Hankook V12 Evo2 finally here

royalnkm

Nov 26, 2014
Sungai Petani
If you're used to PS3 then you've got rather high expectations already. F1-D5 might be just slightly lesser than PS3 especially in terms of noise.

Progressiveness means when the tire breaks away or start loosing grip, it will happen in a progressive way, not suddenly break loose/snap. This is an important trait in a tire coz it means it will be easier to handle/correct even when you cross over the grip limit. If I have to choose, I prefer a lower grip tire but with more progressive character than a higher grip one but can suddenly break loose and snap. Of course ideally you'd want very high grip tire that also is progressive over the limit.
Icic...grip lesser than PS3 also ok 1...bcoz PS3 was 195 soon I will upgrade to 205...
How to see the tire progressive good or not or still need to use it only can know?

---------- Post added at 12:43 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 12:30 PM ----------

The lesser I mean less abit not less too much...

6UE5t

Oct 8, 2010
Icic...grip lesser than PS3 also ok 1...bcoz PS3 was 195 soon I will upgrade to 205...
How to see the tire progressive good or not or still need to use it only can know?

---------- Post added at 12:43 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 12:30 PM ----------

The lesser I mean less abit not less too much...
Well unfortunately there's no way to tell a tire progressiveness from just looking at the tire specs or anything else. We can only try to read as much reviews as possible from creditable testers and trust that their input is good enough.

royalnkm

Nov 26, 2014
Sungai Petani
U mean PS3 is noisy than F1-D5?

---------- Post added at 12:56 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 12:54 PM ----------

Well unfortunately there's no way to tell a tire progressiveness from just looking at the tire specs or anything else. We can only try to read as much reviews as possible from creditable testers and trust that their input is good enough.
Icic thank you for teaching me so much...

Mean V2 concept2 not even entry level of Uhp yet?

I Am ex PS3 user in size 195/55/15 grip for dry and wet super good noisy also good...just will noisy abit on rough road but acceptable....means I at least need use back mid range Uhp tyre right?ps3 considor mid range Uhp ur top range uhp?bcoz I saw still got ps2 and pss above PS3
V2 concept 2 is mid category or can call HP, UHP is Ultra HP and that is PS3.
PS2 and PSS are Max performance another class higher, Then PSC2 Pilot Sports Cup2 which is in extreme category but extreme is for dry and less in wet. For daily drive Max is best, if not UHP for performance...:driver:

royalnkm

Nov 26, 2014
Sungai Petani
V2 concept 2 is mid category or can call HP, UHP is Ultra HP and that is PS3.
PS2 and PSS are Max performance another class higher, Then PSC2 Pilot Sports Cup2 which is in extreme category but extreme is for dry and less in wet. For daily drive Max is best, if not UHP for performance...:driver:
Ic...thanks sifu...but max performance tire price very high rite?
And my size 205/50/16 just have Uhp?i think Uhp already enough for me already...
Uhp also suitable for daily Drive?
V12 evo2 and S1 evo2 is Uhp?i quite like these 2 tire and also F1 D5

C99D-MMC5537

Jan 9, 2008
If you're used to PS3 then you've got rather high expectations already. F1-D5 might be just slightly lesser than PS3 especially in terms of noise.

Progressiveness means when the tire breaks away or start loosing grip, it will happen in a progressive way, not suddenly break loose/snap. This is an important trait in a tire coz it means it will be easier to handle/correct even when you cross over the grip limit. If I have to choose, I prefer a lower grip tire but with more progressive character than a higher grip one but can suddenly break loose and snap. Of course ideally you'd want very high grip tire that also is progressive over the limit.
U r absolutely right brother. Predictable tyre is better than hi grip but unpredictable one if u have a sensitive hand which can translate the steering feedback. A hand with built-in traction control. :biggrin:

Ic...thanks sifu...but max performance tire price very high rite?
And my size 205/50/16 just have Uhp?i think Uhp already enough for me already...
Uhp also suitable for daily Drive?
V12 evo2 and S1 evo2 is Uhp?i quite like these 2 tire and also F1 D5
Yup, Max usually comes in bigger sizes, especially for super cars, but some may have in 17".
Most performance tyres are UHP like V12 Evo2 and PS3. S1 Evo 2 is Max.
GY F1-D5 is UHP, Asy2 is Max

6UE5t

Oct 8, 2010
Yup, Max usually comes in bigger sizes, especially for super cars, but some may have in 17".
Sometimes I feel between UHP and Max category can be a bit overlapping also as you often see they're compared together (like F1A2 vs PS3 vs V12 Evo2 etc2.) and the result can vary.

royalnkm

Nov 26, 2014
Sungai Petani
Icic that mean I no need to expect that S1 Evo2 have 205/50/16 already...
Hankook tyre quite cheap...my fren had ask for me concept2 Rm230 per tire 205/50/16 others need check 1st

---------- Post added at 06:57 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 06:43 PM ----------

V2 Concept2 range is higher than ze914?

