Fuel filter questions

Danny

How frequent do you need to change your fuel filter for turbo cars? Can you tell easily if the fuel filter is clogged? If yes, how do u tell?

ezwong2002

Mar 21, 2004
Butterworth, Penang
www.geocities.com
some ppl say car like less power on higher end... car like reluctant to move forward.... i dunno.. i just changed mine... RM70 including installation. Dirty fuel inside the fuel filter is brownish lo... after change already car feels lighter... I'd say change every 60,000kms or every 2 yrs.

jethrel

May 18, 2004
Actually depending on several factors.

If the owner's a salesman, travels everyday like mad ... he would need to change his fuel filter even sooner than 60k kms. Then again, if the owner just drives everyday but a short distance then perhaps 100k kms also no harm.

I change mine just recently around 3 - 4 months ago. It happened when my car kept dying on idle ... sent to my mech straight away said everything was okay except fuel filter ... looks dman old and haven't changed in ages ... more like haven't changed in 10 years ... my wife's wira 2nd hand mah ...

acid2344

Danny,

I was advised by my mechanic friend to changed it at 40,000.00 - 60,000.00.
Mine after took out got brown dirty particels inside.After changing cars feel lighter
and more responsive.I personally feels it abit more fuel saving as well.

cost me around rm70-80 all kaotiam.Cant remember exact figures.
changed spark plugs & fuel filter together will give u more good feel i believe.

Danny

wah like that my fuel filter is due for change immediately. I checked with my mechanic, he says the fuel filter hasn't been changed during transplant. So it could be runnign for a few years without change already...heheh

acid2344

Few year should have clogged with fuels di lor....
If u have time u watch yr mechanic take out the fuel filter... i think will most prob be clogged lioa... You should have a more smooth n responsive drive after that.
Cheap only mah Danny.. Get the ori MMC 1 lea... :)

Danny

will do that soon, problem is I don't have a 2nd running car, so very troublesome to send the car to the mech.

how long does it take to change the fuel filter for a wira with vr4? does the mechanic need to remove a lot of parts before they can access the fuel filter?

AlucarD

Jan 15, 2004
Bro... this should be a 1 to 2 hr jobbie .... depending if your mech got lepak lepak or not ... just take out the IC hose near the firewall and can reach the filter oledi... but your engine bro ... damn tight lah. :lol:

acid2344

Originally posted by Danny@Sep 29 2004, 02:07
will do that soon, problem is I don't have a 2nd running car, so very troublesome to send the car to the mech.

how long does it take to change the fuel filter for a wira with vr4? does the mechanic need to remove a lot of parts before they can access the fuel filter?
Mine take around 30 minutes +- in a putra gsr ...... :) vr4 in satria body not sure man.... but i thk mechanic hav 2 be quite skill lea.... coz space constraint in yr engine bay man

jethrel

May 18, 2004
:lol:

Mine took like 5 minutes ... and another 5 minutes to test run ...

But then again, my wife's engine is 4g15 so it's a simple one but shouldn't take too long to change Danny ...

Danny

Ok done it & can feel the difference immediately. Somehow the car seems lighter to drive. I saw the previous fuel filter and it looks so old, don't know how many years it has been in the car already. Thanks for all your advises.

The cost :-

Made in japan fuel filter (bought from proton sparepart shop) :- RM32 (proton one costs RM18 only)
Labour cost + change tail light lightbult (burnt) :- RM18

Total :- RM50

bujang_hensem

Jan 26, 2004
ok that good danny, maybe after this you can send your car for A/F ratio checking...maybe the fuel enough already....

jethrel

May 18, 2004
Wow ... that's pricy for a fuel filter however it's up to the owner's choice. Don't get me wrong ... import from Japan parts sounds good ... but being mine at that time was my wife's car so I bought mine from half cut shop like RM5 ... heheheh

Danny

bujang.. what are your readings after the re-wiring... I am getting around 13++ voltage but it drops to 12++ sometimes. I used back the original wirings. Should I get thicker ones?

AlucarD

Jan 15, 2004
Same thing here danny, using evo wirings ... any solution? Volt Stabiliser perhaps ;)

Dear All,

Clearence of our first model King Leopard.

Unit only RM500 (Usual price RM590)

Installation - RM150 (Standard price) if required

Please call us 012 518 0280 or 012 208 3843

Or email us at [email protected]

Pic

Note: Price is only for King Leopard (Black remote)