GSR or EVO1-wats the best

S1997

good info ben!
the handling of GSR and EVO have a significant diff?

alvin24

Actually in my honest opinion, I agree with evo3, there's no such thing as GSR RS. The GSR that comes with bigger intercooler came from the Mitsu Libero.

gsrTurbo9166,
I disagree with what u said. =Þ GSR and EVO maintanence is the same. Fuel consumption difference only. But by the time you mod a GSR up to EVO's power standards, the FC is going to be WORSE than an EVO.
And if u go for a mivec turbo... that one, nobody can't beat its maintanence lar.... even if u run a standalone engine management, its reliability is bad and maintanence is going to really hurt the wallet. =Þ

The only issue is about it being a 2.0... as to whether or not the registration can still be done. Sure there's lots of talk this runner can, that runner can... personally, i've never seen/heard anyone who's done it lately.

alvin24

S1997,
Now how do u think mitsu used evo on lancer bodies to win championships? hehehe... =Þ Handling wise on a wira is fine... on a satria, a bit susah... coz' the weight not very balanced... satria no backside mar, so like almost 70-80% of the weight is at the front. Satria will understeer significantly more compared to a wira.

GSR engine not that heavy, so on a satria it handles significantly better. But on a wira, it'll feel a bit more sluggish compared to a satria due to the weight difference. =Þ

Hope this info helps!

gsrTurbo9166

Apr 23, 2005
alvin24 said:
Actually in my honest opinion, I agree with evo3, there's no such thing as GSR RS. The GSR that comes with bigger intercooler came from the Mitsu Libero.

gsrTurbo9166,
I disagree with what u said. =Þ GSR and EVO maintanence is the same. Fuel consumption difference only. But by the time you mod a GSR up to EVO's power standards, the FC is going to be WORSE than an EVO.
And if u go for a mivec turbo... that one, nobody can't beat its maintanence lar.... even if u run a standalone engine management, its reliability is bad and maintanence is going to really hurt the wallet. =Þ

The only issue is about it being a 2.0... as to whether or not the registration can still be done. Sure there's lots of talk this runner can, that runner can... personally, i've never seen/heard anyone who's done it lately.
yo bro alvin
thanks for correcting my mistake

ben_gsr2s

Apr 3, 2005
Offshore
S1997 said:
good info ben!
the handling of GSR and EVO have a significant diff?
hi..

handling wise..
GSR in wira.. for me quiet nice... in terms of weight distribution... u have heavy front (not so heavy actually..)... the rest, up to u how to mod it.. the suspension setup, chasis re-inforcement etc.. etc... but like others said... GSR in satria should be fine.. in wira... like there's 'something' missing..

Evo in putra... ur car easily flying... powerful engine in lighter chasis (compared to wira chasis... correct me if i'm wrong)... pure satisfaction..
heavy front + correct suspension setup = ultimate driving experience ( close to ultimate actually... own a BMW, then its ultimate )

as for wira..
heavy front + heavier chasis.. should be fine & should be fun

S1997

alvin24 said:
S1997,
Now how do u think mitsu used evo on lancer bodies to win championships? hehehe... =Þ Handling wise on a wira is fine... on a satria, a bit susah... coz' the weight not very balanced... satria no backside mar, so like almost 70-80% of the weight is at the front. Satria will understeer significantly more compared to a wira.

GSR engine not that heavy, so on a satria it handles significantly better. But on a wira, it'll feel a bit more sluggish compared to a satria due to the weight difference. =Þ

Hope this info helps!

alvin, u running on gsr or evo?
whats ur setup for handling?

alvin24

S1997,
I was on a GSR (kind of... 4G91 turbo to be exact, but whooped 170hp on wheels)... now on an EVO.

I'm using koni shocks with kgmm springs... works great on the previous engine... but now with the evo... i'm still scratching my head. Understeer damn kau on track.

I'm still waiting to get a set of customized teins... have to wait till N1 Racing has the equipment arriving mid this year, then see if that would be better for my handling.

ben_gsr2s,
suspension setup can only bring u so far... weight distribution does matter a lot. =Þ Still think the EVO handles better on a wira... putra with a GSR should handle pretty darn good as well.

S1997

alvin24 said:
S1997,
I was on a GSR (kind of... 4G91 turbo to be exact, but whooped 170hp on wheels)... now on an EVO.

I'm using koni shocks with kgmm springs... works great on the previous engine... but now with the evo... i'm still scratching my head. Understeer damn kau on track.