---------- Post added at 07:03 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 06:57 PM ----------

Sometimes I feel between UHP and Max category can be a bit overlapping also as you often see they're compared together (like F1A2 vs PS3 vs V12 Evo2 etc2.) and the result can vary.
Icic...that mean before compare need to know the tire is in which categeori 1st...example F1A2,Pss,S1 Evo2...and Ps3,V12 evo2,F1D5,Re003,sport Maxx rt right?

Yup, different region, different car, different setup etc. etc...test result comes out different.
I even read on article, same tyres tested on FWD and RWD the test came out different....:confused:

---------- Post added at 11:11 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 11:09 PM ----------

Icic that mean I no need to expect that S1 Evo2 have 205/50/16 already...
Hankook tyre quite cheap...my fren had ask for me concept2 Rm230 per tire 205/50/16 others need check 1st

---------- Post added at 06:57 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 06:43 PM ----------

V2 Concept2 range is higher than ze914?
Yup, I think S1 Evo2 don't have your size

V2 Concept 2 same as ZE-914, both are all season tyres.....:smokin:

royalnkm

Nov 26, 2014
Sungai Petani
Yup, different region, different car, different setup etc. etc...test result comes out different.
I even read on article, same tyres tested on FWD and RWD the test came out different....:confused:

---------- Post added at 11:11 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 11:09 PM ----------o

Yup, I think S1 Evo2 don't have your size

V2 Concept 2 same as ZE-914, both are all season tyres.....:smokin:
Icic...so if I change to v2 concept2=no change?Haiz...
PS3 for size 205/50/16 need 350per donut over my budget already:rofl:

C99D-MMC5537

Jan 9, 2008
Since we discussing about 15inch tyre here, let me share my experuence for all of these 15 inch tyre that i've used last 3 years until now:
Potenza RE002 - Very2 good dry grip with best steering respond since the sidewall very stiff (but harsh ride). Wet grip also among the best. Aquaplanning resistance good when stillnew but once the tread left around 50% its quite scary. Lifespan is very short but still better than advan neova ad07. Good braking for dry n wet.

Proxes T1R - Dry grip quite good. Sidewall quite soft and steering respond also not very good. Wet grip also quite good. This T1R really excel in aquaplanning resistance. The bad thing about this tyre is it tend to worn unevenly especially on the inner side even if camber degree in stock setup. My last set of this tyre worn terribly until can see the steel inside while on the center part still around 30-40%. At this point u will notice the steering vibrate very bad due to the inner surface swelling here n there. Same thing happen to my friend civic fd with this tyre on 17inch size. Braking also not good for this category of tyre. Will avoid this tyre in future.

Eagle F1 Directional 5 - Dry drip just ok with a very good steering feedback even the sidewall quite soft (good ride). As claim by GY, the continuous center rib contribute to better steering feedback is very right. This F1D5 also scream very loud on hard corner. Wet grip is what this tyre really excel. Even better than re002. Ive experienced a very scary moment when a slow trailer suddenly change to my lane in very heavy rain at plus hiway curve between sg petani (u) and sg petani (s) exit. Slammed on brake and just waiting to hentam the trailer but i manage to slow down and stay quite far from the trailer. Really2 shocked. Dry braking surely very good too. This good braking distance also what GY highlighting about this tyre. Aquaplanning resistance also very good n almost T1R level. T1R a bit better. But once the tread around 50% left, the A/R fade quite a lot compare to T1R. But bare in mind that its lifespan is alot better than T1R. The tread wear off evenly. Overall this is the best tyre ive used in all aspect. Only its dry grip not very good but still acceptable since its very predictable and will start loosing grip slowly with loud sound to let u know it reached the limit already. 1 thing to remember is this tyre is quite slippery when new (below 100km). The oily feel combine with strange steering feedback generated by center rib (not sidewall) give a very weird feel for 1st time user. After using this tyre, i notice that what GY claim about their product is very reliable.

My next choice after this mayb this Hankook V12 evo2, Kumho KU36, or Re003. PS3 not in my list just because its lifespan since i drive more than 1000km per week but the dry grip not as good as re003 or ku36 (but better than F1D5 or T1R. I also experiencing a bad aquaplanning with 18" PS3 on my company e90 325i when the tire just 2weeks old with new tread condition. This PS3 on my company e90 is made in hungary.

Yup, use T1-R before also. Soft sidewall not good for my heavy VR body. Pump higher air pressure for better cornering but ride suffers as it becomes too bumpy.
Agree that aquaplaning resistance is good but with less rubber contact wet traction was not good for me. Acceleration in rain I get lots of wheel spin.

