Different between 4g63 and 4g63 RVR

frdsyash

Jun 21, 2016
Johor
10k are those from halfcut. If you just buy the engine alone without any other parts, it is probably cheaper but that will be troublesome for you because you need to source in other auxiliary parts such as radiator, wiring, gearbox and so on.

If you want a cheaper option, perhaps you can find a DOHC 4G93. Or if you want it cheaper, 1.5 litre 4G91 DOHC. It is less powerful but at least in future, you can upgrade it using 4G92 and 4G93 parts because they are from the same engine family.
4g92 is 1.6...4g93 is 1.8 (correct me if I'm wrong ya guys):)

Both are DOHC..

Mivec is better than these two engines is it? why eh? Dulu my friends told me dont go for mivec, old engine. That was back in 2011. Until now still confused

fazidk

Well IMHO these engines fall in d 'old' category oredi coz if x mistaken they're all mid to late 90's..and again IMHO they're all very good n strong engines so technically what ur fren say has some truth..but if ur worried about d wiring then get a new set of wiring done by a reputable n experience wireman..this I know can be done..

D 4g92 IS mivec but wiz a 1600cc displacement (tho I think there is a 1.8 version rite??guys help me here) whereas d 4g93 gti is 1800cc..mivec system is similar to d legendary VTEC from Honda..whether which is better I x really answer that as it's subjective..both are really good engines..

RENESIS VIII

Jun 13, 2012
Quick q, 4g92 mivec (displacement?) is better than 4g93 DOHC (displacement?) ???
4G92 MIVEC is a 1.6 litre while 4G93 is a 1.8 litre. In terms of hp output, 4G92 MIVEC produces around 170hp while 4G93 DOHC produces 140hp. This is due to higher compression ratio in 4G92 MIVEC and also with the help from MIVEC variable valve timing system. Even the standard 4G92 DOHC (non MIVEC) produces around 140hp which is same with 4G93 DOHC due to higher compression. But standard 4G92 DOHC is quite rare. When it comes to torque, 4G93 DOHC will have a higher torque output than 4G92 MIVEC and non MIVEC.

RENESIS VIII

Jun 13, 2012
Mivec is better than these two engines is it? why eh? Dulu my friends told me dont go for mivec, old engine. That was back in 2011. Until now still confused
From what I heard from a few people, they say not to go for MIVEC because certain parts are incompatible with other 4G9 engines like the driveshaft for example. 2 people told me one reason to avoid that is because of the driveshaft that is hard to source especially if your 4G92 MIVEC comes with LSD gearbox.

Well IMHO these engines fall in d 'old' category oredi coz if x mistaken they're all mid to late 90's..and again IMHO they're all very good n strong engines so technically what ur fren say has some truth..but if ur worried about d wiring then get a new set of wiring done by a reputable n experience wireman..this I know can be done..

D 4g92 IS mivec but wiz a 1600cc displacement (tho I think there is a 1.8 version rite??guys help me here) whereas d 4g93 gti is 1800cc..mivec system is similar to d legendary VTEC from Honda..whether which is better I x really answer that as it's subjective..both are really good engines..
Nope, there is no MIVEC for 1.8 litre version.

From what I know, there is like 3 types of 4G92 MIVEC.
1. 4G92 MIVEC
2. 4G92 MIVEC RS (comes with LSD I think)
3. 4G92 MIVEC MD

MIVEC MD comes with cylinder deactivation feature which will shut down 2 cylinders from firing during low rpm to increase fuel efficiency.

For the 1.8 litre 4G93, there are several versions of this engine. The common ones that we usually deal with over here is
1. 4G93 SOHC (some from Proton, some from Mitsubishi)
2. 4G93 DOHC (again some from Proton, some from Mitsubishi)
3. 4G93T DOHC (turbocharged, only from Mitsubishi Lancer GSR)

The uncommon ones are
1. 4G93 SOHC Carburetor
2. 4G93 DOHC GDI (Direct Injection technology)
3. 4G93T DOHC GDI (Direct Injection technology)

Vincent7328

Jul 29, 2016
Hi all sifus, after i read all your comment..so mivec is a good engine?and how to know which is mivec rs or md?
And how is the spec compare to 4g91, 4g92, 4g93 na,4g67, 4g61, and 4g63

To all sifus once again i want ask if i transplant a turbo engine which engine will be worth..
Turbo engine will be way over your budget. You will need additional RM for brakes, suspension and exhaust mod. Brakes and suspension mod to cater for the extra horses....:biggrin:

