B16A Big Vtec with OBD0 PR3 ECU

AE80

Known Member
Jun 7, 2006
hi all, i'm newbie here..

i wanna ask something about my car..
i got ED6 with b16 big vtec (bought from my friend)
ecu pr3 auto obd0, gearbox S1 (cable), header got 2 o2 sensor, small vtec distributor
(all of this from small vtec i think)

this engine dont have vtec oil pressure switch (so, i jump directly to vtec solenoid) now vtec kickin.. and i move the jumper from R68 to R67 on my ecu to get vtec kickin around 5000~8000 rpm
better than before, around 4500~7500 rpm..

i wanna ask, do i need to convert to ecu obd1 because i'm using big vtec?
or it's doesnt matter? i try to figure out pro and con using OBD0 ecu/wiring harness to OBD1 engine..
and how about performance? and hp i got now? it's big vtec or small vtec horsepower?

need to learn.. thank you very much.. ^^

AE80

Known Member
Jun 7, 2006
where's all sifu? no comment? =.='

jombiee

500 RPM
Feb 7, 2005
Ghombau
Iam also waiting from sifus to answer lol, but seems ZTH are so very the slow la nowdays....
ok here we go

Find an OBD0 manual ecu & fix back the oil pressure switch, follow back ori wiring routing. walla.

big vtec & small vtec not much diff in ho bro, only 10hp, slightly higher compression & cam, different distributor,different IM, different injectors, diff. ecu with 2 O2 sensors.

If you want to go for OBD1, its actually leave you to a lot options for standalone, hondata, chrome. For 0BD0 also can, aftermarket ECU(spoon etc) & tune it with piggyback i.e. VAFC/e-manage. you need ecu conversion harness or complete OBD1 harness + OBD1 distributor, for this & its only needs 1 O2 sensor.(different location of bung)

minor mods = Aftermarket header + complete ctr head parts + ctr piston + adj camgear + chipped ecu + piggyback & dynotuning.....

cheers.:wavey:

Last edited:

AE80

Known Member
Jun 7, 2006
thanks jombiee..