Most tyres will be bad in the wet after 50% wear, that is because 50% of grooves already gone so cannot channel water away fast enough unlike when tyres are new...

Bad aquaplaning in the Beemer could be due to wider tyres. Wide tyres can have better traction in the dry with more contact surface but when in the wet, they cannot channel water away fast enough so they aquaplane...

---------- Post added at 09:15 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 09:14 AM ----------

Icic...so if I change to v2 concept2=no change?Haiz...
PS3 for size 205/50/16 need 350per donut over my budget already:rofl:
I guess you can try RE-003...:driver:

royalnkm

Nov 26, 2014
Sungai Petani
Since we discussing about 15inch tyre here, let me share my experuence for all of these 15 inch tyre that i've used last 3 years until now:
Potenza RE002 - Very2 good dry grip with best steering respond since the sidewall very stiff (but harsh ride). Wet grip also among the best. Aquaplanning resistance good when stillnew but once the tread left around 50% its quite scary. Lifespan is very short but still better than advan neova ad07. Good braking for dry n wet.

Proxes T1R - Dry grip quite good. Sidewall quite soft and steering respond also not very good. Wet grip also quite good. This T1R really excel in aquaplanning resistance. The bad thing about this tyre is it tend to worn unevenly especially on the inner side even if camber degree in stock setup. My last set of this tyre worn terribly until can see the steel inside while on the center part still around 30-40%. At this point u will notice the steering vibrate very bad due to the inner surface swelling here n there. Same thing happen to my friend civic fd with this tyre on 17inch size. Braking also not good for this category of tyre. Will avoid this tyre in future.

Eagle F1 Directional 5 - Dry drip just ok with a very good steering feedback even the sidewall quite soft (good ride). As claim by GY, the continuous center rib contribute to better steering feedback is very right. This F1D5 also scream very loud on hard corner. Wet grip is what this tyre really excel. Even better than re002. Ive experienced a very scary moment when a slow trailer suddenly change to my lane in very heavy rain at plus hiway curve between sg petani (u) and sg petani (s) exit. Slammed on brake and just waiting to hentam the trailer but i manage to slow down and stay quite far from the trailer. Really2 shocked. Dry braking surely very good too. This good braking distance also what GY highlighting about this tyre. Aquaplanning resistance also very good n almost T1R level. T1R a bit better. But once the tread around 50% left, the A/R fade quite a lot compare to T1R. But bare in mind that its lifespan is alot better than T1R. The tread wear off evenly. Overall this is the best tyre ive used in all aspect. Only its dry grip not very good but still acceptable since its very predictable and will start loosing grip slowly with loud sound to let u know it reached the limit already. 1 thing to remember is this tyre is quite slippery when new (below 100km). The oily feel combine with strange steering feedback generated by center rib (not sidewall) give a very weird feel for 1st time user. After using this tyre, i notice that what GY claim about their product is very reliable.

My next choice after this mayb this Hankook V12 evo2, Kumho KU36, or Re003. PS3 not in my list just because its lifespan since i drive more than 1000km per week but the dry grip not as good as re003 or ku36 (but better than F1D5 or T1R. I also experiencing a bad aquaplanning with 18" PS3 on my company e90 325i when the tire just 2weeks old with new tread condition. This PS3 on my company e90 is made in hungary.
Are you from sungai petani?

---------- Post added at 09:33 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 09:32 AM ----------

F1 D5 is in my list also

C99D-MMC5537

Jan 9, 2008
Are you from sungai petani?

---------- Post added at 09:33 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 09:32 AM ----------

F1 D5 is in my list also
My parent is there. I in ipoh with almost once a week drive to KL. If u not always take hard corner then u must consider this F1D5. It excel in all safety aspect.

royalnkm

Nov 26, 2014
Sungai Petani

Ur tire front and rear size different...mayb I know what is ur ride?

---------- Post added at 10:10 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 10:08 AM ----------

My parent is there. I in ipoh with almost once a week drive to KL. If u not always take hard corner then u must consider this F1D5. It excel in all safety aspect.
Icic...ur parent live at sungai petani where?i from sungai petani also...
Ya...got considor F1D5 already now want compare with Hankook 1st

---------- Post added at 10:42 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 10:10 AM ----------

Yup, use T1-R before also. Soft sidewall not good for my heavy VR body. Pump higher air pressure for better cornering but ride suffers as it becomes too bumpy.
Agree that aquaplaning resistance is good but with less rubber contact wet traction was not good for me. Acceleration in rain I get lots of wheel spin.

Most tyres will be bad in the wet after 50% wear, that is because 50% of grooves already gone so cannot channel water away fast enough unlike when tyres are new...

