A very simple, zero-cost auto transmission modification.

papagoines

Orang Tua
Feb 6, 2006
Rawang/Selangor
Just wanna share

Tweaking the Shift: A very simple, zero-cost auto transmission modification.

I managed to do it on my car, Kancil 850EZi DOHC EFI last weekend...but i do it the wrong way around so my car eager to upshift instead of holding on the the revs...:retarded:

but at least the theory worked :X-:

hope u guys can apply it too...provided ur auto trans are using cables to know the throttle position like my car...

If it done correctly it will...

* The downshifts will occur more readily.
* At part-throttle the individual gears will be held to higher rpm.
* The shifts may be made more crisply.

Will update by next weekend....

DLegend

Official Contributor
Feb 16, 2004
jayjaynyc.blogspot.com
why don't you downshift the gears yourself?

papagoines

Orang Tua
Feb 6, 2006
Rawang/Selangor
why don't you downshift the gears yourself?
I do self shift the gears from time to time...its just that, would it be wonderful for the gears to change itself...its an auto ma....:X-:

*UPDATE*
I just tweak it back last night....

1. previously the trans change to 2nd gear at 3000rpm...now it change at 4000rpm
  2. Usually when I floor the pedal, the trans take its time to downshift, the time it took to downshift is faster

HKS-GT2835R

Apr 25, 2004
kelate
so we tighten/loosen/adjust what here?

the throttle cable?

papagoines

Orang Tua
Feb 6, 2006
Rawang/Selangor
so we tighten/loosen/adjust what here?

the throttle cable?
if you read carefully the article that i posted earlier....u'll see at the throttle body there are to cables connected to the throttle itself...one linked to the throttle pedal and the other linked to the auto box itself... just tightened the cable linked to the gb la

as i've said earlier...dis is for non electronic controlled auto gb only maa :X-:

HKS-GT2835R

Apr 25, 2004
kelate
if you read carefully the article that i posted earlier....u'll see at the throttle body there are to cables connected to the throttle itself...one linked to the throttle pedal and the other linked to the auto box itself... just tightened the cable linked to the gb la

as i've said earlier...dis is for non electronic controlled auto gb only maa :X-:
ah tq.
i'll see² in the enginebay. :secret:

juman

Nov 4, 2004
hei man . do you mind to include some pictures of your enjine while doing the tweaks ? thanks ! cauese really need some pictorial to make sure I am in the correct path :) thanks again

My friend told me remove Catalytic will gain 10hp.

when i go check with workshop, they said my car is CVT, remove Catalytic will made worst to
low end due to no back pressure.

Pls advise me
1) is remove Catalytic gain horsepower?
2) if Catalytic will made worst to low end but improve high end?

because i need to try to find way to improve low and mid end only