Alternator specification

wfc31

Aug 11, 2004
wfc31.fotopic.net
Guys, can anybody tell me are there any different spec for the alternator use by Proton 1.3, 1.5, 1.6 and 1.8 ?

Last few month my Wira 1.5 alternator faulty, and my father get changed it with a 2nd hand 1.3 alternator. Since that day i monitor my voltmeter gauge, voltage before ignition is around 12.2v - 12.5v and when normal driving the voltage was never never raise more than 14.0v even day time drive with minimum electric stuff on.

anyway, what is your normal voltage reading before ignition and normal driving?

Advise are much appreciate, thanks.

EG8

Jan 2, 2004
www.surfer-girl.com
wfc31

i think ur reading is normal then. IF you play ICE extensively, you might be probably need bigger alternator.
if it drop less than 12v i think ur battery gonna kaput soon. After changing your battery and after some times the reading drops less than 12v probably your alternator got problem.Most mechanic can check it out for you then.

wfc31

Aug 11, 2004
wfc31.fotopic.net
i am not a ICE player.
forget to tell that my battery is newly changed last few month also.
for the above stated situation, could it be the battery under charge due to using 1.3 alternator?

badguy

Jun 15, 2004
1.3 and 1.5 alternator is the same one lah!
no need to scare! as long as the alternator in good condition!

if vlotage drop to 12v then how can it charge ur battery??

wfc31

Aug 11, 2004
wfc31.fotopic.net
just to add in here, my dad told me that my wira faulty stock alternator is rated at 12V/70A.
and the temporary replacement alternator into my car is rated at 12V/60A which is left over by someone when ppl upgrade alternator in his workshop.

anyway, thinking to upgrade my alternator too, maybe to 80A or 90A? not really trust recond one as many claims that it won't last long, some only last one or two days.
anybody got experience in change alternator? newly cost how much for 80A or 90A ?

WAJA2003

errr my volt show is normal swith on air cond n runing is 12.5-13.5V lorrr
when at night switch on light it only 11.8-12.7V only..

ezri

Feb 2, 2005
how to check the voltage? any recommended shop?

thx

Wanna ask any Sifu use these product before?
didn't see much people review on this product.
My Myvi abs gonna spoil so I am just surveying abs.

I also had consider Kyb excel G also
Just can't decide which to go for:tearsofjoy: