gearbox kkkrrrrr sound when shift 4th to 5th

gen2

Mar 6, 2005
hi.....i am dirving evo7, when driving above 80 km/h there is a kkkgggrrrrr sound coming out when i shift from 4 th gear to 5th gear. anybody come across this. pls help.......

leslie

Aug 14, 2004
try flushing out your gearbox then change into a new gear oil...then check the bushings of your gear stick... if all that is done but still got sound... you might need to check your gearbox syncro's....(just my 2cents)

fred_soo_88

Jun 18, 2006
yo bro im having the same problem... is ur syncomatch spoil ... from 4th 2 5th... hahha.. syncomatch spoil

leslie

Aug 14, 2004
i had the problem once.. not much sound though.. but its hard to enter gearing 2nd, 3rd, 5th and reverse... so i just change the whole gearbox..lolz.. coz it was too costly to fix too many spoiled syncro's at that time....

fred_soo_88

Jun 18, 2006
mine is the same as urs.. 4th to 5th.. it basically happen at 3rd to 4th or 4th to 5th bcoz those are the best gears for u to tarik.. wakkaka... if u didnt press ur clutch fully and shift gear then release.. ur synomatch will spoil bcoz our evo have so high torque fulling the gearbox... either u change 2nd synomatch around 1xxx++ new is around 3000++ or change whole gearbox 2nd around 2000++... or u want new gearbox oso got .. 13k from singapore included shipping.. or if u want hardcore go for RS gearbox.. but above 20k 1 la.. wakakkaa.. mine is stuck in the workshop

LanEvo

Dec 22, 2005
fred soo 88,

new syncro for whole gear box cost around 3k?

Got a spare gearbox and was thinking of rebuild the syncro le.

gen2

Mar 6, 2005
huh......look like big big problem to me. is all the evo like that???

Cannonfodder

Feb 15, 2006
It's quite a common issue with Evos and Mitsubishi in general. Evos because of the high torque output and Mitsu because they have this stupid habit of under-specifying their synchronisers.

They changed to a double-cone synchro from the VIII onwards for 1st and 2nd but the issue still persists. The only way to really avoid this is by granny shifting and rev matching your gearchanges. If you're in the habit of speed- and/or power-shifting, the synchros and gears WILL go, along with the differentials. Short-shifters, if you have one installed, also contribute to the problem.

fred_soo_88

Jun 18, 2006
yeh totally agree.. haha driving an evo this happen one.. mine oni 10k plus km man gone my synro.... .. provided if u drive slowly.. or be very caution when u shift it .. if u want power and torque.. better get 1 or 2 spare gearbox rebuilt it at home
spoil edi then change

leslie

Aug 14, 2004
hahaha.. i also got 1 spare gearbox... i actually mailed OS Giken if they have a set of performance syncro's for e7's.. they say dun have wor... hhmmmm

gen2

Mar 6, 2005
want kind of gear oil should i use.......i think i wanna try kaaz or motul. is this a good gearbox oil????

fred_soo_88

Jun 18, 2006
motul is good im using motul.. about the spec.. forgotten.. no need change synocmatch bro.. use back ur old stock 1 .. safe money got around 30k.. go change rs gaerbox or dog gerbox..it can stand up to 1000bhp but it has a lower top speed... but dem good torque.

gen2

Mar 6, 2005
fred will it harm the gearbox wif the kgggrrr sound when i shift????

Cannonfodder

Feb 15, 2006
Every time you hear a crunching sound, you're grinding that particular gear. Eventually, you'll wear out that gear and won't be able to engage it anymore.

It's alright if you plan to change the entire gearbox, but not if you plan to rebuild it as it will mean having to replace the gear along with the synchros.

Hi all sifus here, anyone have sent your car to Yen Fatt Car Spraying in Kg. Subang? Pls share your experience with me. Any good/bad?