Compression testing... the results.

shiroitenshi

Apr 18, 2006
V8_nutter said:
Low numbers,,that's why your low RPM tourque weak. Try doing 252+ static compression and feel the tires begging for mercy. Our last year machine have those figures but bcoz we have no good tires (that time only use toyo trampio) we can only launch at 1500rpm only !!! more than that is a waste of time.

Best achivement with 252 compression is with maxed ignition from bottom to top (no reading on the ignition pistols aka maxed out already). When we did 262 then only we have to retard it a bit,,,but still 90% maxed ignition. Feel free to examine our machine setup,,,,,:regular_smile:
Nah.. that's why I mentioned in another thread that this will never be fixed, since I'm going to plonk in a B20B block soon.

Anyway.. 252 is a bit high for me to aim, since I don't think I'm running that high a compression..

Thanks for the info, V8_nutter.

shiroitenshi

Apr 18, 2006
woi woi.. That compression test is with a B16a lah.. not B20..

B20 still under development.. probable crank is from ITR. not so high a compression.. unless I want to do custom rods.. or mill the deck/head. B20B on hold for now... pending locating parts for cheaper price. :P

shiroitenshi

Apr 18, 2006
Rilek rilek cari lah.. Gua punya pocket pun kenal erti sakit.. hahaha!

shiroitenshi

Apr 18, 2006
Takpa... B20B senang nak panjat bukit.. mesti buat punya.. :P

Background information:
Total mileage travelled per month: 3000km
Fuel consumption: 8.1L / 100km 85% highway; 15% city
Average speed on highway: 80-100km/h
Average speed in city: 20-60km/h
Local car with monthly instalment of RM 460

Question:
Should I change my ride to a 2nd hand car with a more efficient petrol engine or a diesel engine?
or
Screw it, just stick to the current ride.

Appreciate all your sound advices.