4G92 mivec & 4G93 1.8 different

aja

Dec 3, 2003
g88 said:
Hmmm...how to compare a cam profiled NA with non cam profiled NA ?? ....not fair :p
Basically this thread is a unfair comparison (form our normal outstanding la).

The other point is basically to show that modding the CA4A vs. CJ4A..which for me if any Mivec-ian want to layan Vtec etc..they should upgrade to CJ4A instead of CA4A..of course with some limitations. How to overcome such limitation, donno also except for upgrading lah.

In my justifications among Mivec & Vtec or etc, I'm not biased at all. Whatever I wrote here is basically from my previous experiences owning and modding those engines.

aja

Dec 3, 2003
malyadayada said:
the only 4G series engine with the capacity of 2.0 litre is 4G94.....
some of u know charlie call him 4 details on 4G94.....
4G94 blocks come from Galant Viento EA7A (2 WD) or EC7A (4WD)..both with GDi & non-GDI engine. Mitsubishi torque figure quoted was around 190Nm.

It's almost impossible to find the hcut in M'sia. Most of the hcut came was VRS 6A13 2.5cc TT 280hp.

Other options is to use the Pajero block 2.0cc if any or 4G63 NA Eterna/VR4 body.

softmuffin

Dec 21, 2004
guys you all so into technical ady

direct to point which is more powerful 4G92 MIvec or 4G93

malyadayada

Oct 28, 2004
4G6 series n 4G9 series engine have different water jacket.....
ask charlie 1st bout 4G94 he will qoute u.....

softmuffin.....which one powerful very subjective unless a little experiment is done :P

softmuffin

Dec 21, 2004
do u think is possible to bore 4G92 1.6 non mivec block to 1.7
bigger cc from 1597 to 1760cc

lekalo

Mar 4, 2004
TTDI
malyadayada said:
the only 4G series engine with the capacity of 2.0 litre is 4G94.....
some of u know charlie call him 4 details on 4G94.....
HUH? Do you mean to say "the only 4G9 series" or "4G with overall reference"? If 4G, then we have the 4G63 with a 2 litre displacement don't we?
-just a silly question-

deacon

Senior master debater
May 5, 2005
He means the only 4g series engine that can use the Mivec 1.6 heads as a frankenstein 2.0L project is the 4g94. Quite a rare engine to find here. I thought about that before embarking on my Mivec 1.8 frankenstein.

malyadayada

Oct 28, 2004
thank you deacon....
yup my bad lekalo did miss out the '4G9 series' ...sorie.....
softmuffin....yes you can bore the engine you can ask the spare part shop for a bigger piston....but at the end of the day reliability counts....

spyderslr

Mar 1, 2004
u can rebore, but i doubt it'll reach 1760cc......at max oso 1680cc.....

lekalo

Mar 4, 2004
TTDI
aaaa. so des neee... the marvels of the know-how in combining stuff. marvellous stuff, guys! But actually got ppl berani to do this ah? Maybe workshops who sponsor track cars I guess..

softmuffin

Dec 21, 2004
i think 1680cc sound sweet ady from 1570 to 1680

deacon

Senior master debater
May 5, 2005
frankensteining was made popular by honda oddly. almost all b series engines can be swapped for what i know. b20 with a b18c head painfully fast.

lekalo

Mar 4, 2004
TTDI
Yeah... damn. with a B20B, not many modded NAs can touch them. I confirm already ter-kencing-kencing.
Cept maybe the V8 onwards of a Ferrari? hahaha!

deacon

Senior master debater
May 5, 2005
A B20B Integra Type R was featured in Import Tuner quite some time back, it producing around 260bhp, f**king fast. But any modded M3 could take it down or any modded 6 cylinder and of course a turbo inline 4. :P

lekalo

Mar 4, 2004
TTDI
Mechanics or people with the necessary know how can also take it down! OR apart, for that matter.. hehehe..
But I've got HUGE respect for VTECs... small cc wonder engine! And the when the cam switches.. HUAH... mechanical magic, man!

softmuffin

Dec 21, 2004
guys do you know where this thermostat thingg is install in satria car
engine 4G92P

syimirmazlan

Apr 25, 2012
Your information is still incorrect.

Mitsu tested their 4g92 Mivec it was tested with race gas. IN REALITY it does 135 at the wheel which works out to 155bhp at the crank.

Proton's 4g93 GTI engine (Which i own) does not give out 144 stock. At best 138 at the crank. Some dyno days will show you the real performance of these cars. Use 115% to calculate back the difference you will be surprised.

Manufacturer claims vary. A stock Mivec i am almost sure will not produce what Mitsu says.

When measuring at the wheels there is almost a 15% drivetrain loss.
sorry to say, but u r so wrong...we does not simply multiply 115% for a dyno result, just simply to translate to crank power...
each dyno have diff load, I've never heard of any dyno machine that has 15% load...from what I knew, dynojet has near than 25% load while dynodynamics load is near to 30%...
a stock mivec will sure give 135 at the wheels and if to calculate on dynojet load of 25% the result is near to 170ps...and with dynodynamics is about a tad bit more than 175hp...

Volkswagen will be continuing their contention in the Nurburgring 24 Hours Endurance Race with an all-new platform, a 440hp, 540Nm Golf, dubbed the Golf24. The newly developed all-out racer is powered by the 2.5-liter turbocharged five-cylinder lump borrowed from sister company’s Audi TT-RS and RS3 models.

A little...