Fiat 124 Sports Restoration Project

igug

Dec 16, 2004
Hello guys,
I'm new here. Just trying my luck to find this windscreen part. Some hooligan broke mine and I've tried to search for this hard to get replacement and fruitless. Might be some nice guy out there who would guide me.
Mine is a Fiat 124 Sport, 1800 cc, 1973 model. Name the price and if it suits, I would pay. Tq

subsonique

Flashpoint
yup igug, there is some nice guy out there to lend a hand hehe. the guy would be me hehe. bro, i love your car. my father has the 124ST hehe, and still going strong. and i am also an Italian car fanatic, drive a Fiat myself, a Fiat Bravo. bro, we would be honored if you can join us at www.italiaauto.com as there is where lotsa Italian car professionals hang out. you might just find the right stuff there bro.

igug

Dec 16, 2004
subsonique, thanx 4 ur attention. I used 2 have a 128 Sports L (Only 6 or 7 in Malaysia in 1970's) before. Then, in 1993 I have 2 go 2 Australia 2 work there 4 three years. I left the car in Johore. After been back here, that car has changed to a piece of junk in my hometown. N unknowingly, my mom sold it s scrap to some scrap metal collector, u guess how much, subsonique? Ha!Ha!Ha! - RM150.00. What a pity. I enclosed here copy of the exact 128 Sports L that I used 2 have. I reckon that u haven't seen this on the Malaysian road, have u?
I still have a liking on coupe fiat and X1/9. Then suddenly, I came across this unfinished 124 Sports project in NS, so I bought it 2 make it work. Unlucky, the original engine is replaced with a Mitsubishi Cyclone engine. (I guess, it's a Super Touring). I think, its going 2 take quite sometime be4 the whole thing would materialized. Most of the parts are complete, Got some rust on the body, but it can be fixed.
In reality, I wished 2 have that Fiat Coupe (The 2000 cc, 20V, 1998 model). This year, I tried 2 make a decision, whther 2 buy a 2nd hand Fiat Coupe or the new Japs model. My wife prefers the Coupe more, but the running n maintenance cost surely should be considerably higher. She was kind enough 2 make the decision 4 me. So, I end up buying the new Nissan Sentra.
Right now, I'm driving the Sentra n a turbo Kancil. The kancil is good 4 nipping the way through traffic though, but I'm not that type of a crazy driver.
igug
Will, subsonique, thank u 4 your reply. I really appreciate that n I'll b in the site that u mentioned soon. Thanx

bravosx

Oct 2, 2004
Damansara
check out Pantai Workshop in Sect 19 PJ (Next Car neighbour). They are specialist in old generation Fiats. They used to repair and service my dads 124ST, 131 Supermirafiori & 132 GLS. Maybe they would be able to help you out. Alternatively, there is a place in Jalan Pahang behind Tawakal Medical center. they may have it if you know what's the part number.

subsonique

Flashpoint
igug, not a problem brother. Italian brotherhood, we have to help one another. not to mention, having the same enthusiasm over Fiat hehe. yup, i sitll like the Classic Fiats no doubt. my father's 124ST as i said earlier is still in running condition after like 30 years. daily ride by the way. he still loves the 124ST over the Merc and Peugeot at home. and by the way, Bravosx gives a good info for us Classic Fiat/Alfa lovers. he's my cousin anyway hehe.

glad to know that you'll be joining us. can't wait to see you and your 124, let alone seeing the project go hehe. that 128, yup i have seen em when i was small in Melaka hehe. but it was in white. belongs to a friend's father. by the way, it was so sad to hear that your mother sold it off to some scrap collector. arghhhh! for the new Coupe, in case you wanna get em brand new or used, do give me a call. i can hook you up with good offers and promotions and also upgrades. my number is 012.287.8350

igug

Dec 16, 2004
Well Mr Bravosx, thank u 4 d info. I'll start the hunt soon. The first search would be in Jalan Pahang s I'm working somewhere nearby. I'll let u know, bravosx if I got the part.
About my car, I regret that the previous owner changed the engine.... U c, I'm going 2 miss the purring sound produced by the shims, just like the engine sound grumbled by the Lancias, Alfas, Ferraris. I've tried to load the photo of my 124Sports but the size is over the limit.

I'm quite new in this web page never expect that u guys are so helpful and friendly. Thumbs up guys. Thank u.
Igug.

subsonique

Flashpoint
igug, post em over at Italiaauto too ok? more guys will be drooling with appreciation la. and by the way, you got to keep the size to only 80kb when you post in Italiaauto ok?

igug

Dec 16, 2004
Subsonique & Bravosx,
I dont know that the italian blood flowing in ur veins. Just remember that I came across this ad while in Perth, plate no 4 sale : 'MAFIAT'. Unlucky that we cant get a personalized plate no. yet in Malaysia. If not, I reckon that both of u n ur cousin might having a specialized name plate 4 ur cars.

Hey, I dont have the heart 2 put my car on display yet. It still look pretty ugly. Still unfinished yet. Wait haa, please dont expect the unexpected. I think, its going 2 b a long n slow process s I have 2 b patient on this thing.

I enclosed here a photo of a car I used 2 hate when I was very small (collected from the internet). It used 2 carry tea and biscuits around my small hometown when I was very little. But, if I get this same view again right now, surely that I'll be drooling. It's not sporty but it's a piece of history.

About the 124 Saloon, my brother's friend is having one of it and I drove it occassionally. Its just the 1400 version but, I love the way it took the corners.

About my 128, 1 day in early 90s, it was driven through Bukit Putus on the way 2 K Pilah from Seremban (I think, u know about the windy road there) n my elder brother was driving the standard 1st model Mazda RX7 and believe it or not, the RX7 was left about 100m behind when we reach the top of the hill. My 128 was using a standard susp. system, 128 engine with a Weber DCNVA carb (same engine s used in 128 Saloon n X1/9 1st model, I guess 75hp). It just love corners.

Igug

subsonique

Flashpoint
igug, trust me, we know where Bukit Putus is hehe. but nowadays, lotsa lorries stranded by the roadside, crying over broken gearbox hehe. anyway, yup, back in my hometown in Melaka, we do have registration plate MAF14 which simply reads MAFIA hehe. lotsa people wanted to bid for it, but someone big got it hehe. no names mentioned here. yep, the 124ST is pretty good, as my father for the 1600 verson, the Special T hehe. rear wheel drive some more bro. the balance is good and coupled with no power steering, wow, every corner is a killer hehe. but parking time would be suicidal haha.

igug

Dec 16, 2004
Hello guys, just want to share with you my findings with the Proton cars in my office, this post I wrote last week. It's not that I dont support Proton. Its supposed to be a Malaysian pride but if it minus the hanky panky things.

The place where I work happened to buy five Wiras 1.5 injection. They are all having an individualistic character. In other word, they are different to each other. Out of the five identical cars, four of them have a rubber lips protruding from the left rear lamp. The plastic air scoop at the front having an uneven gap on all of them.
Taps on the front signals show that two of the cars have a loose installation on the left side and I reckoned its going to give way in a few hundred km drive on a bumpy road. The metalic plastic panel look so cheepish that you can easily spot an uneven finishing, (Those new Wira owners, not to offend, try to have a look at yours) and you can even spot some burr left if you are lucky.Try to check on a Korean cheapest model and I think, this very simple thing wont happened.

The front boot microswitch looks like its installed at some aftermarket backshop. Two sets of keys are supplied together with a silver remote control. These remote control looked like they are being supplied by Mydin Superstore. And as a gift, they provide you with an umbrella to protect you from the rain or a hot sunny day. Oh yeah, before I forget, there is another gift for you! A hands free mobile phone gadget. And it struck to my head automatically that they look like they are a China product and after reading the instruction piece, it confirmed... I can hardly understand the instruction (pidgin) though its written in English.

And the air-cond compressor, maybe I was unlucky because the other guys who drove the other cars didnt experienced the same thing, it gave a sound like an uneven idling patrol boat engine. I noticed that the brand is UCM which is quite popular with breakdowns at Proton Service Center. (Why they stick to this brand - mmmm....oh yeah, to keep the price down and maybe to feed some ehem-ehem).
All of them also having an individual paint job though they are painted in the same colour as we can see that they have touch-ups, here and there. The door panels for two of the cars were uneven. One of them having a scratch at the bumper and another one with a dent on it with a quick spray to cover. I give a hand to my workplace to drive one of it back to the office. Though, it was not a long drive, but it worth the experience.

Comparatively, I think, Perodua assemblers give a little bit better quality that Proton's. And part quality.... tsk tsk tsk for both of them.

Personally, to me, out of these five cars bought, only one should be rolled out from the manufacturing plant, ready to be delivered, but this one also have a minor complaint : the interior assembler forgot to put the plastic cover at the center console box under the cassette player.

As a summarize, thats one of the reason that I didnt buy a Proton. Its simply because I want to show to certain people in Proton that I dont like the way things are being manipulated. Its up to them whether they want to listen or not and I consider this as a positive comment.
:rolleyes: Thank you.

igug

Dec 16, 2004
bravosx,
You saved my day. Thank's a lot buddy. I've got the front windscreen from DSG Autoglass behind the Tawakal Hospital as you adviced. I can see that the guys there are doing a skillful job and the person I dealt with, Ah Soon (Soon Chin Hoon) was a very friendly chap. He is not the 'cut throat' type of guy.

Although the part is not the original 'St Gobain' from Italy (its a reproduction copy), I'm very satisfied. He charged me RM600 for the screen which I consider quite cheap, considering the time, the travelling and energy I spent in searching the item from Klang, KL and JB.

I have no hesitation to reccommend this shop to anybody that need replacement on the glass of their car. Ah Soon's contact number is 019 387 7118.
:D Igug

igug

Dec 16, 2004
Thanx again. Lucky that guys like you all are around bros.
Igug

waeton13

May 24, 2005
kelate
halloww fiat`s brothers.. hehehe
i know u`re the specialist in fiat.. i have questions to u..
what the diffrents betwen carburetor weber dcnf 40 and dcoe 40?
from what fiats model that items come?? which one more powerful??
if someone want to let go that items, plz pm or msg me.. okk
i find twim weber too..

subsonique

Flashpoint
waeton13, hello bro. to my opinion, DCOE is better than DCNF. DCNF is down draft while DCOE is side draft configuration. DCNF is fitted on FIAT 131 and 132. another carburator you should try and see is Dellorto. and to better understand about this Weber and such, go to www.italiaauto.com where lotsa Italian car fanatic reside.

:itsme:Hello folks

Summer greetings from Mauritius and best wishes to you all

The owner of this BMW came to see me several times but I couldn't work on his car due to my job and time constraints, and given I had to travel to China for a training in education, the school holidays were cut short. This is the last detail I did in 2013 and will be reserving the first week to work on my own car before school starts. actually, i completed this ride at 6 pm on the 31st.

The work on this...