysia market?Not the V-power RACING also very goods but im using on my Evo.Im highly recomend for Ron 97 for your Fairlady & bear in mind fills full your tanks before this 1st July...hahaha......:burnout:

ysl

Oct 23, 2009
B'worth/Penang
Understanding RON (Research Octane Number) will give clear picture of which petrol to choose.

The Z33 Stock engine optimized for RON96 for both USDM and JDM. You can run using 95 or even lower, but there may be some engine knocking happen especially when you engine is hot. The Z engineer has done all the calculation to make the stock engine running smooth, so we better follow.

Actually relationship between of RON and engine is quite complicated, but most people misunderstand that RON = Power, but actually is not. It can be explained in simple manner like this.

Engine is powered by mixture of Air (oxigen) and Fuel (A/F), this mixture is easy to explode. It normally explode when sparkplug ignites, then push piston to the bottom. Knocking is something like "Pre-explode" of A/F in the "piston cylinder" when it is hot. meaning that the "knocking" push the piston down before it goes up completely. This process reduce the car performance and hurt some parts of your engine.

RON is actually Octane added to petrol to increase the "Pre-explode" resistance level of A/F mixture. So the higher RON you have, the A/F mixture will not explode by it self when your engine hot, meaning the combustion is more controllable.

Malaysia is hot country, so I think higher RON is better. In cold country or winter, lower RON can be used.

Another factor cause knocking is engine compression ratio, so if you modified your car later, you need higher RON number petrol to make your engine smooth. That is why, all racing fuel have RON level more than 100.

I hope my explanation is acceptable.

E6XLancer

May 2, 2010
1 Malaysia
sorry for asking...Thats if a Fairlady with all stock engine & ecu gets Ron 100 running from Johor to Penang?Whats will happens...:hmmmm:

ysl

Oct 23, 2009
B'worth/Penang
sorry for asking...Thats if a Fairlady with all stock engine & ecu gets Ron 100 running from Johor to Penang?Whats will happens...:hmmmm:
I guess nothing will happen, the car will be running with a smooth engine. However, since Z33 optimized with RON96 in a stock condition, I think RON100 is overkill.

Although you are running from JB to PG, your car temperature will maintain as usual when your cooling system is working fine. Futuremore Z33 engine cooling system is very good.

But if running in RON95, I think lots of knocking will happen along the way, and some significant damage may be had happened to the engine.

Stan88

May 30, 2010
RON95 is not clean and good fuel. My recon Toyota specialist had replaced quite a lot of cat converter since RON95 available. My BMW specialist also had a few cars that engine were damaged by the RON95 fuel.

I use V Power Racing whenever I can find it or else RON97. You can really feel the power when you use V Power Racing. My two cents. Drove from KL to Singapore yesterday. RM90 on V Power Racing driving 180 kph+ most of time. So far the few trip I made cost the same. Cost a bit more but shiok. More power and responsive.

Cheers

ryan2610888

Jun 14, 2010
SPG
RON95 is not clean and good fuel. My recon Toyota specialist had replaced quite a lot of cat converter since RON95 available. My BMW specialist also had a few cars that engine were damaged by the RON95 fuel.

I use V Power Racing whenever I can find it or else RON97. You can really feel the power when you use V Power Racing. My two cents. Drove from KL to Singapore yesterday. RM90 on V Power Racing driving 180 kph+ most of time. So far the few trip I made cost the same. Cost a bit more but shiok. More power and responsive.

Cheers
hehe...i also prefer V-Power Racing but it's not availabe in my area + costy, cost me Rm150 full tank...:bawling:

---------- Post added at 05:28 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 05:27 PM ----------

I think 3.5L engine definitely need 97, you might not get the genuine performance if you put in 95. You got your fairlady edi? GONG XI GONG XI!! :biggrin:
Have to bring me few rounds ah when i go back!!
Of couse hang, haha....waiting ur fairlady, we organize a Club! hahaha!!:biggrin:

---------- Post added at 05:30 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 05:28 PM ----------

Any bros here from Johor can recommend good dealer install Engine Bar on 350z? Is it fit to carbon bonnet?

Hi, good day. Im driving a wira 1.5 a/b se and I could hear somesort of metal clanging sound everytime I start my car after the engine gets cold. I could hear the sound only when I start the car after turning off the engine for more than two or three hours. Starting the car early in the morning is the worse. Starting the car after 30 mins or even 1 hour of turning off the engine results in no sound at all. The sound will disappear after some time, maybe after 10 mins of drive. Im having...