Boost Problem? Misfiring?

• See what others are reading now! Try Forums > Current Activity
  • Search function more powerful with google results! Try Search

acidburn1204

Known Member
I'm using a 3S-GTE and had just transplanted this engine on my MR2.

At 0.5bar which is the stock boost, everything was going fine n smooth. Redline is at 7000rpm.
After increasing the boost to 0.7 the rpm seems to stall for awhile at 5000rpm then continue as per normal. A wierd GRRR sound appears and the boost drops by 0.2 when this happens, b4 continuing to speed on to 7000rpm as per normal. After explaining this to my friend he said that its mis-firing. wat does this mean? and how do i fix it if? If its not misfiring, then wat is the problem?
At first it only happened on the 3rd,4th and 5th gears. After some time now, its also happening on 2nd gear. In other words, getting worse... and more frequent.

I just had my car for less than a year so i'm new to turbocharged engines, its technical functions...etc.

Really need some help on this. Thx

might be running too rich.
can you describe more specifically about what other mods have you done to the car. How are u managing your fuel? R u using safc, fuel regulator or standalone ecus?
give us more details and we might be able to figure out the prob.

there is possibilities of fuel running too lean oso cus as you said u increase the boost to 0.9 bar..
as i remember my fren boosting at 0.6 bar using stock injectors no prob den he increased the boost to 0.9 bar without changing any injectors..
den wen he tried to go till red line, there is a certain RPm wher it will be kinda sluggish and can hear poping sound coming out from the exhaust wif black smoke..so to solve the prob , he change to bigger cc injectors..
den now can boost till 1 bar without any probs..

or

u can check ur fuel pump, spark plugs,plug cables...

jus my 2 cents

miss fire? yes.. cos ur engine start to retart the ignition.