automatic dual mode muffler?

GT_AUTO

Oct 25, 2005
K.Trg
they used to sell it in m'sia before if i'm not mistaken.but after disappointing
sales of the stuff,they stop bringing it in.it's made in taiwan or china.it's
call exhaust control valve.apex'i pioneer this stuff.a few days ago i came
across a website showing how to install the valve.it's m'sian website.
i just finish looking around for an hour but still can't find it.maybe no
luck today.:)

egb18c

Feb 8, 2006
kuantan
aha.originally i wanted to make the same thing to.
but where to get the valve?
can i use butterfly valve? and how mush is it cost?
just need some budget to try this DIY.not so DIY lah,bcause have to go to echaust shop,hehehe.

any ideas?

zac

Feb 7, 2007
actually i want to ask a noob question, pls dont laugh at me... i feel like installing this thing as well, but the exhaust shop said the motor cannot stand high temp from turbo car... can i install things like wastegate at the exhaust so when the pressure increase it ll open the valve become a staright flow?? can it be done??

GT_AUTO

Oct 25, 2005
K.Trg
it's not a noob question zac.it's kind of make sense.if u install a gate that uses
spring to close,it still make the exhaust gas hard to escape cos it have to push
the gate so there still pressure there.the 1 that i've seen before using just
cable to open n close the valve from ur car interior.

hondamember

Apr 9, 2006
erm? so u all means u have two choice, one is for silent and one is for loud when u want it, rite? saw my fren car satria with mivec engine have one. done it at the tun aminah, jb, johor state before. donno cost how much. But different here, is, he need two muffler, one is for loud, and one is silent, then piping go to 2 way for those muffler, just one part like valve control the flow to which one, got one switch on ur dashboard and just switch to silent or loud mode as u like it.

sam1741

Dec 18, 2004
i also thinking install one
just middle of the pipe.. put those valve
no need to have 2nd muffler.. just let the air go straight out...

but dono where can get those valve..

egb18c

Feb 8, 2006
kuantan
how bout u use butterfly valve?
maybe can find it in hardware shop.
but the problem is how to control the valve from inside the car?
futher more,how to control it so the valve wont fully shut?

sam1741

Dec 18, 2004
yeah.. thats what i am thinking
must find a valve that can withstand high pressure, and high temperature...

if using electronically control valve.. will be easier..
can control from inside the car

if using mechanically control valve.. maybe have to link a cable.. like handbrake cable or something..

egb18c

Feb 8, 2006
kuantan
my plan is like making 2 flows,
such as that there are 2 outlet,
1 is for the muffler(s-flow,quietter)
then the other 1 is for the butterfly valve.
so when i want to go rempit,i just have to open the valve.

the valve should be at the end of the exhaust system, as its easier to open/close it and the power should be there.

asked bout the butterfly valve.it should be around rm200,but have to confirm it.adn my budget is low right now.

need to buy a new s-flow muffer,around rm300-400,
need new piping,around rm300
n the valve rm200.
wah,such expensive project.

GT_AUTO

Oct 25, 2005
K.Trg
my plan is like making 2 flows,
such as that there are 2 outlet,
1 is for the muffler(s-flow,quietter)
then the other 1 is for the butterfly valve.
so when i want to go rempit,i just have to open the valve.

the valve should be at the end of the exhaust system, as its easier to open/close it and the power should be there.

asked bout the butterfly valve.it should be around rm200,but have to confirm it.adn my budget is low right now.

need to buy a new s-flow muffer,around rm300-400,
need new piping,around rm300
n the valve rm200.
wah,such expensive project.
the valve should be install up front like those n/a drag car for power.
preferably below ur gear shifter.

egb18c

Feb 8, 2006
kuantan
the valve should be install up front like those n/a drag car for power.
preferably below ur gear shifter.
if i install it up front below the gear shifter.so i have to use only one flow of muffler(s-flow or straight).

ok what i'm planning here is to use sort of two kind of mufflers,s-flow muffler and straight(or no muffler).
thats why i have to install it at the back of the exhaust system.
mainly my idea is like the same as the product from china,but only manual.

ken12292703

Drives a shopping cart...
SoMeWhErE
Hi bros,

Here's my little concept~

Example of exhaust

Another view

Closer view

This simple plate is needed, don't have to fabricate the exact one. Similar that can be sticked by magnet. Use alluminium also can, make sure you attach a metal plate for magnet to stick on.

Idle or slow throttle.

Another view of it

This is how it works. The magnet at the bottom sticks the plate at a certain amount of force. When you open throttle more, back pressure increase that overcome the magnet force hence release the plate. For the top, just use a simple door hinge or flange. Magnet? Use those closet magnet or any magnet you can find. Hard disk magnet works as well~ The stronger the magnet, more back pressure needed to open it.

Full throtle.

This concept might look ugly, it's just a concept for cheap and simple noise control for "aahheemmm" that can save you $$$.

I don't have the time to do the real thing yet. These are my drawings, not copyrighted, copy or share with others, not a problem.:burnout:

GT_AUTO

Oct 25, 2005
K.Trg
hahaha....ken....like that also u can think off ar....hehehe.....nice.
the only flaw is the look la to be honest.have u seen AROUSE MIG R exhaust
by sard ken?