Satria Neo CPS problem

todacam

Jul 27, 2010
hi guys.. I'm doing 7.3l/100km (auto) quite abit of highways from home to workplace.
I was on the highway so i tried out the top speed. The last gear ratio pushes me to 160kmh ... if press slowlyyyyy then can go more...

lordredza

Sep 12, 2010
Hey guys, long time no post! How was the gathering? Please post some pics if available.

I came back from the 1k servicing earlier at Sek 13. Overall, good experience. Staff was friendly, place was comfortable (walking distance to Jaya One). Some of the problems were rectified, some would be done tmrow.

No more thudding noise from me; apparently most of the screws and joints at the undercarriage of the car was not tightened properly; the mech even asked me where i got the car (told him COE) and he wondered aloud why no PDI was done.

Wind noise he heard it, but could not identify the source. So he is taking out the whole front windscreen tmrow and resealing it. Also for the engine jerking, he noticed it too while test driving. Did some ECU software thingy; but no go. He also asked me to come back tmrow to sort this out (he wants to check spark plugs etc)

Overall, i am pretty happy with the service. Went in at about 9am, all done about 230pm. Cheap too. About RM120. Anyone went to COE recently for service? Experience?

So on the way back, i decided to finally tekan the car. When the CPS hits, u can heard some clicking noise, and yes, it gets a second wind. Quite interesting, but at 150kmh, the car was soooo loud and everything screaming at you so for me, it won't be comfortable driving at that speed for a long time. Why on earth did Proton set the CPS to kick in at 4300/4400 rpm?? Think will stick to just enjoying the handling and cruise on the highways.

Sorry for being so long winded. Just thought of putting up my thoughts. Rims next! 15inch would look too small in my opinion, making the wheels swallowed by the wheel arches. I think 17 inch would be just nice.
bro mine also have the same problem..the wind noise from front of my car...so did you get it solve?
the SC in petaling jaya? sec 13?

EvolutionZ

Aug 3, 2007
maybe i am not using the neo everyday, there is no jerking at all - mine is an auto and its a used unit with mileage 33000km.

yitjin

Jul 12, 2010
Lordreza,

Unfortunately, wind noise is still there (despite taking and resealing the front windscreen) and engine jerking too. Will be leaving my car there tmrow and collect Monday; hopefully they can fix it. Yup at Seksyen 13. Cross fingers for a solution by next week!

As for fuel consumption, yea, if you blast down the highways, the CPS really sips fuel with the revs at 3 to 4k rpm. Agree with chris; this car is no fun blasting at top speed down the highways. Its too loud, engine is screaming and you just can't enjoy the ride. More fun driving around back roads and town where you can enjoy more of the zippiness and handling. My computer reads 6.9litres/100km now. I am not exactly easy on the pedal. Its a manual btw.

chris1

Jun 26, 2010
I have a similar exprience with Yitjin on the thudding/clanking sound from the undercarriage, the noise just got worse & worse like a part of the suspension or lower arm was loose. I didn't bother to take it to PE, this morning I took it to a race tuner I know in Sunway and they basically tightened all the nuts, screws & bolts at the suspension & lower arm joints.....noise all gone now!!! Same question was asked, what the hell are the people at Proton factory doing when they assembled the car??? Maybe they are employing 90 year old grannies or 10 year olds in the Proton factory who are only able to apply half torque strength when tightening the screws. Now the car is almost perfect with the exception of all the rattling in the dashboards. Sent the car also for alignment, all the camber, toe-in/outs all out.

So for all those new CPS owners or those who are aspiring to be Neo CPS owners I would like to advise that you are buying a nice car, but do expect to spend some time fixing little things to make it "new" :bawling:, and don't worry about spending hours stuck at Proton Edar COE's & all that....just ask around, network, get to know some good car tuning places, alignment specialists etc. and you can get your car problems fixed much faster and more effectively, just that you may need to pay a little.

lordredza

Sep 12, 2010
Lordreza,

Unfortunately, wind noise is still there (despite taking and resealing the front windscreen) and engine jerking too. Will be leaving my car there tmrow and collect Monday; hopefully they can fix it. Yup at Seksyen 13. Cross fingers for a solution by next week!

As for fuel consumption, yea, if you blast down the highways, the CPS really sips fuel with the revs at 3 to 4k rpm. Agree with chris; this car is no fun blasting at top speed down the highways. Its too loud, engine is screaming and you just can't enjoy the ride. More fun driving around back roads and town where you can enjoy more of the zippiness and handling. My computer reads 6.9litres/100km now. I am not exactly easy on the pedal. Its a manual btw.

the wind noise..is very annoying la...when i reach...higher speed...it make more noise...but i noticed sometime when it is rain..or when i wash my car..then drove it..the noise is gone! maybe the "lubang" or what so ever it call been block by the water or something..

bro feel free to let me know if your car is fix...want to send my car if it`s ok..

snowwhite neo

Jun 22, 2010
perak
i just made alignment and i was very shocked when that man said my car was badly miss-aligned.I saw at the screen and all 4 wheels was in red indicator.What the fun..After alignment i found that my steering was a little bit responsive compare than before. That man also said that at rear arm , bolt and nut was error assemble. THE BEST OR NOTHING AT ALL

Sep 2, 2010
hi all... i goin to get my new white Neo cps end of this month..n been following this thread from page 30...previously owned satria gti...
juz want to share wif u all... i've read 1 thread from ZTH also...theres a fellow with a jerking problem already solved by changing the coil n cabel plug assembley...(u can change them separately from the coil, but as the cabel nvr change it individualy. recommended change the whole set of 4)..coz i also experienced it with my GTi b4....
here's the link http://www.zerotohundred.com/newforums/proton/328061-neo-cps-gear-2-and-3-jerk.html
N got it change in COE...
n anyone who taking actions/responses after reading this...plz provide some updates
thanks in advance...cheers

n actually i was working with proton edar from 2005-2008. Coorporate sales division in COE...n got alot of network in all klang valley Proton SC too...

sgarrista

Jul 19, 2010
BTU/970
well.... my average change depend on how i drive, once showed 11.4L/100km and did show 6.5L/100km, manual...

but i wanna ask u guys.... i try to speed my car above 140kmh, but when it reach 140, my car seem to have a cut off, any comment, dun ask me to go sc.... no use, last time i did ask them to check my brake pad as i suspect sumthin wrong either its dirty or need to change coz i heard sum noise when i drive, but they didnt even check it... they said the noise come from my back seat, at last i go to outside workshop and get my pad replaced there

artworkz

Jul 3, 2008
update of defects.

I have a major problem with my left and right track measurements.

my left wheel base is shorter than my right wheel base measurement. it pulls the vehicle to the left if driven without constant re-adjustment.

at first i thought it's just an alignment issue and i did highlight to the SC personal on my first service that i would like to do my alignment on a later visit.

i didnt have the time to go back to COE and i went to a tyre shop wanting to do my alignment. the tyre shop did a roving test, drove back in. they measured the length of the rim from front to back of left and right side using measurement tape. they found out that is was the difference in the measurement. they returned me the car without touching it and asked me to send it back and do a claim cause this is a major problem. as of today, i cant be driving it in because it's the raya holidays.

and 2nd, 3rd & 4th problem are, my bonnet, left door, boot lid is all mis-aligned. :(

5th. my left door trim is not properly installed and some how it has the mind of its own to come out occasionally. and i dont know how to put it back in properly other than giving it a push to "clip" it back.

hopefully, after the raya holidays they would be free to do up my car.

to all the experienced guys in here, mind if i ask, is there other places to do warranty claims faster than COE? i read from here that sec.13 is good as well. mind to tell me the where abouts of sec.13 PJ's proton service center? thanks in advance.
my 2001 satria chasis welding also not 100% accurate, the length btw right n left is diff!! but jus few cm.

chris1

Jun 26, 2010
hi all... i goin to get my new white Neo cps end of this month..n been following this thread from page 30...previously owned satria gti...
juz want to share wif u all... i've read 1 thread from ZTH also...theres a fellow with a jerking problem already solved by changing the coil n cabel plug assembley...(u can change them separately from the coil, but as the cabel nvr change it individualy. recommended change the whole set of 4)..coz i also experienced it with my GTi b4....
here's the link http://www.zerotohundred.com/newforums/proton/328061-neo-cps-gear-2-and-3-jerk.html
N got it change in COE...
n anyone who taking actions/responses after reading this...plz provide some updates
thanks in advance...cheers

n actually i was working with proton edar from 2005-2008. Coorporate sales division in COE...n got alot of network in all klang valley Proton SC too...

Hi Ska Kay,

Congrats on your CPS, coming end Sept eh? Bet you are quite apprehensive about what you're gonna get....is it gonna jerk or not...will there be rattles in the dashboard....are the undercarriage screws tightened etc etc. Its like playing the lottery man, you just donno what you're gonna get. But its a nice car after you fix the problems & mod it a little. So you were at PE before? How is it working there man? Any comments about the PDI practices?

jason_mufc

Jul 6, 2005
Sungai Buloh
Guys does anyone here know the original camber setting on our cars? Front and rear. I need to know urgently la. Cheers!!!

---------- Post added at 06:41 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 06:33 PM ----------

the wind noise..is very annoying la...when i reach...higher speed...it make more noise...but i noticed sometime when it is rain..or when i wash my car..then drove it..the noise is gone! maybe the "lubang" or what so ever it call been block by the water or something..

bro feel free to let me know if your car is fix...want to send my car if it`s ok..
Guys I had the exact same problem!!! Try this for a solution. The rubber strip ON THE BONNET covering the air intake is the culprit. Try removing it. My windscreen was removed TWICE and resealed TWICE but didn't solve the problem. BAH!!!! Then they found out it's that bloody rubber strip!!! WTF!!!

lordredza

Sep 12, 2010
Guys does anyone here know the original camber setting on our cars? Front and rear. I need to know urgently la. Cheers!!!

