buying a corolla seg AE111, what do i look out for?

loupho

Mar 9, 2011
hi to all the sifu sifu..:adore:

i will be looking for my 1st toyota and it will be a ae111 4afe. i think. what are the things that i should be looking for in a second hand car ? how will i know that its no major accident? what are the most coment things that spoile for that car? is the car reliable ? oh, and its going to be a AUTO..

thank you all the sifu sifu:adore:

hope i can fine 1 with a 4AGE 20V BT inside..:biggrin:

---------- Post added at 02:08 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 12:53 PM ----------

anyone ??:adore::adore:

j_l200s

Dec 16, 2004
We (maybe for me only la) can't really know how good the condition of the car and engine. What I did was i brought a 'magat' fella and my mech. 1 person check body and 1 person test engine/drive car. Both fellas green light-> DEAL. all the best!

:)

D7zul

Feb 24, 2011
look for oil leaks, unusual dent inside the car & engine bay..

check engine oil, transmission fluid, brake fluid.. everything la..

dont forget to bring ur torch light.. a very bright one.. (i'm selling at rm15 only.. hehe)

wilm3

Aug 4, 2005

if u got 4age BT inside then u need to pay for RM2.70/liter RON97 ohhh......think twice...kekeke..:)

---------- Post added at 05:34 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 05:30 PM ----------

hi... between i got a fren wanna let go his AE111 96' with 4AGE BT auto inside. just converted bout 1 or 2 yr ago...interested? just leave me ur no and will ask him to contact u... it's a nice and consider vy stock family car with vy good care maintenance.

ayathu

Feb 24, 2007
loupho,

follow j_l200s, advice bring a mech if you find a good looking AE111. body check easy ,check along the rubber seals, open it look for sign of dent or weld, try open shut door, if the door feels haevy than most likely its been accident and done paint job with too much plaster.

suspension dead give away, push the bonet and boot if too bouncy need to change, if too hard no comfort at all. alignment need to drive 100km/h and see.

By the way 20v BT no need ron97 cause ron95 also can use one,2years already no problem.

loupho

Mar 9, 2011
thanks sifu sifu... but the car that i know now is at a use car place at serdang.. and my house is at kepong wo.. how can i get a mech to see the car ?? i am really noob in this. 1st time buying a second hand car. how can i know its not a " potong car ? " see under the door ruber ad.. under the car capet ? thanks to all the sifu sifu ah..

---------- Post added at 12:09 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 12:07 AM ----------

loupho,

follow j_l200s, advice bring a mech if you find a good looking AE111. body check easy ,check along the rubber seals, open it look for sign of dent or weld, try open shut door, if the door feels haevy than most likely its been accident and done paint job with too much plaster.

suspension dead give away, push the bonet and boot if too bouncy need to change, if too hard no comfort at all. alignment need to drive 100km/h and see.

By the way 20v BT no need ron97 cause ron95 also can use one,2years already no problem.
what you mean by suspension dead give away, push the bonet and boot if too bouncy need to change, if too hard no comfort at all. ???? thanks..
:adore::adore::adore:

Veloc

May 19, 2010
Sabah
Some people said AE111 got rusting problems. Try look out for em. And, Check the frame and roof for any signs for irregularities or knock repairs. Check for consistency at the door gaps.

I learn things th hard way. When I bought my AE111, it was very well done to cover up the accident. When my mech see it recently, he told me there is a high chance this car rolled over. I was like @.@ damn that salesman.

ayathu

Feb 24, 2007
loupho,
Hope can explain it to you clearly, here goes.

The main component of the comprise of absorber and spring if the absober is worn out ,than there will be no absorbtion when u push the car down at the front and rear, it will be wobbling there will be very easy up and down motion to push the car.

If the spring is too hard (modified) you can hardly push the car down, imagine riding an old bicycle with no absorber and spring on a rough road it will be the same feeling(uncomfortable).

loupho

Mar 9, 2011

if u got 4age BT inside then u need to pay for RM2.70/liter RON97 ohhh......think twice...kekeke..:)

---------- Post added at 05:34 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 05:30 PM ----------

hi... between i got a fren wanna let go his AE111 96' with 4AGE BT auto inside. just converted bout 1 or 2 yr ago...interested? just leave me ur no and will ask him to contact u... it's a nice and consider vy stock family car with vy good care maintenance.

i pm you my number all ready.. pm me back your friend number.. thanks...

AE111 no need go until Serdang gua...I have seen a few around Kepong area used car shops also...

Mudah also can search a lot hehe!

Veloc

May 19, 2010
Sabah
the car that i see is at mudah. how much do you think that a ae111 will cost ? a 96-97 model.. :hmmmm:
Depends area... Generally Sabah is much more expensive than west. I got mine for 23k. That is the cheapest in sabah already. Condition okay, but have to spend at least 1k to replace oil seals, service and stuff. Those with blacktops a bit more expensive la... But syok ma :biggrin:

loupho

Mar 9, 2011
Depends area... Generally Sabah is much more expensive than west. I got mine for 23k. That is the cheapest in sabah already. Condition okay, but have to spend at least 1k to replace oil seals, service and stuff. Those with blacktops a bit more expensive la... But syok ma :biggrin:
i found a ae111 1.6A 96 only going for 20.500k only.. is that cheep or okok only or have probem 1, like accident beforo?

over here at kl have this shop that specialise in 4age, "kegani" for 5k servicing is around rm230-rm250. is that ok ? :adore:

---------- Post added at 11:33 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 11:29 AM ----------

and 1 more thing.. is 4age 20vbt fuel eco. ? vs 4afe. for normal drive.. city drive.. thanks.. and the reliability of the enjin 4age20v bt vs 4afe... thanks :adore::adore: