GRA Rnd4, 19th Nov, Sunday 8am to 6pm!

akuma

Jul 16, 2005
Kuantan
Fatality,
wat 20yrs of frenship?becoz of u coming w d poms poms?bunuh org oso i sanggup u know?hehehehe...

eater,
ur EG6 can kan fly???n u can sign ur own leave form 1 mah?y kenot join?heheheheh

lightningfield,
pls chg 2 GTi nex year ok?u KNOW wat i mean..heheheheh

blur_civic,
c u guys on Sunday...

thteh86,
u duno him meh?d driver same like d car,very lengjai 1..ppl got intercooler..lei yau mou?heheheheh

suzie

Nov 19, 2004
hope you all had a good time in Round 4, 4 timed runs, 3 great gals, 106 entrants, 2 GRA organizers, 4 sponsors & Finished at 3.30pm, weather was great, birthday cake was cool, and looking forward to 2007 .....stay tuned for a new hope where we will push for bigger and better......things..

canken2

Mar 18, 2004
suzie said:
hope you all had a good time in Round 4, 4 timed runs, 3 great gals, 106 entrants, 2 GRA organizers, 4 sponsors & Finished at 3.30pm, weather was great, birthday cake was cool, and looking forward to 2007 .....stay tuned for a new hope where we will push for bigger and better......things..
... u can add faster too :X-:

andykow

Nov 19, 2003
Congrats to all the winners and a Big Thank You to Ian and Jian Nin for all the planning.

See you lalang ppl next year!

benzer

Nov 16, 2003
Another great and succesful event by GRA Ian & Jiannin! Thanks you guys making so happening!

Very clean and smooth, well organized! Organizer and drivers having good comunication (TK) during the event and photos shooting wit the GRA & MPT girls..

MOST IMPORTANT I THINK ALL OF US ARE VERY HAPPY!

Thanks all very supportive sponsors for good goodies bags and prizes!!

Congrats to all winners!

"SANG YAT FAI LOK" (Happy Birthday) GRA!

Crash

Dec 2, 2003
Kay-El
vernonchan.com
Grass Racing Autosports celebrated its first year anniversary with an exciting final round at Shah Alam Stadium Car Park over the weekend. The BF Goodrich-sponsored GRA Round 4 05/06 saw strong participation from autocross veterans and novices, summing up what was an eventful year for grassroots motorsports.

The event venue bustled with activity very early in the morning, with competitors setting up tent, preparing their cars and also doing their own course walks. Competitors were given one practice run on the quick technical course, and four official timed runs.

The entourage of Perodua Kelisas dominated Class A, for cars below 1300cc. Not even the usually quick Ian Khong in his Suzuki Swift could stop the onslaught of fast Kelisas – with Redline-sponsored Chan Yau Koon taking top spot with a 66.81s fastest run, beating teammate Shahrom Shahrudin (67.00s) and Lee Chan Hoh (67.03s). Lee Chan Hoh also bagged the Fastest Novice award for his efforts. Fourth and fifth places went to William Chong and Andy Kow respectively.

The very-crowded Class B (1301cc -1600cc) saw a very quick Galen Lai rising to the occasion to clinch first place with a 63.41 fastest run, upsetting a disappointed Soo “Soomacher” Kuan who only managed 4th. Alvin Lim, the only Toyota amongst the barrage of VTEC-powered rides, drove impressively to take runners-up position with a 64.56s, followed by Christopher Chin with 64.62s. Fifth place and Fastest Novice for Class B was awarded to Daymen Lai, who managed a 65.25s run.

Julian “Unker Champ” Pang convincingly dominated Class C (1601cc - 1900c) with an emphatic 63.13s winning time. Julian, just a little over a month ago, also secured the R3TA 2005/2006 Championships. Biggest threat to his title hopes was Furtive-teammate Gareth Tan, who briefly held top spot but eventually had to play second fiddle, with a 63.88s run. Impressive newcomer Jerry Chan, pipped veteran autocrosser Vernon Chan to the final podium placing by a whisker with 65.88s. Vernon managed a 65.96 best time. Another darkhorse Jerry Chew, a 2nd place finisher in the previous round, took fifth place.

Team Proton R3 works driver and MME 2006 podium finisher Hammond “Hammer” Lai proved again why he is a short-course champion with an unbeatable 63.43s winning time. Allan Au in his Toyota Corolla took runners-up with 66.10s with William Chong in his famous blue Toyota Starlet Turbo close behind, in 66.22s. Desmond Ong, after a long absence from the motorsports scene, returned with an encouraging 4th place finish (68.78s). One second in behind in 5th place was Clement Chan, with 69.03s. Fastest Novice went to Chang Chee Ming, in a smoky Toyota Corolla AE101, running a 69.87 fastest time.

Former rally driver and another MME 2006 participant Ivan Khong in his Subaru Impreza, clinched top spot in four-wheel-drive splendour with 63.67s, a whole one second ahead of Marcus Liew and Tan Loke Han, both driving Toyota MR2 Turbos, scoring 64.13s and 65.09 respectively. First time podium finisher Marcus, was also awarded Fastest Novice. The remaining two spots were occupied by veteran Ricky Teoh (65.47s) and Andy Woon (65.97s).

