Gear 3 (auto) Override Maximum

Jun 26, 2011
Kuala Lumpur
i owned saga blm 1.3 iafm, 2009.
Normally, if i full press the throttle, the third gear maximally go up to 120km/h then automatically change to 4th gear.
On highway, i love to drive fast and change gear manually from 4 to 3, even at 140kmh. i've tried many many times drive at 160-170km/h with 3rd gear, usually after kena cucuk, impressingly this car easily get rid of them.
In case of crazy situation (and road is safe) i pull the 3rd gear until RPM cut-off. then change to gear 4.

ive been doing this many times, for 2 years, until now got no problem with IAFM, engine or gear box, maintained FC. i do follow the service schedule (using castrol magnatec) and always tell them im always tekan minyak kuat, so they will do proper inspection.
so far i only got brake pad problem (after 2 years, got high pitch sound when brake) and plan to change them next month.

some people say, if you treat ur car manja manja, then comes into tough situation, it cannot tahan and got problem. is it? i dont know.

So, i would like to know any one of you guys tried this before and hv any problem?
ur comment really appreciated. :wavey:

Last edited:

ahlong

Known Member
Aug 18, 2008
Gombak - KL
helo sir,

im driving a campro also (gen2 body) with AT..
my driving style with my auto, i shift all gear manually from L to D..
all gear shift at 6.8k rpm while crazy mode.. in normal mode, change at 5.8k rpm..

have no problem for now.. only my paneldrive broken once last April.. lucky not break while driving.. my gearbox just make a noise when idle revving.. and go check with my pomen, the paneldrive (the 5screw pegang the paneldrive) crack..

my suggestion, with ur driving style, u shud put a ATF cooler to protect ur gearbox..

naemibr

Jun 26, 2011
Kuala Lumpur
oo ok, thanks bro for the advice.
yeaa, its true, i put my phone in the centre panel, just below the handbrake.. after the long journey, the phone become so hot. haha..