Lexus Altezza vs Toyota Altezza

ensgaard

Feb 24, 2005
To all Altezza gurus out there...i need ur help...

I'm now considering of buying an Altezza..tested n got fallen into...need some info from u guys n i'm not very good in cars at all...

The one i tested is a Lexus Altezza....i've browse few websites n found out that the Lexus IS200 supposed to have the 6cylinder 1G-FE similar to its counterpart AS200...but the problem is...looking at the engrave numbers at the engine i've tested...it shows the 3S-GE Beams engine..and i understand that the 3S-GE delivers more power...and my questions are:

1) How is this possible?? Can they just engrave the writings or they change the engine??
2) How about the average service cost for this car??
3) The mileage for this car is around 98k year 2001...should it be ok??

PuristOfRacing

Jul 14, 2005
Kerteh
wikipedia man....wikipedia man.....

there is a significant difference between 4 cylinder 3sge BEAMS and the 6 cylinder 1GFE. The amount of power one engine make does not depends on how many cylinders it haves. The 3sge Beams has advance valve timing mechanism (dual vvti) which enables it to have more power over the straight six of 1G-Fe.

martinchan

Jan 9, 2005
your question have to wait our altezza sifu to answer that...

our POROSAKI sifuuuuu... try to pm him.

porosaki

Sep 16, 2004
3S-GE=performance engine 210hp

1G-FE=economical engine 160hp

everything secret lies in the cylinder head & detail tuning by toyota engineers brother.

would u believe that 3 years before, all toyota GT cars are running on 3S only bear it GT500 or GT300? So, more cylinder doesn't necessary mean more horses no doubt in teory it does.

lexus IS or altezza bothe share the same platform.
not only it has 3S-GE or 1G-FE, it also come with 2JZ-GE(IS300)

martinchan

Jan 9, 2005
and also your TUBRO CHARGER right hehe......

next friday 2nd of June??
i'll be at KL.
so wish to see you guys there....

bye !

tom's

subang
most of the altezza here is 3S....so far i only seen 1 original Lexus IS200....rims only 16", single pot caliper, beige interrior, 1G engine, few altezza over did change their logo to lexus but the only thing u can differentciate is the lexus model the steering have lexus logo n radio frequency go over 90hz

jimmy_ray

Mar 11, 2005
porosaki said:
3S-GE=performance engine 210hp

1G-FE=economical engine 160hp

everything secret lies in the cylinder head & detail tuning by toyota engineers brother.

would u believe that 3 years before, all toyota GT cars are running on 3S only bear it GT500 or GT300? So, more cylinder doesn't necessary mean more horses no doubt in teory it does.

lexus IS or altezza bothe share the same platform.
not only it has 3S-GE or 1G-FE, it also come with 2JZ-GE(IS300)
So, kindly giving your comment Altezza VS BMW 320. May I know also whats da price for Lexus IS200 too??

porosaki

Sep 16, 2004
price for IS200 = ????? hard to find cause imported did not bring in any. but in China ada banyak.

Price for RS200 is 95k~130k.

no problem in makan 3 series all the way to 325i.

green

Apr 12, 2005
better hurry up n get em altezzas...running out of stock soon......

ensgaard

Feb 24, 2005
Thanks everyone...got a tip from altezza owner to look for another one...tomorrow gonna go altezza hunting...thanks again..

jimmy_ray

Mar 11, 2005
porosaki said:
price for IS200 = ????? hard to find cause imported did not bring in any. but in China ada banyak.

Price for RS200 is 95k~130k.

no problem in makan 3 series all the way to 325i.
I heard that the tiptronic version is not so responsive, I know manual can ta pao 325! ( Manual e36/ Auto e46 ), how about tiptronic version? What so special about RS 200 version compare to others?? Any LSD come together??

tom's

subang
normally car importer are only allowed to bring in car below 5 years of age......so next time maybe only can find 2001 model onwards n pricey too.......unless can find old stock......

jimmy_ray

Mar 11, 2005
tom's said:
normally car importer are only allowed to bring in car below 5 years of age......so next time maybe only can find 2001 model onwards n pricey too.......unless can find old stock......
hi tom's, nice to hear from you. all the best for your new environment..:X-:

I choose to use 4age sivlertop with addition of turbo charger. How to take good care of this type of combination. plz give advice:driver: