How lean is lean?

quicksilver7

Known Member
Sep 15, 2011
Kuala Lumpur
Hey guys, recently I was comparing a few dyno charts and one of them had an AFR of 13.5 low end around 2k to 3k rpm. I'm a noob but how lean is too lean? And how far can we go? Thank you!

quicksilver7

Known Member
Sep 15, 2011
Kuala Lumpur
Oh, so theoretically max power is made at AFR 12.6? I'm confused, some tuning articles that I've read mention that more power can be made since factory tuning is rich..

^pomen_GTR^

7,000 RPM
May 13, 2010
The Mines
Oh, so theoretically max power is made at AFR 12.6? I'm confused, some tuning articles that I've read mention that more power can be made since factory tuning is rich..
that depend on which factory tuning...i suspect saying that was applicable for american cars with carbies... :adore:

well like example of newer generation proton (campro+siemens ecu) mostlikely the tuning was on the very edge of lean...i've read somebody wrote that he dynoed a stock campro car with 16:1 afr....

most boosted ride would opt for richer 13:1 afr at WOT in order to gain highest power and keeping the engine part such as piston and turbine cool enough..(too lean could result catastrophic piston/valve/turbo failure)

if daily tuned ride i would say 14:7 afr was among the best and safer choice...which balance the fc and temperature....

bo093

Jul 6, 2011
Kuala Lumpur
if daily tuned ride i would say 14:7 afr was among the best and safer choice...which balance the fc and temperature....
Not just balance FC & temperature, but you are burning nearly all the fuel.
Therefore, not wasting fuel to be unburned.
Even though we have catalytic converter to burn unburned fuel.

D7zul

2,000 RPM
Feb 24, 2011
Shah Alam
Not just balance FC & temperature, but you are burning nearly all the fuel.
Therefore, not wasting fuel to be unburned.
Even though we have catalytic converter to burn unburned fuel.
cat con only convert harmful gasses to environmental-friendly gasses :wink:

Dayline668