Feb 5, 2008
hello sifu2 n otai2 Toy here,
i'm confuse about this C56 gbx.
mine 1 is 5speed de..
want to identify is it LSD or not.

some my buddys say its not LSD
maybe true bcos when car 'tergantung'
then rotate each wheel to 1 direction, the opposite 1 will rotate in same direction is got LSD right?
but mine not like that. when rotate each wheel, the other 1 will rotate in 'arah bertentangan'.

im worring about the gbx oil, want to change already bcoz the drvshft oil seal pecah already one side,
i think the oil oso in few amount only.
last time 1st fill after tranplant BT engine, im using toyota brand LSD gbx oil RM68.
the autopart taukeh rekemen me, say if LSD gbx fill with non type oil, the gbx will 'cepat' condamn
if non LSD leh, put any type of gbx oil will no problem.

bera

Oct 27, 2007
in your case...certain C56 GB came equipped with LSD...some not...well not some...most is not equipped with LSD...if i'm correct typically LSD equipped GB (1 way, 1.5 way, 2 way) will spin both of the tire in same direction if you spin it (that the general guide line...if really want to make sure...have to open up the GB)...if both spin the same way...congrats...you got LSD... and there is wide choice of LSD lubricant to choose from...like you said ori toyota also got LSD oil...

if normal GB also there is wide range of lub to choose from...just make sure the correct and suitable viscosity rating for you application...

AE75

Feb 10, 2010
Not really too... I also got LSD but when use hand to spin it, 1 side only spin, 1 side stand still. But once enter gear and throttle it, both wheel spin equally. :hmmmm:

bera

Oct 27, 2007
that why i said..."general" rule...not "confirm already" rule...another method worth mentioning is looking at the engine number plat at your halfcut...there also should have the GB code stamp onto it...if LSD is factory fitted...it should be mark with "c" like C56-C or something like that...

albeit all that fuss...it seems that yours is normal GB...if i'm not mistaken....LSD lub not suitable for your GB

cuscostrutbrace

Jul 10, 2004
If torsen LSD (which most FWD toyota is equipped),both wheel will still turn opposite of each other just like normal open differential,only when you apply power the LSD will take effect.If clutch type LSd,then both wheel will turn same direction

D7zul

Feb 24, 2011
LSD stands for Limited Slip Differential..

there are other types of differential like open differential (i think this one if u spin 1 tyre the other tyre spin opposite way)

and Viscous Coupling.. this i don't know..

more info here..

HowStuffWorks "How Differentials Work"

pcmoddingmy

Mar 23, 2006
www.pcmoddingmy.com
Another way to test if got LSD or not is to jack up one wheel only and try to spin it with neutral gear. If LSD, it will be hard to spin (requires force) or you cant spin the wheel at all. This will 99% confirm if your GB has LSD.

Using LSD oil on non-LSD box will not be an issue (just more costly) but using non-LSD oil on LSD box will damage your LSD.

ipul_AE111

Feb 5, 2008
thanks for all advise n replys.
i'm still doing researh. i think should go to BT speacialist to kenal pasti the status of my my GB.
the summary is not all C56 got LSD lor..

haa..sumore 1 thing,
i feel lil bit hard to shift gear from 1st to 2nd, then to the 3rd in low RPM (below 3500RPM)
hv to play-play with fuel pedal then can shift smooth.
is it im using wrong type of oil for my GB?

ipul_AE111

Feb 5, 2008
check already at the identity plate of the h/c,
writed as below..

MODEL : E-AE111G-CWMVF
ENGINE : 4A-GE 1587 cc
FRAME No. AE111-7004812
COLOR TRIM GVM(KG)
205 YR16
TRANS./AXLE : C56 -04A
PLANT/BUILT : B11

just like that only... can identify it has LSD or not meh this way:confused:

KHWONG

Jun 29, 2006
To be more accurate .. Better u snap a picture of the drive shaft hole of ur gb... Sure many sifu here can help u identify....

The rumor that K.I.T.T. will be played by a Mustang in the upcoming Knight Rider TV series appears to be true. That is, assuming someone with a lot of time on his hands didn't mock up a Hoff-ified Mustang just for the hell of it.

That's extremely doubtful, as the car you see above is actually wearing the body kit of a Shelby GT500KR, which isn't easy to come by for weekend projects. Nope, if we take the pic...