About to become Coupe Owner

Daniel Lee

Apr 21, 2005
The very first thing to look out will be the timing belt(change every 60k km).
Then check out the drive shaft, clutch, shock absorbers, suspension and engine mountings and also engine gasket.
One thing that almost every RD1 Coupe had was aircond problem.

TCSIM

Apr 20, 2007
The very first thing to look out will be the timing belt(change every 60k km).
Then check out the drive shaft, clutch, shock absorbers, suspension and engine mountings and also engine gasket.
One thing that almost every RD1 Coupe had was aircond problem.
Luckily mine is a RD2.. Maybe they found out the issue in RD1.. My air cond damn cold leh...

BlackSamurai

9,000 RPM
Sep 2, 2004
near 7-11
www.hcc.ne1.net
Transfer of ownership completed. Will pay up balance when I collect the car this weekend. Hopefully can post some pics of it.

From the experience's of all the sifus here, what are the key wear and tear things to change for a 10 year old coupe?
like what Daniel mention, aircon.

TCSIM

Apr 20, 2007
Then i pray hard the time don't come so early.. Hahaha..

ericmivec

Apr 24, 2007
my frd told me is YES, rd1 overall same wif rd2, only tuscani is special.

i changed my rd1 auto->manual, steering rack, brake booster, 2 engine mounting, cost me 950 T__T .. but quite cheap also la.

Daniel Lee

Apr 21, 2005
my frd told me is YES, rd1 overall same wif rd2, only tuscani is special.

i changed my rd1 auto->manual, steering rack, brake booster, 2 engine mounting, cost me 950 T__T .. but quite cheap also la.
Very cheap loh!

TCSIM

Apr 20, 2007
Never heard of it doesn't mean don't have mah.. Maybe the time not yet come only.. Coz RD2 newer mah..

Daniel Lee

Apr 21, 2005
But I hope that RD2 aircond system will have the usual aircond problem of RD1 rectified and fixed.
Wouldn't want RD2 owners to suffer the same problem as RD1 owners.
If RD2's aircond is an enhanced version, maybe RD1 owners can consider changing it to the enhanced version. :laugh:

Mocha73

Jun 25, 2007
Hi all,

I finally got my car during the weekend. Got the aircon fixed ASAP. New compressor, coil and condenser....RM2.2k....ouch !!

Need to change the tyres, the current front 2 - 195/50/R15 and the back 2 205/55/R15....tyres goin bald..... planning to change to 205/50/R16

Got some rattling sounds while driving......the previous owner cut the srpings to lower it......will need to change to original springs....

Wil post some pics of it in the current condition....

Any teh tarik gathering soon? Would love to have you sifus look over the car and listen to your comments and advise....

Cheers

TCSIM

Apr 20, 2007
Mocha73,
Welcome to the club!!!! We are going to Genting on 28th July to celebrate 1st Anniversary of the club.. Hyundai Tuscani Club Singapore (Racedge) will be joining us too.. Come join us!!!

Daniel Lee

Apr 21, 2005
Hi all,

I finally got my car during the weekend. Got the aircon fixed ASAP. New compressor, coil and condenser....RM2.2k....ouch !!

Need to change the tyres, the current front 2 - 195/50/R15 and the back 2 205/55/R15....tyres goin bald..... planning to change to 205/50/R16

Got some rattling sounds while driving......the previous owner cut the srpings to lower it......will need to change to original springs....

Wil post some pics of it in the current condition....

Any teh tarik gathering soon? Would love to have you sifus look over the car and listen to your comments and advise....

Cheers
Mocha,
congratulations!
Planing to change to 16" sport rims? :biggrin:
Come join us for the Genting trip.
I did PM you bout the aircond compressor info.
Guess you didn't check your ZTH inbox.

Cow

MOcha, congrats on your purchase!

the rattling round is probably the rear boot latch or something. very common in hatchback/liftback cars i heard..

Mocha73

Jun 25, 2007
Hi Daniel, being absolutely new here, I never noticed the ZTH mailbox ! Now I know bettter ! Btw I am looking for original springs for my car.

Thanks Daniel and TCSIM for the invite. I won't be in town for the Genting trip...furthermore, not sure if my car can make it to Genting..haha

Sending it for full service and inspection at my mechanic this weekend...

Hey Cow....thanks for the info.

TCSIM

Apr 20, 2007
Mocha,
You sure you want original spring?? Not the lowered one?? Wahahahaha..

For original stuff, I always look for Mr. Lee at Subang near Giant.. Call him at 012-2296855 and tell him Sim intro you can alrd.. Don't worry.. I ain't earning any commission..

Where will you be on 28th July? Come on.. Let me call your boss.. hahahah..

Ace

Mar 2, 2005
tcsim,
Mocha's spring are not sport lowered spring, its the original cut out spring which is dangerous for road driving.

14th Tokachi 24 hour races/laces (7/14 15 - 16)<b></b><b></b><b></b><b></b><b></b><b></b><b></b><b></b><b></b><b></b><b></b><b></b>
The Tokachi international speedway (1 lap 5.091km)synoptic customer mobilization: 37,900

Translated Text

DENSO SARD SUPRA HV-R beautifully decorated the synthesis victory which becomes racing hybrid first with the Tokachi 24 hour races/laces of FIA international status. As for the...