between alpine and pioneer. pls help

saltydogg

Jul 21, 2004
-dj-
i decided to change my player. i dont really plan to mod my ice crazy. i just want a better sound. i dont listen to dance or techno music so i dont need a very strong bass.

for starters, among all these players, which player would u guys recommend?

alpine 9801 , alpine 9843 , pioneer 7650, pioneer 7450, pioneer 6550

hope you guys can help me. just simple explanations, i'm a newbie in ice.

BuRn|nGsUnZ

Jul 8, 2005
i dont know much bout model but its the best u dun buy pioneer anymore..last time pioneer is a good brand but now not anymore bcoz it will make aeroplane sound after u use it for short term..thats wat my fren who open accesories shop told me..he say the best is panasonic..

Spoon DC5 II

May 21, 2005
Bedok
wat a crap..
panasonic..lol..

anyway...i'll put my bet on Alpine anytime

Tohsan

Nov 13, 2004
Char Kuoy Teow
want no problem get the middle to higher range like Alpine 9835,9855 or got cash get 7998 or get Pioneer P9 :biggrin: :tongue: who say piooner is bad, its one of the best around, go do read up n check with ice kaki u will know why :smile:

kyheng

May 20, 2005
seremban
Agree with you, atleast Pioneer with lower range one still have mp3 or WMA, but Alpine have to buy higher range 1 then only have. If we got high end Alpine but the speaker is normal also is a waste.

Tohsan

Nov 13, 2004
Char Kuoy Teow
ya agreed its bout the overall ice setup to get the best sq, otherwise just go back to basic n don expect very good sq. :smile:

Yong_5290

Nov 4, 2004
Klang
hotmail.com
wats ur budget and izizt those u mention above 2nd hand HU?

if u r going for new HU then can take pioneer deh-p1y...
it has 6.5volt preout
60x4watt mosfet
3 pre out..

the higher ur HU preout voltage..u dun need to turn ur amp gain so high...so the amp more efficient

kyheng

May 20, 2005
seremban
saltydogg said:
i was hoping someone could answer my question..

among those players, which is the most recommended?

Your question has been answer already, please read carefully all the replies on this thread.... Want cheap and have average sound go for Pioneer, want good sound then Alpine. Anyway how good is our ears? When put into amp already is more or less the same already.

Tohsan

Nov 13, 2004
Char Kuoy Teow
saltydogg said:
i was hoping someone could answer my question..

among those players, which is the most recommended?
asking for opinion can only partially confirm what is good. When i was in Ice shop, i specifically get the ice shop boss to bring all the HU out n plug in my car to test the sq one by one.
If the shop u go say no then its too bad, go hunt for another good ice shop. Btw CV audio is a good place for u to start! :smile:

kyheng

May 20, 2005
seremban
So good that the shop let you to test all the players before you buy it. I only buy the player when I see it on internet then survey from shop to shop to get the best price..

kyheng

May 20, 2005
seremban
I see, but seremban one abit hard, as they only intro the higher end one. I like to see my self, normally I like to see its front, then function and how many pair of pre-out. For Pioneer the sound quality is more or less the same among all the models, only they have other functions.

I'm trying to find Idemitsu engine oil around Kuching but seems like most of the spare part shops selling other brands. Anyone has any idea which spare part shop selling Idemitsu motor oil? Thanks.