I'm still waiting to get a set of customized teins... have to wait till N1 Racing has the equipment arriving mid this year, then see if that would be better for my handling.

ben_gsr2s,
suspension setup can only bring u so far... weight distribution does matter a lot. =Þ Still think the EVO handles better on a wira... putra with a GSR should handle pretty darn good as well.

alvin, how come u never consider titan or hwl? done research on that?Thanks

dolly

Dec 24, 2003
hehe alvin, i'm always at ah thongs place, and if i'm there i always bitch about 4g63 on satrias. I have a couple of thigns left to try and rid the car of _some_ understeer, if not i have a 4g93t block waiting at home. also another thing i need to improve is driver skills la :P

to the poster, i suggest you decide on what you want to do, track or drag? if track the lighter the better since we are limited to 2 wheels (different story all together if you go 4wd)

iswara204

wow..so many new info bro's..really app that..but im still curious on afew matters..

Is the any diff with GSR and Libero(other than the big intercooler)?which is powerful?

It is also a talk by people saying EVO is a older engine..GSR is newer..but overhauling will prevent probs...Roughly,how much will a standard overhauling will cost? Wat will be done for a overhaul? As i know there is 2 types. Top overhaul and full overhaul but never knew wat does that actually mean..

What is the best setup for handling for a wira that uses a GSR? and also EVO?
if can specify the brand...

S1997-how come ur car stuck there?if tak jadi approve, they(JPJ) wont give back the car huh?this is bad la..then how to percaya the runner and after we spent that much of money in converting a EVO...made me to think bro..

alvin24-true also, never seen or heard lately abt people converting to EVO...now im thinking harder to convert a EVO but the enormuos power produced by EVO making me think even harder..hehe..i'll go crazy la like this...

dolly-planning it more for a drag street use...

alvin24

S1997,
Titans aren't cheap... for that price i'd rather get teins. HWL i've considered before... i might get a set of HWL if I don't get my Teins... still waiting to see how it goes, coz' i was originally supposed to get sponsors for the Teins... now not so sure if the sponsorship will come through.
But then again, if wanna get HWL... I might as well buy a set of 2nd hand Teins and send for full servicing at N1 Racing once the equipment arrives from Japan... then they'd be good as new! =Þ

dolly,
Hahaha... i'm not surprised i'm not the only satria bitchin' bout the heavy front. I'm sure all 4G63 Satria owners feel the same way too. =Þ but 'sai erm sai' downgrade back to 93t oh? Dun la... so sayang. =Þ Summore i heard now 1.8 oso they dun allow 2.0 conversion (Dunno how true laaa).

iswara204,
I've always adviced people... don't jump into something you don't know.
Or in other words... if u wanna mod the car... you better LEARN all there is to know before you do something. The internet got a lotta info... all u gotta do is dig it! =Þ Try dig up and read up all there is to know about overhauling, etc etc. Don't expect people to teach u every single thing. =Þ
Please don't take this the wrong way though... just a friendly advice.

As for overhaul... it means opening up the whole engine... and reassembling it all over again... and at the same time replacing all parts that have worn off or needs replacement. After overhaul... its as good as new. Both me and dolly are on overhauled evo engines... and i haven't come across a SINGLE problem with it so far... i'm sure dolly haven't either.

GSR newer or not... as I said... depends on mileage... coz' u'll NEVER know what car the car was manufactured. =Þ unless so happen u found the car's registration card in the glove compartment.. and u knew how to read japanese! hahahaha... =Þ

GSR and Libero have the same HP if i'm not mistaken. But like what I tell everyone else la... GSR or Libero... RS or non RS... evo1 or evo2 or evo3... doesn't make a difference once u start modying it.
Coz' the likeliness is... you'd have changed the parts that makes them different in the first place to upgrade to aftermarket parts anyways !! =)

S1997

iswara204 said:
S1997-how come ur car stuck there?if tak jadi approve, they(JPJ) wont give back the car huh?this is bad la..then how to percaya the runner and after we spent that much of money in converting a EVO...made me to think bro..
what i meant by stuck is not able to go on the street legally. So stuck at home cant drive. thats what i meant.

How to percaya? I think the best is to see the road tax of those ppl that he
has done.

You can also buy the halfcut. Before putting the engine in, let the runner apply for kawal selia if he is doing the kawal selia way. I think the best is still to see prove lar.

Or just go for gsr lar, save the hassle :)

iswara204

ermmm..

no worries..i always take things positively...i'll buy that advise..talking abt modding, yeah i agree each individual who wants to get in modding their ride must know this and that..so yeah, im in the learning process...hehe...u guys are the expert and sifu 1's la...so must show the correct path to the upcommers..hehe..kiddin man...cheerzz...

iswara204

ermm...yeah i think i'll check on his car..he claimed that vr4 convertion was done to his 1.3....

alvin24

Don't forget that.... maybe his conversion was done years ago when it was still legal to do so? =)

The Royal Malaysian Police escorts were already prepared, waiting at the side of the road as the supercars gradually got out of the Shell station in Gelang Patah R&R in rather spectacular fashion. Listening to the deafening roar of V8’s, V10’s and V12’s from the station delightedly excited the crowd… and us!*Thanks to the police escort, we took less than 30 minutes to reach the location of the...