Changed GSR turbo to Evo3, Need Help!

phonzy

May 30, 2005
I used a GSR 1.8 engine, and I'm boosting at 0.7 bar. I've recently changed my turbo to Evo3. Along with that, I've changed my ECU to Evo3, Air Flow Sensor to Evo3 too and also my fuel injectors to VR4 ones.

After I've done the mod, I tested the car and it's only boosting at 0.5. My GSR turbo at 0.7 was slightly faster to me (considering that my evo3 boost at 0.5 also has some lag). I still don't have a boost control or any E-manage/SAFC of that sort. I feel that my evo3 is still wayyy underpowered and my air flow is still not tuned as my car is rich.

What mods can I do to gain/improve my evo3 turbo to feel an increase in power? I believe that the evo3 turbo has more potential?

Apparently what I've heard now is to get an E-manage or SAFC2 to tune up my air flow etc and get a boost controller and push the boost up to 0.7-1 to feel an increase.

Right now I'm unhappy with my situation! :( Please help!
Opinions and comments of sifus most appreciated!

Thanks in advance for the help!

MitonCT26

Nov 16, 2003
Seremban
Cheapest way (may not be the safest)

ask your mech to reset the boost to 1.0 by any means first lor...old school way of fish tank, add washer to the actuator, bend the actuator shaft etc to test first.

turn the MAF screw all the way inside (lock) first.

set fuelling by fuel pressure regulator and check tuning.

(these way are free cos you need to check see everything ok or not)

if all runs better, then only invest in electronics. no point buying/modifying something that did not cure your problems in the first place.

if not, get your mech to check everything. it should boost nicely and strongly without fancy gadgets. old school style. heheheheh..

phonzy

May 30, 2005
yeh..i heard of that way too..but what if the boost overshoots and my engine ...gg boom! :(

MitonCT26

Nov 16, 2003
Seremban
your engine standard form got boost cut wat. more than 1.2 bar it will release excess boost one.

you get your mechanic to kautim lor...or you can try yourself one. once the boost meter shoots past 1.2, then lift off lor. once or twice boost spike is ok one for the engine not prolonged excess boost. :)

jinkl

May 22, 2004
dont whack whack like that
do a leak test first to see if there is a leak of air

then get ur safc + sitc
or get a e-manage
or get a drax chip

this will solve it. ingition wouldnt be the same for e3 and ur gsr , fueling
for evo3 ecu is 510cc injectors not 450cc injectors.

jinkl

May 22, 2004
phonzy : wht i meant is the ecu is set for 510cc , if u put 450cc injectors , the map would be already wrong , running leaner or richer im not sure, bt for sure not right
need to tune bro
bt the not getting boost is a boost leak, has nothing to do with ur ecu and all
its either actuator , turbine housing crack , boost selenoid is fixed in :P

phonzy

May 30, 2005
thanks jinkl and miton for your help and replies!

i tried to put the fish tank ...3 holes, i open 1 hole can boost at 0.7 already...when i open 2 holes can boost at 0.9 already and can feel much more powerful compared to the 0.5 pathetic boost...so does this still mean that it might be the actuator, turbine, fuel pressure etc...?

and tuning is for sure...but currently low on budget..as i get my money would probably throw an e manage in...

what do u guys think?

jinkl

May 22, 2004
phonzy : wht i tink truly is
ur boost reading isnt right
a standard evo actually has boost of 0.6bar
please read ur boost meter at 3rd gear where it has the biggest load and
gear ratio of near to 1:1 i guess
1st gear and 2nd isnt suitable to read the boost level
so it is right that u r getting more boost when u open up ur sisik ikan :)
but if u really really want to know more :P

1. flush ur radiator
2. remove radiator, only 2 sets of screws :P
3. unscrew the intake from turbo the pipe which has 2 bolts
4. open oil lines
5. open water lines
6. open exhaust from down
7. open the 4 bolts that holds ur turbo
8. down goes the turbo

estimated : 2-3 hours, bt what u learn from this is PRICELESS

next , i dont tink even ur mech does this

1. park ur car in mechs place
2. the hose that goes to actuator from intake pipe , remove the actuator side
3. use air blow gun that ur mech has
4. shoot it in
5. on the ingition of ur engine so that ur boost meter is on
6. pump air into the whole intake n engine using the air blow gun into that hose that u removed from intake pipe
7. i tink atleast 2-3bar will be pumped in , but u can control by injecting lesser air laa , then just hear where the air leak is
8. smile while u see ur leak and u know there is no more leak after u change the hose

happy boosting
u can get more tips from DSM sites, they got nice ideas for troubleshooting man

Am plannin to get my ride re-painted and restore its ol skool look. Its a 1985 Toyota Cressida.

Currently :
- rust spots all over the car
- paint starts to flake, espcially at the trunk area.
- Big holes caused by the blardy rusts...(Behind rear wheel mudflap)
- Mini dents. Accumulated over d years.(Motorbike handle bars, plp leaning, etc) :angry:

My questions are:
- Will the cost be cheaper if I were to re-paint the car with the same color (ori paint)??

- Re-welding and bondo 'ing'...