DIY - How to install ICE part #1

I'm a huge music buff. I play the piano and have an ear that'll catch the softest of sounds that'll irritate the hell out of me if I don't fix it. So naturally I'm extremely fussy about my sound systems. Pair that with my love for cars, I thought it would only be appropriate that I do a DIY on how to install an in-car-sound system.

Note - I have not forgotten about the brake DIY and coolant DIY, it'll come a little later.

Before I started performance modifications, I was heavily involved in ICE (in car entertainment). At that time everyone and anyone was into ICE. Forums had thousands of discussion threads and hits would reach at least 100 to 200 per day. Those were the days! The 'scene' has since died down and you'd be hard pressed to find an active Malaysian ICE forum.

Anyhow, I'm still an avid ICE fan albeit not as hardcore. I thought it would be cool to resetup all my old gear into my Wira which I originally had intended to sell - due to unforseen circumstances the car remained in my possession until today. Unfortunately my JL subwoofer and Orion HCCA G4 amp was sold off so I'll be sourcing for replacements to DIY later so this DIY will not include a subwoofer install.

Also, this is a relatively long DIY so it'll be broken up into several chapters.

Warning : Difficulty level for this is highly dependant on the complexity of your car. For my Wira I give it a 5/10 difficulty level. So if you're not confident or have no idea how to remove bits and pieces of your car, pay a professional to do it for you.

Yes... that's the original tape deck player that came with the car. I have no idea how I survived with just this piece of junk for a whole year.

Tools/Equipment/whatnots needed :

1. Detailed user manual for your headunit (HU), amp and speakers. But since I'm familiar with my amp and speakers, I only used the HU manual.
2. Lots of heatshrink, female and male connectors and insulation tape.
3. Plier, cutter, phillips screw driver, test pen (or test light), ratchet to remove seat.
4. Lots of cable ties big and small.
5. Your HU, component speakers (consists of tweeters, mid-bass and crossovers), ICE battery fuse and holder.
6. Power cables (recommended 4ga), RCA cable, 14/16ga wire for remote and lots of 10/12/14ga speaker wires.

I've removed my HU dozens of times. I've had 4 different HUs in the past so removing the current panel was just unscrewing 2 screws just above the HU and one hidden screw where the ashtray is (remove the ashtray first). Then it was just a matter of gently yanking the front panel out.

Disconnect the wiring from the back of the HU which is the main socket and the antenna plug. It'll help to remove your cigarette lighter socket and whatever electronics you have there. In my case it was the starter button socket. Once done you'll be able to take the HU out of its bracket and completely out of the panel. Keep the bracket if your replacement HU doesn't have a bracket.

In my case since it was already modified, I had to unwrap the insulation tape on the main socket. For new cars or unmolested cars, this would just be a matter of cutting the desired wires. With the test light/pen you'll need to find out which wires are :

1. Live (to battery)
2. Ground
3. Ignition (also live but only when the key is turned to "on" position)
4. Illumination (turn on and off your headlamps and test which wire responds)

The rest I didn't touch. I'm not using my stock speaker wiring and my HU has a built in antenna booster so I don't need to connect the antenna wire from the stock wireloom to my new HU.

Your replacement HU should have a wire socket of its own. Using the manual, identify which wires are related to the earlier #1 to #4.

Once you have it connected, it'll look like this. Tidy up the wires not in use but don't tie up the "remote" wire for your new wire socket. You'll need to use that thin 14/16ga wire to connect the "remote" connection to your amp.

I used the female and male connectors to connect the wires. It's better than just twisting two bare wires together and I also used the heatshrink to hold the wires in place. Looks a lot more pro. :biggrin:

Important note - be EXTRA careful with the battery live wire. This is a live wire so unless you want to fry something, make sure you wrap it up with insulation tape if not in use.