Bad aquaplaning in the Beemer could be due to wider tyres. Wide tyres can have better traction in the dry with more contact surface but when in the wet, they cannot channel water away fast enough so they aquaplane...

---------- Post added at 09:15 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 09:14 AM ----------

I guess you can try RE-003...:driver:
Re003 the treadwear very low I scare about it...

---------- Post added at 10:43 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 10:42 AM ----------

I know re003 very good on dry,how about on wet?
Wow.. You Are anywhere in the forums

---------- Post added at 10:52 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 10:43 AM ----------

Is Dunlop sport Maxx rt good?

6UE5t

Oct 8, 2010

[/COLOR]Is Dunlop sport Maxx rt good?
It's supposed to be very good as this is Max category already BUT it seems nobody in Malaysia sells it! :banghead: I actually want to change to this tire coz it's one of the lightest tire in the market but haven't found anyone who sells it. Note though that this tire only has tread wear of 240, so it might not last as long, probably about the same duration as the RE003.

---------- Post added at 01:37 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 01:35 PM ----------

Ur tire front and rear size different...mayb I know what is ur ride?

I'm driving a Toyota Mark X 250G.

royalnkm

Nov 26, 2014
Sungai Petani
It's supposed to be very good as this is Max category already BUT it seems nobody in Malaysia sells it! :banghead: I actually want to change to this tire coz it's one of the lightest tire in the market but haven't found anyone who sells it. Note though that this tire only has tread wear of 240, so it might not last as long, probably about the same duration as the RE003.

---------- Post added at 01:37 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 01:35 PM ----------

I'm driving a Toyota Mark X 250G.
Icic...I also see from Dunlop web site say make it lighter to have better fuel consumption...
I am interest on it too...but also many review that it wear fast...
Hope can try it with light tire with good performance...

Mark X200hp+ good power and fuel save...my fren have 1 too but is old type year 2006
But I remember it's tire front and rear is same size right?

F1 D5 is in my list also
F1 D5 also not bad, but experience them when new only, at Goodyear tyre launch. Tried them in wet and dry slalom, there after test driver took us round the Proton test track at high speed and high speed slalom too....:driver:

6UE5t

Oct 8, 2010
Icic...I also see from Dunlop web site say make it lighter to have better fuel consumption...
I am interest on it too...but also many review that it wear fast...
Hope can try it with light tire with good performance...

Mark X200hp+ good power and fuel save...my fren have 1 too but is old type year 2006
But I remember it's tire front and rear is same size right?
Mine also the same chassis GRX120, yr 2008. OK la, decent power and comfort for daily drive, nothing to shout about.
Std tires are the same sizes, but mine I change to staggered rims already.

I know re003 very good on dry,how about on wet?
Wow.. You Are anywhere in the forums

---------- Post added at 10:52 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 10:43 AM ----------

Is Dunlop sport Maxx rt good?
RE-003 wet I heard not that bad

As bro. 6UE5t mention Dunlop Sport Maxx RT is Max performance therefore probably big sizes again....hhahahha

royalnkm

Nov 26, 2014
Sungai Petani
F1 D5 also not bad, but experience them when new only, at Goodyear tyre launch. Tried them in wet and dry slalom, there after test driver took us round the Proton test track at high speed and high speed slalom too....:driver:
Icic...I will go check for the price 1st 205/50/16...
Did you know the price?

---------- Post added at 02:59 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 02:57 PM ----------

Mine also the same chassis GRX120, yr 2008. OK la, decent power and comfort for daily drive, nothing to shout about.
Std tires are the same sizes, but mine I change to staggered rims already.
Hahaha...yup....it really is a good car....
Stock rims also 18"?

---------- Post added at 03:00 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 02:59 PM ----------

RE-003 wet I heard not that bad

As bro. 6UE5t mention Dunlop Sport Maxx RT is Max performance therefore probably big sizes again....hhahahha
Haiz....buy small car is like this 1 already...no benefit to use good tire

6UE5t

Oct 8, 2010

Hahaha...yup....it really is a good car....
Stock rims also 18"?

Like I said, just a decent car, at least fits my purpose as a daily drive car with just enough power to outrun all current Japanese D-segments available in the local market now but nothing more. My stock rims were 16' coz mine is not the Sports Package. Only the Sports Package comes with std 18'.

Goodyear dealers nationwide have pledged to fully support the recent move the Road Safety Department, or Jabatan Keselamatan Jalan Raya (JKJR) and the Ministry of Transport to ban the selling of bald and regrooved tires in an effort to improve road safety levels in Malaysia.

According to JKJR Director General Datuk Suret Singh, regrooved tires – which are produced by carving new treads into a worn tire to...