common problems

kimosxx

Nov 18, 2007
Hi all,

im new to this type of car trying to aim for a car that is quick,reliable,economical and still it able to push high numbers on the dyno all at a cheap price.

Ive stumbled upon a 1VIA 1991 seems like a good bargain but coming from Australia this car is imported. not knowing the background raises such questions which do worry me if im going to fork out 13,000.

It looks in top shape well looked after under first impression but i wont know how thrashed the engine is until i actually buy it!! the car does come with a 1 year warranty but id like to know what sort of problems will i be looking at if it is trashed or just general wear and tear problems which a very common. Id like to avoid any such problems to keep my car on the road before it happens.

Pictures of the car are linked below along with some background information provided by the importer.

http://www.jappartswa.com.au/cars/E7/E7_side_640.jpg
http://www.jappartswa.com.au/cars/E7/E7_rear_640.jpg
http://www.jappartswa.com.au/cars/E7/E7_engine_640.jpg

Black Top, Cat Back Exhaust System, POD Filter, Full Vertex Body Kit, BOV, 17" Mags, New Tyres, Sunroof - Excellent Condition - MUST SEE! - Includes 6 month Rego and 1 year warranty

Additional information:

113,000km on the clock but because of the engine conversion estimated 80-90,000km

the car had seen a CA18DET to SR20DET conversion (in aust)
also a automatic to manual conversion (in aust)

autopartsmalaysia

Known Member
Apr 2, 2007
you can always bring the car to a mechanic and ask them to do a compression test.
this would help in determining whether the engine is healthy or whether it needs
a rebuild because 1 or more of its cylinder is suffering from loss of compression.

also, you would want to check whether the car has been in any major
accidents before putting a deposit or purchasing the car.
A major accident might affect the car's handling and overall strength of the car's chassis/body