How much boost can b8 bpt/bpd stand before explode?

4wdGBox

Aug 18, 2005
Johor
Hi guys just want to ask...
Has any body encounter this while they are R&D with B8 engine?
Provided that all parts in standard condition i.e standard piston, rod, crankshaft, bearing bla..bla..
but with different turbo... and a little help with a piggyback i.e SAFC
How much boost can it stand?

Turbo
1.Standard b8 180=?bar
2.Standard b8 210=?bar
3.VF10=?bar
4.VF8=?bar
5.TD05=?bar
6.TD06=?bar

Any other turbo maybe.... Or you manage to get highest boost without sacrifice your engine....
Just want to share it here.
Thanks.

rajie

May 7, 2005
pantai hillpark
from what i know but i can be wrong need sifus to give their comment

Turbo
1.Standard b8 180=1.4 bar
2.Standard b8 210=1.8 bar
3.VF10=1.4 bar
4.VF8=1.55 bar
5.TD05=1.8 bar
6.TD06=2.0 bar - 2.2 bar depends on turbo spec

4wdGBox

Aug 18, 2005
Johor
from what i know but i can be wrong need sifus to give their comment

Turbo
1.Standard b8 180=1.4 bar
2.Standard b8 210=1.8 bar
3.VF10=1.4 bar
4.VF8=1.55 bar
5.TD05=1.8 bar
6.TD06=2.0 bar - 2.2 bar depends on turbo spec
So meaning if i bolt on td06 so i can boost 2.0bar without worrying the engine to explode.... provided that all fueling need is sufficient.

This is based on your experienced or your own R&D?

Thanks bro.

rajie

May 7, 2005
pantai hillpark
what is ur car spec ??? b8 210 or 180 ???
but if ur going for tdo6 with 2 bar alot need to do to the engine bro ....its better to forged ur internal ....like forged pistons stronger conrods....if boosting 2bar b8 180 conrod i dont think can tahan ....what whp are u aiming ???
tdo6 its better if u run with a managment

dc_rock

Nov 19, 2006
2 bar on ori? hahah!

so far i've seen people using 210 conrod with wiseco forged piston, can run 2.2bar, but dare not push any further... u also have to make sure all your gaskets can tahan... all the best bro!

rajie

May 7, 2005
pantai hillpark
want to boost 2 bar have to mic and match parts from b8210 and B6 parts for B8 180 ....like for example u got a b8180 use B6t conrods and 210 pistons can boost more than 1.5 bar .....but if want to go 2 bar like DC_rock said need FORGED piston
as u know B8 engine is so old redi u go simply dump in big turbo up boost till 2 bar i dont think the engine internals can take that much presure :).....want to play tdo6 better go with wiseco pistons B6t orB8 210 conrods race bearings good set of cams & cam pully all make sure ur internal is strong than u can boost it up

JarsOfClay

Sep 29, 2005
not too forget ur fuelling...bigger injectors,high flow fuel pump,fuel pressure regulator...if got more $$$ go for aftermarket fuel rail also...and also larger throttle body and intake...engine shud go for forged pistons,rods and race bearings...and if gor more money can put ARP head and main bolts to screw in the head and block...cams is important for fine tuning...main thing to have is management...haltech or microtech...well it all goes down to what u want frm ur car and how much money u r willing 2 spend 2 achieve ur desired objective...cheers and happy motoring

subaruimpreza81

Oct 27, 2005
subaruimpreza81.blogspot.com
want to boost 2 bar have to mic and match parts from b8210 and B6 parts for B8 180 ....like for example u got a b8180 use B6t conrods and 210 pistons can boost more than 1.5 bar .....but if want to go 2 bar like DC_rock said need FORGED piston
as u know B8 engine is so old redi u go simply dump in big turbo up boost till 2 bar i dont think the engine internals can take that much presure :).....want to play tdo6 better go with wiseco pistons B6t orB8 210 conrods race bearings good set of cams & cam pully all make sure ur internal is strong than u can boost it up
with this seting, i thing can...

pencalat

Nov 20, 2006
aiyah... use factory setting udah le...
reliability and durability sumore.... like mine....

Bump: aiyah... use factory setting udah le...
reliability and durability sumore.... like mine....

4wdGBox

Aug 18, 2005
Johor
Thanks to all reply....

i think at this stage i'm aiming to achive 300hp-400hp...
now i get the idea of 1.5bar and above so i think i need forged piston..

What i already have right now but not installed yet is...

1. Greddy td06 20g
2. b8 210 head and intake
2. b8 210 conrod
3. b8 210 wiring and ecu
4. haltech e6x (second hand)

my engine setup right now...

b8 180 standard internals
tdo5hr from evo4
adj. fuel regulator
Safc
profec b boosting 1bar
walbro 255lph
custom fmic

Like in this pic...

so i think i will go for forged piston first...

Thank all...

long live b8....

dc_rock

Nov 19, 2006
forged pistons, slightly thicker metal gaskets, 510-550 injectors and 210 conrods would be a good start...

rajie

May 7, 2005
pantai hillpark
bro u can ask jarsofclay for more info......pm him for more info on using a TD06 on a B8t his mechanic did a few already

pencalat

Nov 20, 2006
Good luck with ur aiming project bro....
Do give us about ur result...

Dear all sifu's:
After sent my car to a car wash & polishing, there are some spots appeared on my left side mirror. Felt so sad that it doesn't removed even after I wash with soap. Any idea how to remove the spots? Help needed. Thanks

The real picture of it :