---------- Post added at 06:41 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 06:33 PM ----------

Guys I had the exact same problem!!! Try this for a solution. The rubber strip ON THE BONNET covering the air intake is the culprit. Try removing it. My windscreen was removed TWICE and resealed TWICE but didn't solve the problem. BAH!!!! Then they found out it's that bloody rubber strip!!! WTF!!!

which one ya?...you mean the rubber strip....on the front?...when close the bonnet...the rubber strip block the air intake?..that one ka?

i think if i go to COE...they will removed my windscreen also...hehe

yitjin

Jul 12, 2010
Jason,

Good advice! I took off the strip, and it seems to have solved the wind noise issue. Couldn't really test it as it was raining; will see how it goes over the next few days. WTF indeed!! Lordredza, its a rubber strip right underneath the bonnet, just above the air intake. U cant miss it; its on the edge of the bonnet.

For the rest, my car was in the Seksyen 13 workshop since Tuesday night, and just collected my car. One of the blades of the radiator fan broke, and the broken blade damaged my radiator. Thus i was driving on Tuesday night, and my engine temperature suddenly shot up near the red zone. So had to stop the car, and called proton i-care. Had a laugh when the operator told me to check my radiator water level. I told him its a new car (less than 2 months old) but he said 'ya, but you have to check your water level every 2 days'. I was going WTF?!? every 2 days open the bonnet to check the water ka?? Towed to proton eventually.

The foreman at proton showed me the broken fan and radiator today when i collected the car. I asked him what kind of %@$@ quality Proton has that a fan blade can come off. And he rightly pointed out 'itu nasib'. The journey continues!

Oh, for the engine jerking, they had to order something. Engine throttle something, i believe? Part should come in a week or two.

Justin Davy Lee

From Facebook
Aug 26, 2010
Hmm...Seems the jerking problem still there for even new cars..Same problem but a lot of causes?? Been reading since the first page, due to ignition coil, ECU, throttle body and so on..Hmmm..But nice to share with everyone so we will have a rough idea..Still waiting for my ride..Its been a month since I booked it..

azrano

Sep 26, 2010
hi i just joined this forum.. i got my cps on 20th september.. so far there are no problems with the car.. only that rubber door stopper is only at the passenger side..so i go back to the branch and they give me 2 rubber door stopper..heheeh.. taken from saga blm rear side..

enjoy to forum with u guys..

cheers.

p/s ; mine is auto.. still havent reached 1000 km yet.. stil havent got the first service..

i got my cps throught proton edar branch setapak.. galleria sales gallery

Justin Davy Lee

From Facebook
Aug 26, 2010
hi i just joined this forum.. i got my cps on 20th september.. so far there are no problems with the car.. only that rubber door stopper is only at the passenger side..so i go back to the branch and they give me 2 rubber door stopper..heheeh.. taken from saga blm rear side..

enjoy to forum with u guys..

cheers.

p/s ; mine is auto.. still havent reached 1000 km yet.. stil havent got the first service..

i got my cps throught proton edar branch setapak.. galleria sales gallery
How long was the wait before you got your ride?? I'm still waiting for mine to come..Its been 5 weeks since i made the booking

jason_mufc

Jul 6, 2005
Sungai Buloh
which one ya?...you mean the rubber strip....on the front?...when close the bonnet...the rubber strip block the air intake?..that one ka?

i think if i go to COE...they will removed my windscreen also...hehe
Yeah that one bro! The one covering the air intake! Haha Yitjin do you know I had so much grief with the damn rubber strip. They replaced it with another and there's no more sound. Then told me mine was the only case WTF!!!! Now I hear so many of you having the same prob, it's crazy! Btw yitjin better find another rubber strip to cover cos water will go in. I've tested spraying water at the air intake without the strip and water goes in so when it rains, be careful. If you wanna take the strip out permanently, better change air intake to open pod or sth.... but open pod has it's own problems. I ran thru a puddle in my previous car before and the water hit my pod and masuk air..... engine died. So now, I'd rather just buy a drop in, at least I know I can safely tread puddles of water, which is quite a regular occurence here in our country.

Wow I'm surprised so many of you have jerking problems, but mine doesn't seem to have it. I'm generally happy with my car now, cos I've gone past the 'my car is new' feeling haha. Good luck to you new owners and future owners! I'll continue reading and will try to help when I can haha

A lot of speculation surrounded the new SL recently, so much so that I refused to write about it till something was confirmed. Didn’t want to portray ourselves as automotive paparazzi. So here is something that has been confirmed: Mercedes has made the SL uglier and slower, though power outputs are standard Benz ratings, that means insanely high torque outputs and modest horsepower, well, by today’s...