Doubt : 20v Alternator

artnet

Jan 19, 2004
Sarawak
www.cardomain.com

I've 4 alternators with me...
i notice there is two type of connector.
obviously the round type is for older 20v.
eg svt 1st gen.
oval is for 2nd gen and BT.

and i notice the difference with the pulley size.
my question is, if i put the smaller pulley
onto the bigger alternator which is not the originally
fitted with... will it harm the alternator?

the alternator taken out from the 1st gen svt is
small and has a small pulley as well. the alternator taken
from bt is bigger and has a bigger pulley too.
I'm thinking of putting the smaller pulley onto the
bt's alternator. so that i can get more out of the alternator
at lower rpm.

can someone assure me it is safe to do so....?

thanks.

levin818

Nov 29, 2003
artnet said:

I've 4 alternators with me...
i notice there is two type of connector.
obviously the round type is for older 20v.
eg svt 1st gen.
oval is for 2nd gen and BT.

and i notice the difference with the pulley size.
my question is, if i put the smaller pulley
onto the bigger alternator which is not the originally
fitted with... will it harm the alternator?

the alternator taken out from the 1st gen svt is
small and has a small pulley as well. the alternator taken
from bt is bigger and has a bigger pulley too.
I'm thinking of putting the smaller pulley onto the
bt's alternator. so that i can get more out of the alternator
at lower rpm.

can someone assure me it is safe to do so....?

thanks.
Hi artnet,
You are subject to following risks:
1) adding additional load to your engine (you have more power lost to the alternator).
2) overcharging your battery
3) overheating your Regulator and lead to premature of this component.
4) running your alternator above factory rpm spec, which also lead to premature.

What makes you want to do this mod?

artnet

Jan 19, 2004
Sarawak
www.cardomain.com
levin818 said:
Hi artnet,
You are subject to following risks:
1) adding additional load to your engine (you have more power lost to the alternator).
2) overcharging your battery
3) overheating your Regulator and lead to premature of this component.
4) running your alternator above factory rpm spec, which also lead to premature.

What makes you want to do this mod?
try to gain more current at low rpm.

so that's mean those who run their
engine above 8krpm also experiencing
the risk?

btw, do u have any idea where can i
find direct bolt on alternator? i need
something 100A.

Is our OEM alternator producing only
60A?

thanks for ur reply.

levin818

Nov 29, 2003
artnet said:
try to gain more current at low rpm.
so that's mean those who run their
engine above 8krpm also experiencing
the risk?
btw, do u have any idea where can i
find direct bolt on alternator? i need
something 100A.
Is our OEM alternator producing only
60A?
thanks for ur reply.

are u running a heavy ICE setup?
Or a 200HP electric super charger :D

Sorry have no idea on the stock alternator spec...

AE80TypeD

Nov 24, 2003
Puchong
electric supercharger? yummy! wonder how much they would cost... :p

AE80TypeD

Nov 24, 2003
Puchong
ah, now i know why they arent the hottest things since sliced bread... boo ya.

sigh~

rollakid

Nov 9, 2004
Kuching Sarawak
AE80TypeD said:
electric supercharger? yummy! wonder how much they would cost... :p
for a centrifugal electric charger that cost the same as the belt driven one, you get roughly 1/3 of the boost, as far as i know.

so, its a gadget seriously only for those who like to open their hood and say: "LOOK!!! NO BELTS!!"

artnet

Jan 19, 2004
Sarawak
www.cardomain.com
levin818, My ICE total fuse rating is at 110A.
but not running at full of course. probably
slightly more than half. thinking of adding
more in ICE.. so the load will increase...

terrence, want to buy alternators? 3 serviced.
one dismantled for assignment. haha. remember
to book earlier... don always til i found buyer, u
baru order.. haha kidding...

rollakid

Nov 9, 2004
Kuching Sarawak
alvin,

you say you have 4 alternator right? custom made bracket and belts so you can run all 4 of them, and never worry about power (electric power, to be accurate) again :D, one for engine one for the unit and 2 for all the amps and sonic-wave-generator :D

AE80TypeD

Nov 24, 2003
Puchong
hahaha sonic wave generator, damn keng the name! sounds like a weapon to overwhelm the passerby's ears with phased induced sonic bombardment of the low to mid frequencies, causing the drums to burst and chest pounding pressure that disturbs breathing. 120dB onslaught of killing waves to the frail human body roflmao..

i gotta stop watching to much sci fi. :D

rollakid

Nov 9, 2004
Kuching Sarawak
AE80TypeD said:
hahaha sonic wave generator, damn keng the name! sounds like a weapon to overwhelm the passerby's ears with phased induced sonic bombardment of the low to mid frequencies, causing the drums to burst and chest pounding pressure that disturbs breathing. 120dB onslaught of killing waves to the frail human body roflmao..

i gotta stop watching to much sci fi. :D
:D

i said that cuz for once i get to play around with a 24" studio grade woofer (or izit 26" i forgot, its big) cuz we rent it for the usage of some party for some club in the school, location in some hotel's hall (or something).

thing is i can't get within 2 meters to the woofer, within 3 meter i can't really breath anymore, when reach about 2 meters, i totally dunno whether i'm still breathing or not, and my eyeballs are vibrating and my vision is abit blur, and my whole body felt like they implant 30 cellphone with vibration on and they all go off together. >_<

thats where i surrender (some of us got boring and challenge each other who can get close to the woofer wins). suddenly a senior of mine, 2 years older i think, go forward and put a chair in front of the sub and sit infront of it, 1 foot away and he act like its nothing and enjoy the beat. we are all like ---> -___-"

few hours later when the whole thing stop, we can see him shiver all over and i can't make out what he is talking, to much vibration :D

so alvin dun put the woofer behind your seat :D

TRDae92

Mar 24, 2005
Malaysia....
www.cardomain.com
artnet said:
terrence, want to buy alternators? 3 serviced.
one dismantled for assignment. haha. remember
to book earlier... don always til i found buyer, u
baru order.. haha kidding...

Don't worry, i will order from u, but just u have to wait till my alternator kong...muaahahaha......:D

artnet

Jan 19, 2004
Sarawak
www.cardomain.com
wuahahaha... chris... my woofer is just 12" half of the one u rent.
don ever listen to the woofer Oh.. i did once.. to hear whether
there is other sound coming other than the bass.. my ears can't
hear well for days...

terrence.. ehehe.. rainy days lately... careful~~

If any of you know how to contact this person, kindly inform me ASAP. He
claimed to be a used car agent. I sold my car to him last October but until
now the account has not been settled & already due for 1 month. Tried to
contact him but the no. is not in service anymore. According to his
friend, this guy runs his own used car comp somewhere in Melaka.

Name : Azuan Afandi bin Mohamed Isa
IC : 790222-08-5185
Hp no : 0146250752
IC add : No 324 Rumah Perhutanan...