2:28:249 FD2R Vbox video by Kazama Autoworks at the Time To Attack 3

Ok congratulations to harry...
The rest of you bring something light (say 1 ton) and more than 220 bhp then maybe you stand a chance.
In the mean time stay clear of Type R's.

I'm still wondering what are your basis to judge a driver who tops the list......perplexed....Button is a relaxed kind of driver as opposed to Kimi, i dont see anyone labeling Jensen as a 'poor' driver.

style is one thing
line is one thing
driver like neutral or slightly understeer or slightly oversteer is one thing

but BASIC is having slow turn under 80km/h at end of long straight of top speed 210 or more km/h. means have to brake HARD, not half half brake. sepang got t1 t15 all must brake very hard
oso have t4 t9 must brake hard

you compare kimi to button braking end of long straight during qualify for sure they hit 95 - 100% braking, not just around 75%. else qualify very bad.

if car have manual gear box heel toe must be properly done else clutch gearbox driveshaft will damage

i think there may be some problems with the car or some parts, or it isn't set up for him to drive all-out. i think he is just driving conservatively n preserving the car

imho, whatever your driving style is... lap time and end results matters the most.
Maybe you can have the most stylish racing gear, heel n toe, left foot braking, downshifting e.t.c ... but still... end result is ultimate. congratulations to the winner!

bro laptimer, i think you should register for TTA4... Since your technical knowledge exceeds the TTA3 winner. It is time to prove to the world that you are better and shut our mouth tight :)

What I know is, despite of the half arse style of driving, Ah Lai managed to get the FTD, which is kind of scary if he did go all out. I'm pretty sure that Ah Lai did not push the car all out, maybe due to factors such as worn out brake pads or what, just to preserve the car, or maybe a strategy for the final invitational only round to reduce expectations from the competitors, it's a competition after all.

To some of us, the TTA is an opportunity for us to measure our limits, but to some season drivers or sponsors, it's a serious competition to boost their name. Ah Lai was virtually unknown to some track day enthusiasts, but this TTA has boosted his name by how much?

I don't think braking too hard is a good thing in a hot lap. As we all know the smoother n prettier line u go , thats the recipe u can get for the best lap time. Its unpredictable for track machines if u're going too hard braking; it might lock wheels n kill the time.

As said with slicks he can push further, but i'd been on SIC with a DC5 & unfortunately crash tyre barrier ...... its not easy as u can think of like playing on PS GT4 or GT5. The track is not really flat but its slight degree tilted. Very important to manage the way the machine transits its weight to left to right or vice versa. Easy to comment but not easy to drive !!

Yes, it really needs the skill and judgement from the driver to get the best lap time ...

What is the car's timing for 0-100kmph ?

Yes, it really needs the skill and judgement from the driver to get the best lap time ...

What is the car's timing for 0-100kmph ?

should be around 5.x second to 100 base on his top speed on the long straight... usually 4.x second cars can reach around 210kmh on the long straight, 3.x second cars like GTR can reach 220-230kmh. but it all depend on the exit speed on T15 too so this is just an estimate...

talking is not help to proof anything. Need a proof? Take action pls...

I personally respect the driver, his style of driving is clean and straight to the point, no need hanky panky or fancy skill.

Cheers!!! :)

imho, whatever your driving style is... lap time and end results matters the most.
Maybe you can have the most stylish racing gear, heel n toe, left foot braking, downshifting e.t.c ... but still... end result is ultimate. congratulations to the winner!

wat you and many many other pple here forgets is that the result in TTA is both car and driver. you and others do not know how good the car is

not say this race is like those one make race
all drive same model of car
all stock engine rule all same
all total weight is same
the tyre all provide on race day all the same no chance to do farni thing to tyre (not say all do but maybe some can do easily if they want)

you try enter one make race with 30 good drivers, and you try like this and brake at 75% with bad downshifts and see how long you last or see how the result is like. you will cry. maybe msia dun have this kind of race yet you go australia try or japan or us or europe

bro laptimer, i think you should register for TTA4... Since your technical knowledge exceeds the TTA3 winner. It is time to prove to the world that you are better and shut our mouth tight :)

TTA4 onli can enter if enter TTA 1 2 or 3. dis year i never enter but maybe 2011 i enter. not my car but i drive it! :burnout:

---------- Post added at 02:50 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 02:40 PM ----------

not say i dun respec ah lai
for sure i do respec him alot
he oso know me

he is good but can be better for sure
win drag win time attack all is good
but win touring or gt or formula is even better and not the any kind one but high kind like btcc supercarv8 gt3 gt2 f3 those kind

good driver is good but there is always better and no driver is too good not to learn anything abt how to improve! dun be blinded

If 75% braking on a 450hp...i dont see any problem in that. He has the skills and he deserves the accolades. If you 'think' you can do better, prove it...till then your waterbucket full of holes.

aiyoh charles ah charles you never do enough racing before i think
you dunno the effect of gearing of tyre of weight of alignment
you still too focus on power alone

oso you dunno how powerful those honda engine can be still thinking less than 250hp? you farni lah you

Well, at least i practice the courtesy of not labeling people a 'poor' driver winning the TTA with a lot more poor drivers behind him.
BTW i thought those square K20 only make 120hp on wheel? You must be a god to be able to extract that much from them...if i have money i sure will ask you to do up my car indeed.....

Guys,

IMO the FD2R gearing pretty standard, judging at how he shifted the gears vs max speed at top.
The max speed he clocked I guess would only max say 210kmh before completing the T15. Stock FD2R 5th gear topped at 235kmh.

I think the correct balance of speed and the wise track line skills that help a lot in clocking the 2.28.
We noted no hard or rush driving style also. It's was a full-focus driving style. Minimal mistake. Relax and steady.

Other than that, looking at the speedometer I don't see that the FD2R really that fast during this time attack session. It's just normal typical track driving elsewhere.

The only things that wonder me was how come R35 clocked way above 2.28?
Driver skill maybe? Imaged if the R35 driver do have this combination of balance of speed and the wise track line skills. Below 2.28 definitely. !

Aiya.. poor driving la... 75% braking la...effect of alignment la poor down shift la..whatsoever la..

I believe most people here read a lot and have high knowledge of racing... but will you be able to practically race on the track and use your hi tech knowledges and break the 2:28 lap time?

This is where i'll due my credit to the Kazama fd2r driver...

For all who can talk like he's a god here, well go spend your money, your knowledge and spend everything that make you a keyboard warrior here and use it on the track.

Please post your video whenever you break the 2:28 time. I am sure many people would love to see you breaking the record.. Hopefully not in another 5 years...

No offense!!! Cheers!!

Ermmmm....jealousy I sense....

Laptimer, would love to see your video of you driving.