Hi all sifus, after i read all your comment..so mivec is a good engine?and how to know which is mivec rs or md?
Brother, for this can just google 4G9 wiki......:biggrin:

From what I heard from a few people, they say not to go for MIVEC because certain parts are incompatible with other 4G9 engines like the driveshaft for example. 2 people told me one reason to avoid that is because of the driveshaft that is hard to source especially if your 4G92 MIVEC comes with LSD gearbox.
Yes, if LSD GB, the drive shaft is different. I was once offered LSD GB for my VR but could not source the drive shafts.....:bawling:

RENESIS VIII

Jun 13, 2012
Engine cover I guess? If it is the MD variant, then you will see the word MIVEC MD on the engine cover. But as for RS, I'm not so sure on how to differentiate it in terms of exterior look. I heard some calls the RS as blacktop so, I think the engine valve cover for the RS version is black.

Spec wise in terms of hp output, 4G92 MIVEC will be the highest at 170hp stock. Do keep in mind that people said that is the output on crank. If on wheel, I think it is around 140 plus hp.

The hp figure here is just a rough estimation, not the exact figure. But it is more or less around that figure.
4G91 DOHC =115hp.
4G92 DOHC = 140hp
4G93 SOHC = 118hp
4G93 DOHC = 140hp
4G61 NA = 124hp
4G67 = 135hp

For 4G63, the figures are rather different depending on which version you are getting. For example, the 4G63T in earliest Galant VR-4 produces around 205hp while the one in Lancer Evolution III produces around 270hp.

Turbo engine will be way over your budget. You will need additional RM for brakes, suspension and exhaust mod. Brakes and suspension mod to cater for the extra horses....:biggrin:
If his car is all stock from the beginning, even 4G92 MIVEC might be a bit much for his stock suspension and brakes to handle it.

Brother, for this can just google 4G9 wiki......:biggrin:
Exactly where I learn my stuff. Also learned from using the search button in zth. Digging into old post between 2005-2010.

Yes, if LSD GB, the drive shaft is different. I was once offered LSD GB for my VR but could not source the drive shafts.....:bawling:
And you rejected the offer? :biggrin:

Vincent7328

Jul 29, 2016
Engine cover I guess? If it is the MD variant, then you will see the word MIVEC MD on the engine cover. But as for RS, I'm not so sure on how to differentiate it in terms of exterior look. I heard some calls the RS as blacktop so, I think the engine valve cover for the RS version is black.

Spec wise in terms of hp output, 4G92 MIVEC will be the highest at 170hp stock. Do keep in mind that people said that is the output on crank. If on wheel, I think it is around 140 plus hp.

The hp figure here is just a rough estimation, not the exact figure. But it is more or less around that figure.
4G91 DOHC =115hp.
4G92 DOHC = 140hp
4G93 SOHC = 118hp
4G93 DOHC = 140hp
4G61 NA = 124hp
4G67 = 135hp

For 4G63, the figures are rather different depending on which version you are getting. For example, the 4G63T in earliest Galant VR-4 produces around 205hp while the one in Lancer Evolution III produces around 270hp.

If his car is all stock from the beginning, even 4G92 MIVEC might be a bit much for his stock suspension and brakes to handle it.

Exactly where I learn my stuff. Also learned from using the search button in zth. Digging into old post between 2005-2010.

And you rejected the offer? :biggrin:
i see..then which engine i should choose coz i'm not interest into 4g91..or 4g92..i'm just interest in either mivec or turbo engine

RENESIS VIII

Jun 13, 2012
Ya..but i can add bit to 6.5k is it enough?
If just engine alone without any other parts like gearbox, wiring, maybe it is possible to get a 4G92 MIVEC.

But if you want a complete transplant with everything else, 6.5k is not possible to get 4G92 MIVEC or any other turbo engine except the old 4G61T.

Ya..but i can add bit to 6.5k is it enough?
Doing power transplant a lot of follow up cost.
Engine (half cut)
Installation
Suspension
Exhaust
Brakes (if half cut comes with good brakes that can transplant over plug and play that will save you quite a lot)
Like mine 16 years ago, even though I got the half cut at 3.5k only, after installation and the mods listed ended up around 8k plus....:driver:

What’s the deal?

The Hyundai Ioniq hybrid is now officially here. Launched by Hyundai-Sime Darby Motors (HSDM) today at 1Utama Shopping Centre, with bookings opened more than 2 weeks ago. It rivals directly against the well-known Toyota Prius...