L6 : wanna boost up to 1bar..

xail

Sep 14, 2009
shah alam
i got kancil wif engine L6 auto trans as my 2nd car..
now feel little boring wif its' power, so i intend 2 bring up a little boost..myb 1bar..currently running on 0.6bar boost..
so, if i want 2 up 2 1bar,what the right thing need i do?? is upgrading injector capacity 2 390cc is enaugh??
pls gif me advice~:driver::driver:

davidyang85

May 2, 2006
1st upgrade to a bigger turbo. then do fuel regulator,change bigger fuel pump, then add in management like emanage,safc & etc. then change bigger injector. if u add bigger injector now sure no use.

papagoines

Orang Tua
Feb 6, 2006
Rawang/Selangor
i got kancil wif engine L6 auto trans as my 2nd car..
now feel little boring wif its' power, so i intend 2 bring up a little boost..myb 1bar..currently running on 0.6bar boost..
so, if i want 2 up 2 1bar,what the right thing need i do?? is upgrading injector capacity 2 390cc is enaugh??
pls gif me advice~:driver::driver:
may I ask, what engine are you using, 3cyl or 4cyl? AFAIK, 4cyl version are the same wif L5 (which I'm using)... and the factory rated boost is around 0.8~0.9bar....

0.6bar AFAIK is from L2 (not L2S, mind) engine

another thing.. 2bar is not considered little bro...

better you follow davidyang85 advice... but proceed at your own risk!

davidyang85

May 2, 2006
L6 i think is EF-DET 3 cyc. You cant boost up to 1 bar unless u done what i have mention. 2 bar u need to rebore to toyota 2E piston.

papagoines

Orang Tua
Feb 6, 2006
Rawang/Selangor
L6 i think is EF-DET 3 cyc. You cant boost up to 1 bar unless u done what i have mention. 2 bar u need to rebore to toyota 2E piston.
there are L6 with 4 piston JB-JL same as L502.....

just wait and see what the thread owner's want... frankly speaking mega boosting with auto trans? kinda waste of time IMHO... don't get me wrong... you might destroy the gearbox in the process..

furthermore, when chasing up horse power... lotsa otais and sifus suggest that you set your target based on hp, not on boost level...

another thing, 1bar boost on stock turbo is different from 1bar from a RHF4... get my drift?

xail

Sep 14, 2009
shah alam
halo dude..my machine is 3cy..

i means 1bar on the stock engine n turbine..
so?

papagoines

Orang Tua
Feb 6, 2006
Rawang/Selangor
halo dude..my machine is 3cy..

i means 1bar on the stock engine n turbine..
so?
just tune it using tulang ikan la bro... no need injectors, pumps and such

davidyang85

May 2, 2006
ur stock is 0.6??? make sure ur ori turbine can sustain up to 1 bar. Yes u can up boost wit tulang ikan but without other mods u won feel the power.

papagoines

Orang Tua
Feb 6, 2006
Rawang/Selangor
ur stock is 0.6??? make sure ur ori turbine can sustain up to 1 bar. Yes u can up boost wit tulang ikan but without other mods u won feel the power.
RHF series can sustain up to 1 bar... from L5/L6 3cyl (Twin-Cam) and 4cyl turbo... and I firmly believe thread starter engine is a twin cam 3 cyl turbo

but still, if thread starter turbo is RHF3 is perplexed me :hmmmm: ... normally for RHF3 standard boost is around 0.8~0.9bar edi....

---------- Post added at 06:53 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 06:47 PM ----------

one more thing... EF-RL/JB-JL can go to 1 bar w/o any mod apart from a boost increase to feel power... but a management mod is a must such as emanage/safc etc

if more needed... just upgrade to td025 & tune to 1 bar.... up to 90hp can be seen wif this turbo...

xail

Sep 14, 2009
shah alam
sure..its only 0.6bar currently.. indeed the transmission is auto.. the power drop when RPM reach 6k.. feel some dissapointed..
owww... no need 2 do such mods? the stock can stand wif it yapp.. orait, ll try it..hope nothing bad will happen huhu:biggrin:..thanxx

davidyang85

May 2, 2006
if not mistaken even the turbo is RHF 3 for both 4cyc & 3 cyc but the 3 cyc turbine is slightly smaller.

xail,

did u mod the intake n exhaust?? better airflow should give u better power n response as well

papagoines

Orang Tua
Feb 6, 2006
Rawang/Selangor
if not mistaken even the turbo is RHF 3 for both 4cyc & 3 cyc but the 3 cyc turbine is slightly smaller.

xail,

did u mod the intake n exhaust?? better airflow should give u better power n response as well
agreed to davidyang85...but rhf3 in any trim can withstand boost up to 1 bar.. clip the turbine fin a bit and it can withstand 1.2 bar as proven by cross-takeoff of japan...

xail, better you upgrade your exhaust as per davidyang85's ... starting wif a 2" piping and if got more money, dump the standard turbo dump pipe (that have a cat converter) and switch to a freer dumppipe...

but ensure you got a decent management piggyback such as AFC 5 button, emanage, safc etc...

xail

Sep 14, 2009
shah alam
guys..no mod of intake n exhaust..everything still in stock..

oww k.. will try mod the intake,exhaust n find afc 1st..thanx bro...~
:adore:

davidyang85

May 2, 2006
wat im suggest is tat u mod step by step as below

1st- intake
2nd-exhaust
3rd - fuel regulator
4th - fuel pump
5th - bigger turbine
6th - management
7th - injector

U can try to buy tulang ikan n adjust the boost at the moment but i doubt u will fee huge difference as other thing u din mod. u will feel like over rev with no power

kancilkoo

Oct 30, 2010
up to 1bar? the old boost is already at 0.8-0.9bar..
u can boost up more than 1bar..
use fuel regulator, bigger injector, and safc..
u can set the boost manually by using tulang ikan

<iframe src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/GuO7v-FN0gY" allowfullscreen="" frameborder="0" height="250" width="335"></iframe>

What Top Gear would look like in the future when all car reviews are done through driving simulators like say, Gran Turismo 10. In this video you'd see Jeremy Clarkson being artificially embedded into the 3D world of...