Class F or the Sports Car Class was a duel between the Lotus Elises and Toyota MRSs and MR2s. Austin Teng proved too hot and was top dog with a 62.87s. Johnson Tan was impressive in his MRS, taking runners-up spot with 63.66s. Talented youngster Dominic Ang was just 3/100th of a second behind with 63.69. HyperTune editor Hisham Jahudi managed a fourth placing despite plaguing engine problems in his MK1 Elise with 64.65s. Mickey Teoh in his stock MRs in retro trim occupied the final slot with 65.06s.

The fast course with a long straight ala drag strip was advantageous to quicker, more powerful cars and this showed in the results of the Open Class. Mickey Teoh was unstoppable with a scorching 60.96s, a full 2 seconds ahead of closest rival Ivan Khong who managed a 62.31s. Only milliseconds separated the rest of Top 5 finishers - Austin Teng (62.81s), Hammond Lai (62.87s) and Julian Pang (63.62s).

Prizes were also awarded to Team Entries. The collective fastest times in respective classes by team members saw Furtive (Julian Pang, Hammond Lai, Gareth Tan) pipping Team Lotus Club Malaysia (Austin Teng, Dominic Ang, Hisham Jahudi) for top spot.

Special awards were given out to Fastest Time of the Day, convincingly won by Mickey Teoh in Open Class. A Female Award went to Ashlyn Guok who drove impressively to shame some of the unfairer sexed participants. Timothy Hardie Ketit’s Subaru Forester won the ‘Bling Bling” Car Award, and rightfully so!

The event ended graciously with a a taxi ride in Ivan Khong’s Subaru Impreza, prize-giving ceremony and speeches by sponsors. Prizes were proudly sponsored by BF Goodrich, MPT, Redline and August 8.

Almost single-handedly setting up and organising the event, the livewire and hardworking duo made up of former rally driver Ian Khong and Jiannin, certainly deserve a huge pat on the back for their efforts and contribution towards the development of local grassroots motorsports – together with the strong backing of sponsors.

Happy birthday GRA, and here’s looking to next season!

Full results:
http://www.grassracingautosports.com/results.php

Original article posted on The R3gister

akuma

Jul 16, 2005
Kuantan
had a great time...weather was good....finally got race queens tho i got no chance 2 take photos w them(so many wolves ard,haiyor!!!hehehehe).....2 of my runs was plagued by problems(another trip into d workshop?) b really surprised 2 get 5th in d HOTLY contested Class B....learnt alot abt motorsports n driving thru GRA...
n finally,after chatting w Hammond "Hamster" Lai(hehehehhehe)....i've decided 2 pledge my support 2 GRA n keep grassroot motorsports alive forever.....
c u guys nex year,w a new machine(?) in a new class(?).........

ps:whn's d dinner argg???hehehehhee....

akuma

Jul 16, 2005
Kuantan
this posting is specially made 4 Ian n Jian Nin.......B.R.A.V.O & T.H.A.N.K Y.O.U!!!!!

Fork Sports

Nov 27, 2003
Finally, a chance to say a few words coz i left for penang on monday morning, didnt get the chance to thank the ppl in gra n also the winners.

1st of all, Ian & Jian Nin, congrats & thanks for a wonderful GRA Rd4, one of the best so far. Well organized with 1 practice n 4 timed runs, just nice. 5 timed runs would mean some podium winners needing help 2 hold their trophies up. Also the results this time was without any hiccups. WELL DONE!!!

2ndly, thanks to all the sponsors - BFG, Redline, MPT, etc. Maybe Perodua might consider sponsoring since they already dominate one of the classes.

And congratulations to all Class winners n other sub-category winners. I wonder if Soo can win the Bilng Bling award if he were to put more pink into his car???

Also, thanks to Crash for a detailed write up for the event, i guess the next event u will hafta stop observing the race n taking notes for write ups n concentrate more on driving.

Looks like all classes for next year would be even more competitive with many new drivers doing really good times.
So many fast MR2s, even the drifters r getting faster.
Allan might even become a threat to Hammond next year, if he shove his retirement plan.
Then the 2 Jerry also consistently fast, plus 2 more fast drivers from 1.6class upgrading to 1.8 next year.
Chris n Daymen also improved tremendously.

So i m considered lucky to have won, again!
GRA3, lucky coz the pinky eg6 entered open class.
and now, just plain luck again, hehehe
coz i was thinking that if i get a podium finish in a new car would be good enuff.

And those kelisa's really dominating their class! Not even civics can achieve a top 5 clean sweep!

Dominic, dont listen to your driving instructor anymore!!! U r licensed to drive fast...really fast. hahaha

Lastly, Happy Belated Birthday to GRA!!!

He may have made his name flogging modern AWD, turbocharged rally-prepped machinery around gymkhana courses, but even Ken Block couldn’t resist leaving his AWD 600+hp rally-spec Ford Fiesta at home to hoon about in a classic Ford Escort Mk II with a Cosworth mill under the hood in the woods of upstate New York.

The Escort was introduced to...