Light weight sport rim, will make a different in daily use?

boyzone

Mar 13, 2005
Hi Guys,

As subject mentioned, do light weight rim really make a different?
Pls advise.. Thanks.:hmmmm:

FVel

Feb 5, 2007
Yes it does.

You will find the girls giving you their telephone numbers more often softly cooing in your ear..."Call me leh...I like your hup kar lim."

JINEIL2EN

Sep 6, 2004
Island Of Pearl
team99ers.2.forumer.com
It helps in acceleration, late braking n lesser cornering weight
wat do u mean by "lesser cornering weight"..??? technically discuss. Thanks.

Northiswara

Dec 21, 2005
from my experience,
helps in acceleration, fuel saving a bit, no need press so much on accelerator.
if ur rim too pretty then u find girls saying "wah!! the rim so big and pretty!!" to u.

JINEIL2EN

Sep 6, 2004
Island Of Pearl
team99ers.2.forumer.com
i think he meant, lighter steering wheel feels when turning steering.
hahaha...if he really mean that, thats no grip, bang the tree/divider edy...ahahaha..:biggrin:
still waiting for his very technically discussion.

lets see wat r the 'tiu'.....& who shld b 'tiu'...

"why is there so much craps in this technical session ? tiu"

karl5511

May 31, 2007
As long as it is original and have a nice look, l leave the rest...
Hahaha...:biggrin:
But, i do feel different using 17" rim on my ride. Even it is original Japan made, still feel berat on acceleration.

Cornering, dont know. I think not much different even if you're using light weight rims.

proton63t

Mar 21, 2007
When u hit corner more than 60kmh, 1kg on ur wheel equals to 15kg of momentum sideways. Hence, lighter rims compared to stock steel rims, u will finds that lighter rims are easily controlled n maneuver.

However, heavier rims felt more stable on a Japanese car on a straight road, u got more weight to the ground.

I dont know what JINEIL2EN drives or what rims he is using, but I am sure he is wise enough to post positive comments in forums and do some research, dont you, JINEIL2EN ?

JINEIL2EN

Sep 6, 2004
Island Of Pearl
team99ers.2.forumer.com
As long as it is original and have a nice look, l leave the rest...
Hahaha...:biggrin:
But, i do feel different using 17" rim on my ride. Even it is original Japan made, still feel berat on acceleration.

Cornering, dont know. I think not much different even if you're using light weight rims.
yo bro, u got a very clear points..bravo...:rofl:

proton63t

Mar 21, 2007
A very simple test, bring ur 17" climb genting hill, see how well the rimsize can help u.

A correct rim size, maximize your grip, acceleration and cornering. Mostly oversized rims are for looks, in a long term they kill your suspension bushing by adding too much weight and inccorect offset, brushing ur inner fender everytime u go over uneven roads n humps, and ur FC will be increased 15% but ur power does not increase.

The conclusion is yours, I speaks based on experience on myself as well shared by others who been through these ordeals.

JINEIL2EN, is there anything u want to know? Dont just post imoticons, u r spamming.

U wan blow water, go to Non Motoring Sections sections

JINEIL2EN

Sep 6, 2004
Island Of Pearl
team99ers.2.forumer.com
When u hit corner more than 60kmh, 1kg on ur wheel equals to 15kg of momentum sideways. Hence, lighter rims compared to stock steel rims, u will finds that lighter rims are easily controlled n maneuver.

However, heavier rims felt more stable on a Japanese car on a straight road, u got more weight to the ground.
great info u got....

I dont know what JINEIL2EN drives or what rims he is using, but I am sure he is wise enough to post positive comments in forums and do some research, dont you, JINEIL2EN ?
nop, i'm just a tok kok peep only...:rofl:

proton63t

Mar 21, 2007
For your info I am using 15" Lenso Axis Maglite on my 1.5 Iswara. Engine is 90bhp/130nm torque with some light modification on engine. 0-100kmh in 10.5 seconds.

May you share your car/engine/rim size info with everyone here ? We can analyse n discuss your setting. Most welcomed to do so :)

Maxx

Feb 17, 2005
PD-Putrajaya-KL
for me changing the rims (from 13" to 15"). japan rim.
what can be felt r more heavier steering on slow speed/parking.
thats maybe coz of my tyre size, as changing rim size also change the tyre size.

accel also decrease abit. abit more time to reach top compare to 13" rim/tyre.

Northiswara

Dec 21, 2005
i change from Rim 14 steel rim with 185/65/R14 to 15 alloy rim with 195/55/R15 so the outer diameter of the whole wheel is still almost the same therefore i wont suffer any acceleration. like proton63T said earlier, replace 14" rim with 17" rim will result in loss of acceleration and higher FC.
my fren fren drive a vios with 16" rim (its kinda of very big rim to his car) with thinner tyre. the pickup slower than iswara. FC damm high! original vios can tapau it anytime. but the 16" rim damm pretty!!

javascript:emoticon(';)')

i use the ae101 engine... the prob. is my engine is shut down suddenly during traffic jam when i use air-cond...but temp is not high (i mean middle)....