Handbrake Light

kei

Jan 8, 2004
Guys,

Any of you guys know how to get rid of the problem when u put down your handbrake your handbrake light is still on or not? I always get this ... could it be not enough brake oil?

SpeedWanker

hah! u must be driving a proton.. this is what u should do.. remove the brake reservoir cap.. then u'll notice on the reverse side of the cap there's this black rubber expanded, protruding out of the cap...just simply push it back in and viola! no more parking brake light.. while u're at it check the fluid too... i doubt there's anything major...

kei

Jan 8, 2004
thanks...

just went to check ...
found out that rubber thing is kinda out of shape already ...
so no matter what I do still got light ... :(

g88

Jan 28, 2004
check your brake pedal...the is a bush there...might be worn out...kena the brake switch.

Else check your hand brake handle...another switch.

g88

Jan 28, 2004
got leakage on master pump or wheel.

kei

Jan 8, 2004
confirm ... checked already leakage somewhere at the pipes .. not brake hose though ..

g88

Jan 28, 2004
get it replace ASAP !! Don't play with brake. Save your life man...:)

anonymous

Jan 7, 2004
somewhere
www.anonymous.com
Originally posted by kei@Mar 8 2004, 02:57 PM
Guys,

Any of you guys know how to get rid of the problem when u put down your handbrake your handbrake light is still on or not? I always get this ... could it be not enough brake oil?
This is simple problem. Check your Handbrake Console. The switch for your handbrakes for Stuck. Common problem for Protons.

LAWRENCE_Q

Feb 13, 2004
i encounetered tis case b4, when i released the hand brake, the hand brake light still on, i continuous drive as usual, sometime after few km drive, it will automatic off, sometime nvr off at all...
then i went 4 check, the mechanic told me is the brake problem,rear brake, u better drive ur car 4 brake adjustment. tis happen coz brake tak makan! driving not much problem, but parking lah!!! coz driving, main force on front brake....

correct me if i wrong. :rolleyes:

alvin24

aiyaa...most common is because brake pad no more lor. IF brake pad still got then only check everything else lar.

ramzy

Dec 4, 2003
Jay Bee
www.rpw.co.au
whadup guys,

i had da same problem wif my Satria as well... went to EON n guess wat!

da mechanic gave me da same solution as what SpeedWanker gave.. solved!!

i wonder why most Protons have this prob.. :huh: