converting front wheel drive to rear wheel drive

richardtan

Mar 23, 2009
Hello SiFus,

I am wondering how much effort would be required to convert a front-engine, front-wheel-drive car to become a rear-wheel-drive, front-engine car?

I suppose the transmission need to turn the rear wheels instead of the front's. Does this mean swapping the wheel mechanism from front to rear will solve the problem?

Also, I suppose there will be some kind of mechanical power loss in the process?

Nice day!

regards
Richard
:driver:

D7zul

Feb 24, 2011
FWD to RWD is a lot of hassle.. unless u have a car factory like proton, toyota, etc..

i think the best way to do this is to convert that FWD to AWD (all wheel drive).. it's easier..

how to do it? DanzEterna has answered..

* ni mesti nak drift ni.. kan?

richardtan

Mar 23, 2009
Hi SiFus,

to convert to RWD front-engine is more hassle than to convert to 4WD. Wow.

Thanks for the advise.

I think its not such a good idea afterall.

Yup, will consider a 2nd hand rwd instead. 4WD? nah, I think not required for city roads.

Cheers, buddies!

:)

Hi everybody.

i just change the steering wheel to a sporty one (12 inch size) yesterday.

the result, feel heavy when turning....like no power steering lah.....

what happen actually? the steering wheel is light, is this cause the heaviness?

what can i do to solve these beside changing back to stock steering?

One more thing, need to put grease or not on the bosskit?