To be continued in part #2

biz-da-tech

Jan 21, 2006
i really dont dare to do about car electronic stuff. cuz very fishy :( hahah

Hey bro how about the aeroplane sound. do u know the troubleshooting ? cuz my car suddenly come out this sound in sudden. 1 amp and dual din dvd player and 4 speaker with 4 tweeter only

try improve your audio system grounding.....(not sure 100% works)

(*need to check mine also...coz lately that sound coming up) :biggrin:

i really dont dare to do about car electronic stuff. cuz very fishy :( hahah

Hey bro how about the aeroplane sound. do u know the troubleshooting ? cuz my car suddenly come out this sound in sudden. 1 amp and dual din dvd player and 4 speaker with 4 tweeter only
Electronics is simple once you figure out how it works! Well.. for me anyway.

Aeroplane sound is usually caused by poor grounding or some burnt components in the amp. Did you have this problem in the past? Was it always there? Is this a recent problem? What amp are you using? How old is it? Where is it grounded to? What is the tuning like (gain matching etc)?

A lot of things to ask before I can recommend what to check.

tks84

May 16, 2010
Mine last time was amp problem...chow kia amp...
And power cable and rca dont put near near....but the best solution go buy sound suppressor and fix
end of story morning glory....

Mine last time was amp problem...chow kia amp...
And power cable and rca dont put near near....but the best solution go buy sound suppressor and fix
end of story morning glory....
suppressors spoil the sound. I prefer to fix the problem, not introduce a workaround.

TheSquee

Jul 22, 2010
sifu teach us how to install audio capacitor please :D

currently headache thinking of gettin one for my setup but dunno where to get ( just want a cheap one that does the job )

Charles

I brake very late....
Jan 7, 2004
Kota Kinabalu
985x are decent HU witout the over clinical traits of an eclipse ;p (hope i dont get flamed by Eclipse fanboys hahaha)

sifu teach us how to install audio capacitor please :D

currently headache thinking of gettin one for my setup but dunno where to get ( just want a cheap one that does the job )

My advice : if you're gonna get a cheap one don't bother! A good one works miracles and will cost a small fortune. A cheap one might introduce new problems. Why do you need one anyway?

985x are decent HU witout the over clinical traits of an eclipse ;p (hope i dont get flamed by Eclipse fanboys hahaha)
Hehehe.. I have used the 8081 (is that the right code?) for a short period of time, the so-called "pure deck". Was quite good and damn bloody revealing but very limited in what I could do with it. No mp3! Had a lot of CDs strewn all over my car. Gave it up for a 9855. The 9855 is not as good as the legendary ex-Alpine-F1 model before 9990 (forgot what the model was) but it had waaaaay less lens problems since it's newer (the 9855).

Tried once, never again :(
Sometimes you gotta start slow and if you still can't - start with someone holding your hand (figuratively speaking). I had lots of guidance from good friends who openly offered their knowledge and tools (until I got my own).

tks84

May 16, 2010
Thats why i got fed up with brothers con me...last option keep 5k..go to audio specialist..fix and a happy
man now...
For those ah beng wannabe...dont do abit abit cheap cheap...kasi kau kau you will be satisfied...comfirm hehehehehe

NeuroOne

WFH
Sep 11, 2006
Putrajaya
keep up the good work Izso.
i am interested in ICE too but not for show just for my own satisfaction sedap2 sudah..
u know la OEM setup mana sedap..

just wanna ask like the above about the aeroplane sound.
other than grounding, amp and RCA-power cable problem, what other stuff to check?
btw, i think my aeroplane sound is only to the front speakers.

for my car, the aeroplane sound came up after i transplanted to a new engine.
i dont think of any direct problem relating to that, just maybe a different engine wiring done by the foreman that interfered with the speaker cables.

i have channelled the RCA and speaker cables to the left side of the car, amp in the boot, car battery also in the boot. grounding of amp with 4ga cable to body very near to the amp.
btw, my setup is ayam brand only. hehe..
but no aeroplane sound before the transplant la.
btw, i am also thinking of directly connecting my HU to the speakers as the HU output is 65W x4.

any comments? thanks bro..

biz-da-tech

Jan 21, 2006
well recent only come out the sound i not really sure wat the error but i think is should be the amp problem. is funny when i cornering the sound will pop out sometimes.. XD and if i drive very polite it never happen. and all da time happen when i do cornering in some G will increase ..the sound will come.