GSR / Evo final drive

zac

Feb 7, 2007
Sorry to hijack but i really need some crucial info for gearbox, using mivec 1.8 now, gb is mivec rs... i love the close ratio but it's a heartache while driving on hiway, 5th gear 3krpm only 85km/h, my ideal rpm would be 5th gear 110km/h 3krpm.
My fren have a extra evo gb without lsd, would it meet my expectation? Thanks in advance for all help

spuzzle

Aug 23, 2005
Kuantan / Perth
Sorry to hijack but i really need some crucial info for gearbox, using mivec 1.8 now, gb is mivec rs... i love the close ratio but it's a heartache while driving on hiway, 5th gear 3krpm only 85km/h, my ideal rpm would be 5th gear 110km/h 3krpm.
My fren have a extra evo gb without lsd, would it meet my expectation? Thanks in advance for all help
i heard that mivec must use back mivec gearbox or else u'll suffer lag when change gear....this is what i was told but how sure it is u must wait those sifu's to tell u.....kroolada is mivec specialist....u can try ask him.....cheers

vteckiller

Supporting Merchants
i heard that mivec must use back mivec gearbox or else u'll suffer lag when change gear....this is what i was told but how sure it is u must wait those sifu's to tell u.....kroolada is mivec specialist....u can try ask him.....cheers
not really true la..any gear box also can la..
depending on the ratios rojak la...

DJ-LAZ

Jan 18, 2005
wow interesting .. but i have the total opposite i have mirage with evo 2 lsd !!! ...
not fun at all .. i dun bother/ scared of top speed ...
wat should i do ??

amel666

Jul 24, 2008
K.L
bro spuzzle,
FYI just bought an evo 3 lsd box for my gt2871 gsr.. Still havent dyno yet but plan to use my car 4 autokhana & ocassionally 300/400m sprint besides being a daily driven.
My mechanic suggest me to put my gsr final drive into d evo3 lsd box (forgot why..:hmmmm:). Is it as effective as he suggest or am i better off just straight swapping d box w/out changing d f.drive.

Afraid if use gsr final drive acceleration/top speed suffer den become worse. My powerband has now been pushed further (4k-7.5k rpm). Using my current gsr gbox i manage to sprint to round 180kmh around 5k/6k rpm on 4th gear before finish 400m (if memory serves). But otherwise i am used to gsr ratios so a bit uncomfortable estimating d outcome of using d evo3 box :call2:

IMO maybe a bit shorter gearing can compensate d low end power by making it accelerate faster.
Problem is i'm new to the gbox modding, dunno if better or worse using f.drve gsr. :shot:
Hopefully using evo 3 box would help me accelarate faster..lil bit higher top speed and still can cruise (is it impossible to achieve all diz, sifus??? )

Any advice? tips.. :adore: :adore:

spuzzle

Aug 23, 2005
Kuantan / Perth
bro spuzzle,
FYI just bought an evo 3 lsd box for my gt2871 gsr.. Still havent dyno yet but plan to use my car 4 autokhana & ocassionally 300/400m sprint besides being a daily driven.
My mechanic suggest me to put my gsr final drive into d evo3 lsd box (forgot why..:hmmmm:). Is it as effective as he suggest or am i better off just straight swapping d box w/out changing d f.drive.

Afraid if use gsr final drive acceleration/top speed suffer den become worse. My powerband has now been pushed further (4k-7.5k rpm). Using my current gsr gbox i manage to sprint to round 180kmh around 5k/6k rpm on 4th gear before finish 400m (if memory serves). But otherwise i am used to gsr ratios so a bit uncomfortable estimating d outcome of using d evo3 box :call2:

IMO maybe a bit shorter gearing can compensate d low end power by making it accelerate faster.
Problem is i'm new to the gbox modding, dunno if better or worse using f.drve gsr. :shot:
Hopefully using evo 3 box would help me accelarate faster..lil bit higher top speed and still can cruise (is it impossible to achieve all diz, sifus??? )

Any advice? tips.. :adore: :adore:
amel,
gsr f/d in evo box not recommended unless u mix/rojak the gears....how to rojak u have to ask those g/box specialist because i also seeking advice....evo3 box comes with almost perfect ratios so it is better for u to use it without messing the internals....anyway i m still rnd on it....read the previous post maybe u can get some knowledge fr those sifus....happy modding

cyborgsabah

Afghanistan
From personal experience, for drag racing, if your engine engine got around above 400hp its okey to use evo gb with gsr final drive. 1st and 2rd gear will be long which is a good thing as you got less wheel spin. You also dun have to use 5th gear, up to 4th gear only before you reach 400m line.

sebastien

Oct 19, 2008
sorry bro newbie here?
gsr 1st n 2nd long or evo 1st n 2nd longer?

---------- Post added at 10:14 PM ---------- Previous post was at 10:14 PM ----------

coz nw my final n gear5 very long but 1st 2nd very short

Trinityblood

Nov 10, 2007
u got my num la bro..call me strait away...i got one set.

paranoid_android

Jul 27, 2009
just wondering if there any difference if I use stock semi-lsd (not aftermarket) evo gearbox (lock 2wd) in term of traction and accelaration for drag purposes? compare it to my stock non-lsd evo gearbox?

jinkl

May 22, 2004
just wondering if there any difference if I use stock semi-lsd (not aftermarket) evo gearbox (lock 2wd) in term of traction and accelaration for drag purposes? compare it to my stock non-lsd evo gearbox?
hehe bro, i think you may find this infos on google, the keyword here to search is

semi-lsd from mitsu is a viscous LSD , which is also known as VLSD , which uses gears and couplers to lock the diffrential

aftermarket kaaz, ats , cusco are all clutch type lsds

the diffrence is how much does it lock and whts the initial torque that the lsd starts to lock
diffrent brands have diff initial lock :D

if they say full lock :D , in 4g63 world, there is only two ways, Weld or a custom diff shaft

traction wise and acceleration its simply superb and much better ,

speed2horizon

Jun 4, 2006
hehe bro, i think you may find this infos on google, the keyword here to search is

semi-lsd from mitsu is a viscous LSD , which is also known as VLSD , which uses gears and couplers to lock the diffrential

the diffrence is how much does it lock and whts the initial torque that the lsd starts to lock

if they say full lock :D , in 4g63 world, there is only two ways, Weld or a custom diff shaft

And cornering too huh... miahaha...

paranoid_android

Jul 27, 2009

yours is full lock right? so meaning u use aftermarket LSD la :wink:

because I have one stock evo gearbox with semi-lsd (not aftermarket), still thinking want use it or not. If the differences between using lsd and not using it are minimal (no corner2, drag purposed only :proud:) I will stick with non lsd gearbox..

currently i'm using Soft99... OK wit it... but i saw a special blended just for white paint car... coOL!! and it's double de normal Soft99 price... Original imported in from Japan... wonder anybody use that b4...

saw it in Ace Hardware in Mid Valley... u guys can go check it out... and it's ONLY for white paint cars...

;)