A32 30GV - High RPM after Gearbox Change

ctk22

Jan 30, 2006
Hi all...

I have just collected my 30GV from gearbox change today. Noticed high rpm especially during high speeds. Before change, RPM is less than 2500 when cruising at 110~120km/h. But after change, RPM is almost 3000 at 120km/h !! Cant imagine how the fuel consumption will become!!

I'm quite frustrated after spending quite some big sum on the gbox change, and thought of getting some advice and comments form the sifus here while on the other hand highlighting this matter to the mechanic.

1. If, just in case, the mechanic mistakenly replaced the gearbox with a 2000cc gearbox, will the same thing happen?

2. Is there any ways to check whether the gearbox is meant for 3000 or 2000?

3. Could it be the ECU thingy? Should the ECU be recalibrated after gearbox change?

4. Or perhaps it's something to do with the sensors etc?

Anyone has any idea? Please help...

---------- Post added at 12:08 AM ---------- Previous post was at 12:00 AM ----------

By the way, the idling rpm seemed ok (means similar to the previous one), but the engine will revv all the way to 3000rpm before gear shift. I'm pretty sure the same amount of force applied on the pedal, which in the previous gearbox it'll shift around 2500rpm.

ctk22

Jan 30, 2006
seizai... thanx for the info...

any idea how to check the model of gearbox? just in case that mech dunno...

ongteckweng

Jul 15, 2004
most likely u r getting 2.0 or 2.5 g.box
its almost impossible to find 3.0 gbox from halfcut as they usually ship them out to middle east country as the demand n price is higher. thats why u hardly c any 3.0 halfcut locally...

even when i traded in my 3.0 gbox to halfcut shop, they export it....maybe u should ask TC to check them out for u. faster n save u money as well...

weikee

Jul 16, 2006
3L G.box you get 2400 rpm for 110km/h

---------- Post added at 12:02 PM ---------- Previous post was at 11:48 AM ----------

you get superb pickup with the 2L g.box in 3L engine

ctk22

Jan 30, 2006
ongteckweng, does Nissan (TC) search a used gearbox for customer? or they search for new ones? worried about the costs

yes weikee, the pickup is good, maybe cos rpm is too high, and therefore torque is in the better range. but fc suffer like hell

weikee

Jul 16, 2006
nissan TC don't do used parts.

Another alternative is to get the final drive from your old g.box and fix it into your new one. A32 g.box are all identical except the Final drive ratio.

seizai

Jul 27, 2005
ongteckweng, does Nissan (TC) search a used gearbox for customer? or they search for new ones? worried about the costs

yes weikee, the pickup is good, maybe cos rpm is too high, and therefore torque is in the better range. but fc suffer like hell
try ask where can buy rather than buy from them :biggrin:

ctk22

Jan 30, 2006
nissan TC don't do used parts.

Another alternative is to get the final drive from your old g.box and fix it into your new one. A32 g.box are all identical except the Final drive ratio.
Hmm.... never thought of this possibility b4...
Will try to ask the mech see can do or not

---------- Post added at 03:03 PM ---------- Previous post was at 02:59 PM ----------

Just came from from mech. apparently, the 2000 gbox wont be a "plug and play" in 3000 engine. Change of "shaft" is required, as told by the chop shop guy. So the chances of fitting the wrong gbox is not there...

as suggested by weikee, i'm seriously considering swapping the final drive with the old one. Anyone tried this b4? is it just like "plug and play" and that's all?

Another alternative offered by the mech is to try out another gbox, which is from the local A32. The one fitted on my car currently is the imported one, may be it's a bit different from our Msia ones.

Have to spend more money on the labour... sigh....

seizai

Jul 27, 2005
Hmm.... never thought of this possibility b4...
Will try to ask the mech see can do or not

---------- Post added at 03:03 PM ---------- Previous post was at 02:59 PM ----------

Just came from from mech. apparently, the 2000 gbox wont be a "plug and play" in 3000 engine. Change of "shaft" is required, as told by the chop shop guy. So the chances of fitting the wrong gbox is not there...

as suggested by weikee, i'm seriously considering swapping the final drive with the old one. Anyone tried this b4? is it just like "plug and play" and that's all?

Another alternative offered by the mech is to try out another gbox, which is from the local A32. The one fitted on my car currently is the imported one, may be it's a bit different from our Msia ones.

Have to spend more money on the labour... sigh....
a32 also have big small shalf?? :confused:

weikee

Jul 16, 2006
yes, there is a difference in shaft for local 2L and 3L.

i wonder did the g.box OD is working? better get the local g.box save the hassle. Japan maybe is a 2.5L box

dream.tent

Apr 22, 2005
www.cardomain.com
yes, there is a difference in shaft for local 2L and 3L.

i wonder did the g.box OD is working? better get the local g.box save the hassle. Japan maybe is a 2.5L box
What i did was changing only the clutch plates....Using the 3.0L spare kits.
In Total i spend like 3.3k including the gear oil, parts and workmanship.
Did it in Setapak.

Works like original...Happy now.

weikee

Jul 16, 2006
dream.tent,

You got the repair kit from the setapak workshop or direct from Spare parts shop?

dream.tent

Apr 22, 2005
www.cardomain.com
dream.tent,

You got the repair kit from the setapak workshop or direct from Spare parts shop?
The shop is a gearbox specialist and fix all range of Japanese cars and Contis too.
I left the car with them for 3 days.

They replace all the internal clutch plates and replace with new ones. (Came in Nissan Ori Package)

---------- Post added at 11:40 PM ---------- Previous post was at 11:09 PM ----------

Some photo...

after this persona wagon then persona softtop then persona [FONT=verdana,geneva,lucida,&quot][FONT=verdana,geneva,lucida,&quot]coupe[/FONT][/FONT]2 door then persona special edition then persona R3 the persona GTi then persona limited edition bla bla bla...
bwahahah

wasnt the black one with 2-tone interior the special edition?

i hope they rectified the un-ergonomic...