advance timing can improve FC?

g4i8y0t

1,000 RPM
Aug 5, 2010
Kedah
Hi guys,

I'm wondering, can we improve fuel consumption by advancing the ignition timing? :confused: As far as I know, if the timing is advanced, engine power will increase as well until some point, after that knocking (or pinging) will occur. Anybody has done it before?

hachiroku clan

500 RPM
Oct 16, 2008
i thought ignition timing is to optimize the burning of the air/fuel?
unless its cam timing ur talking about.. well im a noob anyway so...... :confused:

shiroitenshi

3,000 RPM
Apr 18, 2006
Yes and no.

Higher timing doesn't directly affect the fuel injectors at all so it's not really a way to save fuel, unless you're talking about how the O2 sensor reacts and adjust fueling trim on closed loop. What it does is increase power, IF the original timing is a bit low, and that's how some people feel it improves FC, as they don't step on the throttle as much.

If you increase more than necessary but not too extremely, you only run the risk of some knocking, but the damage is not apparent until you open up the engine and see pitting around the piston face edges.

I assume you mean increasing ignition is done on a distributor-type engine, since coil on plugs don't have the static timing adjustment, which for some is adjustable, but within the ECU itself, but the ECU is usually right, and it's usually the sensor detecting the engine rotation that's the problem.

One of the problems with saying higher timing improves FC is because it heavily depends on cars. A lot of people don't know that for most EFI cars, the ignition is affected by temperature compensation (either coolant temp or Intake temp depending on systems used), especially distributor equipped ones, and the static timing is usually set lower than it's supposed to be due to it being done with the temperature compensation in effect.