BMW E30 survey

GSR5559

Guys jus wana know how much for that car and loan can be taken for that car?
wht is the last year of manufacturer for that car? Year 92?
maintenance wise ? spare parts? wht engine can be transplanted? i prefer 2.0cc cus road tax wont be extrememly too much ... turbocharged wuld be recommended..not buying it now but jus need to know more bout beemer..so dont come and pm me saying wana sell this car cus i wont be replying u guys..im jus surveying and wana learn more bout it before makin decision..

TQ

xtracooljustin

Sep 28, 2004
KL, PG & JB
xtracooljustin.multiply.com
im not sure bout loan as da car is quite old alredi...

yup, da final years of the E30 is around end of 1991(in europe) n 1992(elsewhere)

price wise if well maintained should b around 20-25K for later models...
n about 13-15K for regular standard cars

its good that u opt for da 2.0 litre straight six... there r a few advantages of da 6 pot compared to da 4 pot 318i. good for long journey n more satisfying to drive an M20B20 compared to da M40...

however if u dun mind da roadtax da 2.3litre or 2.5lite M20s are also very good n powerful for a small car like da E30

but if u really can get ur hands on a 318is, then its a very rare n powerful model

xtracooljustin

Sep 28, 2004
KL, PG & JB
Originally posted by si|verfish@Jan 31 2005, 16:31
Possible to get a e30 m3 in Malaysia?
E30 M3s r very rare in Malaysia....

there are heaps n heaps of them in UK all waiting to b bought by new owners....

too bad we cant bring them into Malaysia cheaply n without much hassle... if not i would luv to get my hands on an E30 M3!

junauto

Dec 17, 2004
Why GSR? fed up with the Kancil & Satria JPJ mission nowadays?

boggysv

Sep 7, 2004
Once had a E30 323i coupe in my family...but too bad it was involved in a fatal accident.

Dad decided not to keep the car :(

How much is it for a decent condition 323?

gti88

Originally posted by xtracooljustin+Jan 31 2005, 23:53 --></div><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td>QUOTE (xtracooljustin @ Jan 31 2005, 23:53 )</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'> <!--QuoteBegin-si|verfish@Jan 31 2005, 16:31
Possible to get a e30 m3 in Malaysia?
E30 M3s r very rare in Malaysia....

there are heaps n heaps of them in UK all waiting to b bought by new owners....

too bad we can bring them into Malaysia cheaply n without much hassle... if not i would luv to get my hands on an E30 M3! [/b][/quote]
and they're all left hand drive, right ?

eddie

my buddy has an e30 m3 EVO......left hand drive.....

not sure if I should post a pic of his car......need approval 1st.... ;)

si|verfish

Apr 28, 2004
UK cars are right hand drive.

xtracooljustin: Any other alternative in the e30 range which comes the closest to the m3 version?

fabianyee

Jan 9, 2004
the E30 318is is touted as the 'Poor Man's M3' or 'Baby M3'

I have a 318i with the M42B18 1.8 DOHC engine from the E36 318ti/318is.... at 140hp, it got higher power than the 6 cylinder 2.0.... ;)

xtracooljustin

Sep 28, 2004
KL, PG & JB
Originally posted by fabianyee@Feb 1 2005, 12:40
the E30 318is is touted as the 'Poor Man's M3' or 'Baby M3'

I have a 318i with the M42B18 1.8 DOHC engine from the E36 318ti/318is.... at 140hp, it got higher power than the 6 cylinder 2.0.... ;)
ya lar ya lar fabian....

make fun of my puny M20's output la....

Not all M3s r left hand drive... only da E30 M3 Sports Evo r all lefthand drive...limited editions, damn rare n powerful... sort of like the new E46 M3 CSL (a one-off, better, more powerful n more elusive)

but seriously... da closest thing to an M3 for da E30 should be da 325i that comes wif a M20b25 2.5litre engine... thats a very powerful car...

si|verfish

Apr 28, 2004
Engine from battleship + small chassis = suicide.

Why waste so much money to do that when you can achieve the same results by repeatedly stabbing a ballpoint pen into your eye socket, or through your ribcage and into your heart.

Total cost = nil. (Use the pen you get in your office)

Anyway, back to the topic, the 325i you say? How much ponies is it packing?

fabianyee

Jan 9, 2004
The 325i has about 170hp... from a 6 cyl 2.5 M20B25 engine...

It has the straight line speed but lacks the chuckability/nimbleness of the 4potter 318is.
The 318is though lacks the torque but made up in its free revving nature and a lighter front made it less nose heavy and very much a car to drive on twisty back roads. This is the feedback from most E30 forums in europe and US...

The M3 too is not legendary for its power, it's its handling that made it a motoring icon....

GSR5559

wow so fast got so much replies..tq guys..my connection was suspended so got no time to reply..btw im a noob in BMWs engine so kinda lost sumwher here..ehehe..and yeah ive surveyed the price of Cefiro and BMW these few days..eermm..as for Cefi loan still can be taken but not high around Rm 23-25 if im not mistaken but as for Beemer , abit difficult le..as for the Cefi interest rate is kinda high around 7% ..
im wondering how much is the roadtax for 2.5 litre engine? and for the 2.6 litre too..jus wana make comparison..kinda hard to maintain if the roadtax is veri far difference than my current 1.8 litre..i know there is alot of Beemers lying around here in Kl price range around 15k - 18k but year 80+' ... so kinda old man..but wht the heck if im paying that price for that car..another thing is if i were to get a beemer wif stock engine and plan to transplant wif another heart into it, mebi like RB20,RB25,RB26 (in my dream), SR20, can it be approved on the road easily? cus it is BMW chassis wif a Nissan heart..as u guys know that nowadays JPJ is veri strict...

junauto : not becus of JPJ but bored of it oredi..plan to change a car but duno if my father allows me or not oni..hopefully it wont be costly to change a another car..actually imm keen to have a 4 door car, more comfy and spacious but after looking at one of zth members E30 for sale , kinda drooling over it and dreaming im the driver of that car..ahahha..wif a drifted tail can drive all nite long...ehehe..