DIY quick shift

SkYwAlKeR

Mar 12, 2005
ePoh ~ malacca
try PM EFN.... but i doubt he is around...
last time he used to help his friend run a workshop which specialised in custom short shifts....

alpha_hoe_

May 17, 2005
sifu...i dunno how to cut n weiding la...cuz not same with u one...can gimme advise or not??

khguan

Aug 17, 2004
Seri Kembangan
fotopic.net
ur shifter design is diff for sure.. the pivot point is at the bottom... ur pic is not giving a godo view of the whole thing...

well this will be slightly more difficult... n i duno how to explain in words... the upper metal piece connected to the cable need to cut n welded higher... the bottom part which is nto shown in pic might need some extension.... not as easy as the wira shifter...

edwin_lcw

Jul 13, 2005
Setapak
which shop knows how to do around setapak here ah now i wanna do ..... last time heard that feller running around setapak here but now no sound oledi

RJ_5847

Jun 26, 2006
any increase of performance using such modified devices???
N00B Question...

SkYwAlKeR

Mar 12, 2005
ePoh ~ malacca
RJ_5847 said:
any increase of performance using such modified devices???
N00B Question...
nope.... wont increase ur performance...

but it helps u to shift up/down at quicker time... hence, lost of power during shifting is minimized.....

in other words, yeah, it do increase ur performance indirectly...
but if u shift up like slow @$$ even after installing quick shift, no point oledi lo... that would purely be jz for fun....

khguan

Aug 17, 2004
Seri Kembangan
fotopic.net
it just make ur car shift gear faster as it reduce the time to push the gear stick from 1 gear to another...

not all ppl can adapt to this kinda setup... i have many frens who like my short shifter.... but there is 1 or 2 whom are totally not used to it at all... shifting gears with short shift is a total mess to them... hahaha...

Battousai

Nov 16, 2003
www.durifto.blogspot.com
IMHO, the short-shift action you gain from this mod doesn't help you shift faster because you will need more arm strength to engage gears.

I've done this mod and that's my 2 sen.

SkYwAlKeR

Mar 12, 2005
ePoh ~ malacca
usually they wont make shifting harder if the short shift is done properly....

custom short shift dont mean jz cutting the stick short ler....

khguan

Aug 17, 2004
Seri Kembangan
fotopic.net
well.. in my car it works fine... n it feels much better shifting in a short locus...

i'm not a racer... just an apek driver... kekeke... well... shifting gear is more relaxed as i dun have to push the shifter so far.... altho i need to use a little more effort to push the shifter.... but i get used to it very fast n feels pretty normal n practical for daily driving.... no probs so far...

i guess mayb our setups are different?? since they are custom modified...

Malaysia’s Leona Chin solidified her title as Asia’s top female racer by scoring another double 2<sup>nd</sup> place finishes at the Renault Clio Cup China Series in Shanghai. This was her fourth consecutive podium wins in the series after Zhuhai (China), Seoul (Korea) and Buriram (Thailand) previously...