(AE101)4AGZE WITH (AE111)BT4AG-20V , which one better ?

sahrul_AE111

Mar 24, 2007
hello ,
need some x-plaination for those engine , talking about ae101 whout airflow sensor(m) with 20V BT 5 speed .

1. spare part ( whice one low cost and easy to find)
2. fuel consumption
3. performance
4. which one easy to maintenance

thank ...

pcmoddingmy

Mar 23, 2006
www.pcmoddingmy.com
Some quick facts...

4AGE AE111 5spd
performance = best 1.6 NA engine from Toyota
maintenance = low
fuel consumption = low to normal (VVT)
spare part = plenty, new ones easy to get

4AGZE AE101
performance = better, more torque
maintenance = high
fuel consumption = high (street use) but normal for highway
spare part = rare and expensive (mostly chop shop), driveshaft hard to find

Adeen

Apr 28, 2006
supercharge spare parts agree harder to get...
but what makes it higher to maintain...??
and oso for fuel consumption, i think not that much difference if compared with svt...
since i've driven both going from kl - shah alam for classes...

pcmoddingmy

Mar 23, 2006
www.pcmoddingmy.com
Adeen, supercharger need to maintain the SC oil, right? So, more cost involved when compared to NA. Also, need to check all the hoses on SC to get it to work properly. A leaky hose will cause "semput" effect on SC. NA is very straight forward as it has no fancy gadgets.

SC fuel consumption is as good as SVT? Well... AFAIK, BT has "slightly" better FC than SVT (normal driving lah) coz a lot of SVT users complain high FC. Anyways, the TS only wants to compare BT and 4AGZE 101. So SVT should be out of the topic. Just my 2cents ~

Adeen

Apr 28, 2006
thought svt and BT the same consumption since the 2nd gen svt VVT oso like BT...my bad then...

caleb_5375

Jul 21, 2007
hmmm well i never drive b4 a supercharger but i have myself BT6 speed..
fuel consumption ah ....i cannot tell lah since i tekan kao kao everyday...one day rm15 petrol lah..
if u have some background on car then i think SC won't be a problems since u know a bit...but if u scare ...BT is the better one..since it is NA...
well wat u have to do is change engine oil every 5000km and gear oil when it is the time..no need to think so much,, sumore u can rev kao kao no problems one...did it everyday....
supercharger i sit b4 ..the power got lah..but once ur pipe leak or wat u feel boost drop....many problems lah..oh yeah..the driveshaft also easy rosak and hard to find....

pcmoddingmy

Mar 23, 2006
www.pcmoddingmy.com
thought svt and BT the same consumption since the 2nd gen svt VVT oso like BT...my bad then...
Maybe you're right but I said BT has better FC than SVT based on users feedback. Perhaps the lightened internals on BT helps to improve FC a bit and BT's ECU is improved than the 2nd gen SVT.

Adeen

Apr 28, 2006
then i'd better find myself a BT after this...:D

wfhan

Jan 9, 2004
selangor
sahrul,
no matter which one choose.. i think the maintenance is still relatively low (even tough there might be some differences in both) if compared to other cars that of the same era.

my experience -> maintenance cost and availability of parts (stock parts) for my current BT and my previous 4afe is about the same.

sahrul_AE111

Mar 24, 2007
i already buy ae101 4agze haft cut .... emmm em .....

caleb_5375

Jul 21, 2007
gud....well remember post ur projek at here ya..but mine one i din post also ...lazy lah since no BT NA and lousy one..

sahrul_AE111

Mar 24, 2007
ok... i try post that progress , kopak my money wooooo

vh-101

Dec 14, 2006
Bro Caleb, what u mean no BT ? means u use svt ? what lauya oo.. at least better than my 4AFE.. hehe

Adeen

Apr 28, 2006
how much did u get for the half cut...??and mileage all..??

Remember how Lexus went all Ferrari-esque and announced that the LFA wouldn’t be available for sale in the first two years but would instead be leased to owners on the pretext of preventing speculators from cashing in on the supercar by reselling it immediately and pocketing a handsome profit...