Max limit for TD04L turbo

speed2horizon

Jun 4, 2006
why use td05?? find ball bearing lah... bigger & fast spool... :p
Yaya... everyone knows mother is suppose to be women.... Price wise leh...

Y 1st model only using td05?then after tat dwngrade to td04??:hmmmm:

---------- Post added at 09:36 PM ---------- Previous post was at 09:27 PM ----------

Rally ma Song... Response is more important than HP... My personal opinion.

veilsideboyz

Oct 28, 2008
opppss.........sorry ~~!
I mean 1800cc not 1000cc... :five:
coz if use TD05..i suggest get a Gt28 or GT30 better...
spool faster :smokin:

speed2horizon

Jun 4, 2006
opppss.........sorry ~~!
I mean 1800cc not 1000cc... :five:
coz if use TD05..i suggest get a Gt28 or GT30 better...
spool faster :smokin:
Personally tested TD05 and GT28 on a GSR. Response difference are visible. But for extra RM1600-RM1800. But not that bad if TD05 from EVO 1. Different people have different budget. If it's GSR we're talking about, people want mild modification to fit a bigger turbo. GSR owner only needs to bore up the exhaust manifold outlet to fit a TD05 nicely. Where GT requires custom manifold... Another amount to consider. Exhaust downpipe... another amount to consider...

But GT30 is going to be lag...

nan83

Nov 14, 2004
Pasir Mas,Kel
Personally tested TD05 and GT28 on a GSR. Response difference are visible. But for extra RM1600-RM1800. But not that bad if TD05 from EVO 1. Different people have different budget. If it's GSR we're talking about, people want mild modification to fit a bigger turbo. GSR owner only needs to bore up the exhaust manifold outlet to fit a TD05 nicely. Where GT requires custom manifold... Another amount to consider. Exhaust downpipe... another amount to consider...

But GT30 is going to be lag...
for 1000cc just use gt2554r .... for drag lah....

for gt30r not lag lah... my old setup gt30r turbine ar 0.63 +hks264 on evo .... that turbo start spool at 3300rpm & full boost 1.5bar in just a blink.... just nice for super street...

gt not require custom manifold laa... wanna cut cost just make a flange adepter to t3 turbine...

speed2horizon

Jun 4, 2006
for 1000cc just use gt2554r .... for drag lah....

for gt30r not lag lah... my old setup gt30r turbine ar 0.63 +hks264 on evo .... that turbo start spool at 3300rpm & full boost 1.5bar in just a blink.... just nice for super street...

gt not require custom manifold laa... wanna cut cost just make a flange adepter to t3 turbine...
Yes... like u said. On EVO.

Yes, not necessary to custom a manifold. Adapter is an option. but gonna use 2 gasket. Still cheaper than a manifold. But if really wanna cut cost, why GT???

nan83

Nov 14, 2004
Pasir Mas,Kel
Yes... like u said. On EVO.

Yes, not necessary to custom a manifold. Adapter is an option. but gonna use 2 gasket. Still cheaper than a manifold. But if really wanna cut cost, why GT???
on gsr not so lag lah... maybe spool at 3700rpm...

no need to argue about cut cost lah.... the turbo is the max for super street... sure no regret..
if you play stepbystep, maybe lot more money will be used... chage td05.. than upgrade 20g... than change again & again...

with that turbo you can get around 400-450hp ... more than enough for street... depend for what you aim... better go straight than go winding road ... better keep money until get what you want...

super street = gt30r or other... bulleyes maybe..

just my opinion...

speed2horizon

Jun 4, 2006
on gsr not so lag lah... maybe spool at 3700rpm...

no need to argue about cut cost lah.... the turbo is the max for super street... sure no regret..
if you play stepbystep, maybe lot more money will be used... chage td05.. than upgrade 20g... than change again & again...

with that turbo you can get around 400-450hp ... more than enough for street... depend for what you aim... better go straight than go winding road ... better keep money until get what you want...

super street = gt30r or other... bulleyes maybe..

just my opinion...
haih... 3700rpm start spooling... no lags... hehe3...
anyway, when u dealing with bog turbo, 400-450BHP is no longer about the turbo only... Please consider again...

And, some people just wanna have fun with their car... from what u trying to say, it's the same as get a ferrari than modding GTR...

Anyway, if i were to suggest a GT, I would suggest a GT2860RS or GT2871... Not GT30... No doubt, Garrett is the cheapest or best value for money. But halfcut TD05 is cheap and affordable in Malaysia.

IMHO.

nan83

Nov 14, 2004
Pasir Mas,Kel
yaaa... no lag... while you change gear power instant come... so no lag... spool time just abit late.. but full boost just instantly come...

400hp .. stock internal still can be use (vr4 or evo).... just clutch, injector,fuelpump & piggy or standalone..
if gsr... just use ca18 conrod....

speed2horizon

Jun 4, 2006
yaaa... no lag... while you change gear power instant come... so no lag... spool time just abit late.. but full boost just instantly come...

400hp .. stock internal still can be use (vr4 or evo).... just clutch, injector,fuelpump & piggy or standalone..
if gsr... just use ca18 conrod....
HAHAHA!!! spool in abit late = NO lag???
GOOD EXPLANATION... Anyway.. whatever...

And CA18 conrod require modification... U forgot to include 4AGZE pistons as well...

Anyway, dun feel like having arguement... Just end it...

nan83

Nov 14, 2004
Pasir Mas,Kel
HAHAHA!!! spool in abit late = NO lag???
GOOD EXPLANATION... Anyway.. whatever...

And CA18 conrod require modification... U forgot to include 4AGZE pistons as well...

Anyway, dun feel like having arguement... Just end it...

not argument laaa.. wekekeke... but FYI ... spool time & lag is 2 different thing...

if you use big turbo... just use antilag to make the turbo respond instantly after change gear.... so lag can be eliminate... but spool time still cannot make faster.... twin scroll can help abit.. to make it spool faster just nos it... kekekeke

spool time not important in drag , coz while racing we only use effective rpm only depend on gear ratio...

if on the road... yes, spool is important if you lazy to change lower gear....

snoop-pie

Nov 9, 2006

---------- Post added at 09:36 PM ---------- Previous post was at 09:27 PM ----------

td04
l-13T from subaru forester

speed2horizon

Jun 4, 2006
not argument laaa.. wekekeke... but FYI ... spool time & lag is 2 different thing...

if you use big turbo... just use antilag to make the turbo respond instantly after change gear.... so lag can be eliminate... but spool time still cannot make faster.... twin scroll can help abit.. to make it spool faster just nos it... kekekeke

spool time not important in drag , coz while racing we only use effective rpm only depend on gear ratio...

if on the road... yes, spool is important if you lazy to change lower gear....
U've answer ur own queries... He3.

1) We're talking about street cars
2) YES... the gear ratio determines the load to the engine thus affecting the boosting effectiveness. Meaning to say, if u have GSR with 1.8 NA 4WD GB, even if u use TD67 U still won't feel the lag. cause changing gear, compression is still immediate...
3) Antilag??? U are mentioning about Boost controller with gain function..? Or the white little bottle in E3..? Otherwise, i dun see the method. Maybe I'm being a noob.
4) Spool in time have alot to do with Lag...

If u are aware of...

Cheers...

veilsideboyz

Oct 28, 2008
I were to suggest a GT, I would suggest a GT2860RS or GT2871... Not GT30... No doubt, Garrett is the cheapest or best value for money.
IMHO.
Ya.. I AGREE !!! :wavey:
I LOVE GT28RS !! spool quickly up 2500rpm...:burnout:
and Good for around 250whp++ GOOD FOR DAILY :)

nan83

Nov 14, 2004
Pasir Mas,Kel
U've answer ur own queries... He3.

1) We're talking about street cars
2) YES... the gear ratio determines the load to the engine thus affecting the boosting effectiveness. Meaning to say, if u have GSR with 1.8 NA 4WD GB, even if u use TD67 U still won't feel the lag. cause changing gear, compression is still immediate...
3) Antilag??? U are mentioning about Boost controller with gain function..? Or the white little bottle in E3..? Otherwise, i dun see the method. Maybe I'm being a noob.
4) Spool in time have alot to do with Lag...

If u are aware of...

Cheers...

gain funtion?? hehe... it just to late open wastegate... help spool abit...

see here for antilag system
YouTube - Anti-lag evo

Gt30r spool up.... lag??
YouTube - STI GT30R .63 A/R 3rd/4th gear spool

speed2horizon

Jun 4, 2006
Oo... has it mention the capacity of the engine..? Specification..?
Well, video can be convincing.. But back to the reality... we just don;t know what's in the the hood except for the turbo...

I can still show a TD67 that show immediate response on a rotary engine... But put it in a 4 bangers ans see wad happen...

Anyway... i'm tired. I'll stop here... thanks for the impressive video. Appreciate....

Dear Forummers,

I would like to reupholster & rewrap by car seats as they are pretty old. I may also rewrap the pillars and the roof lining too.

Can anyone recommend a place with good workmanship that they themselves have experienced before?

Thanks in advance!