Beams NA engine able to mod up to 200HP on wheel NA?

Sil80-13

Mar 15, 2009

Just wondering anyone here try before to upgrade the Beams engine 6 speed to 200HP on wheel without turbocharge by remaining NA spec?

Like upgrading cams & etc....Able to achieve 200HP on wheel with 20 torque?

G221

Jan 15, 2004
sure can get 200whp...but need to spend quite a lot...
even easier to get 20kg-m of torque with less budget.

Sil80-13

Mar 15, 2009
sure can get 200whp...but need to spend quite a lot...
even easier to get 20kg-m of torque with less budget.
Ic. Anyone done this before? Can share the recipe? :biggrin:

RM15k is enough to mod up to 200hp on wheel? Can this be done without putting up larger piston?

D7zul

Feb 24, 2011
Ic. Anyone done this before? Can share the recipe? :biggrin:

RM15k is enough to mod up to 200hp on wheel? Can this be done without putting up larger piston?

without oversize piston???

for 200hp on wheels i think u need to oversize everything..

paging Mr. 2 Old 2 Rusty.. he's the expert for Beams..

(his car has equal power with a FD2R while testing on a running drag race) :listen:

:biggrin:

Sil80-13

Mar 15, 2009
without oversize piston???

for 200hp on wheels i think u need to oversize everything..

paging Mr. 2 Old 2 Rusty.. he's the expert for Beams..

(his car won a running drag race with a FD2R) :listen:

:biggrin:
Wow...Need to oversize everything? If we do not oversize the piston but only upgrade to high comp piston, we can't reach 200hp on wheel. How about the reliability when we oversize piston? As this car is a daily drive car. That's why not planning to oversize the piston...

Maybe Mr. 2 Old 2 Rusty can enlight me...:biggrin:

G221

Jan 15, 2004
errr...

whp varies depending on the healthiness of the engine.

roughly...for an average 3S-GE to get 19-20kg-m of torque + additional whp,

2k++ for a used Apexi Power FC ecu,
1k++ for a used HKS Racing header or any brand
less than 1k for a used HKS Hi-Power Muffler or any brand
few hundreds for an open pod air filter system
few hundreds for a brand new large capacity fuel pump
few hundreds for a brand new adjustable fuel regulator pressure (any brand)
& few other mods...
with RM5-6k can give u approx. 160-185++whp (approx.), again depending on the engine's healthiness.

for sure can get 200++whp & 20++ kg-m torque with cams, pulleys, ported n polished head, balanced engine, etc.

D7zul

Feb 24, 2011
i think u need to start with the basic 1st..

Cold Air Intake
u need a bigger intake.. the intake must face forward.. like this..

Header
Bigger exhaust manifold.. better power at high rpm.. less power at lower rpm..

Exhaust
Not too big.. mayb 2.75 inch.. and since u said it's for daily driving u'll need this..

Extra
Carbon fiber hood, bonet, bumper, etc..
it won't help the hp.. but it sure help ur 0-100km/h time :biggrin:

do this 1st.. later we talk again :wink:

bLACKjAC

Aug 11, 2007
If i were u, i will go for BOT, with 15K to spend. (may be 40 to 50hp extra):biggrin:

green

Apr 12, 2005
with 15k to spend must as well go 1j lo....more power than the 3S bot or 200whp 3S mah...

Adrenaline_Rush

May 24, 2005
Wow...Need to oversize everything? If we do not oversize the piston but only upgrade to high comp piston, we can't reach 200hp on wheel. How about the reliability when we oversize piston? As this car is a daily drive car. That's why not planning to oversize the piston...

Maybe Mr. 2 Old 2 Rusty can enlight me...:biggrin:
Interesting project...

I might be wrong but I have not seen or heard of a daily drive Altezza with >200 WHP on our soil

Getting there without the use of wild cams can be tough

Nevertheless, besides having fun in your journey to get there, there may be a coveted title of being Malaysia's first 200+ WHP N/A road car up for grabs :idea:

Start planning...:nurse:

Veloc

May 19, 2010
Sabah
NOS . Period

AE111_SEG

May 18, 2005
Putra Heights
BOT is way to go.
Fairly easy to install.
Easy to get HP and torque.
Easy to take out and resell if planning to sell your car off.
Power Gain vs Money Spent...

Again up to you to decide... but before you embark on any project check to ensure your base engine is healthy so that you can get the max out of the mod....:smokin:

But if your mind is set on NA then High Cam, Slightly Bigger Piston, ECU, Exhaust, 4 throttle... etc... which can be expensive.

Dont forget higher power will demand better brakes and handling....

220mph

Mar 31, 2006
can be done.its matter of worth it anot. i will cost u a bomb. moreover 200Whp region seem to the barrier limit. some bot supercharge 5AT altezza kaki also running around that power only. ive spend 6-8 k on my altezza. power increase still not noticable. hahaha . total investment on major parts for my k20a around 12-15k.stock piston and crank. 240whp 22.9kgm torque. and theres more power to be extract if i still want to continue. but its enough. moral of the story, pick wisely on what to start with. want crazy power but die die still want N/A. Go for Honda. want balance + comfort handling go for altezza. want cheap raw power, go for turbo.

1JZtezza

Sep 26, 2008
WTCC beams are rated 280hp, MMER altezza claim 230hp
Wanna get 200+ whp NA=get a race engine!!! ...dont get oversize when you can get high compression pistons.You will need high cams;ecu etc,etc AND a lot of TLC hours putting it together and tuning it.
Turbo go 1JZ.....daily drive with aircon some more...stock turbo,stock boost,stock ecu will get you 220+ whp and 30+kgm @ 3000rpm.....bliss

Greytezza

Feb 6, 2007
Truly Asia
I agree with 220mph..if you want more than 200WHP for a NA engine..go for the Honda K20A.
I have seen incredible HP produce by this high revving engine..you won't be disappointed.
If you like comfort and good for day to day driving plus some oommphh added..go for the Altezza. The looks is ageless...and still a big puzzle to some ppl on the street when they look at the car :rofl:

Don't waste your money on a BEAMS engine in the NA configuration hoping to squeeze out more than 200+ WHP as there is no fast and easy way of doing this. Like some of the guys here said..first healthy engine, crank shaft balancing, port&polish, aftermarket ecu, headers, camshaft...the list goes on.

Better think over it carefully and not take the wrong path at the beginning...if you are dead serious about a NA engine configuration ..then look at the Honda K20A engine first..IMHO.

xtremeleo

Oct 18, 2005
ive seen a 202hp 4g93p with cams and microtech, tuned on the dynamics. i dont see y a beams with similar setup cant achieve similar hp reading?

AE111_SEG

May 18, 2005
Putra Heights
ive seen a 202hp with cams and microtech, tuned on the dynamics. i dont see y a beams with similar setup cant achieve similar hp reading?
Depends on FWD or RWD. RWD loses more power on wheel. If Auto GB even worse.
I seen mildly modded Red Top Beams putting out more than 200hp on wheel but on a FWD configuration...

1JZtezza

Sep 26, 2008
ive seen a 202hp with cams and microtech, tuned on the dynamics. i dont see y a beams with similar setup cant achieve similar hp reading?
Nobody said it cannot be done! First is to figure out what purpose you want it done for;race,rally ,drag or daily drive.

---------- Post added at 06:11 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 06:02 PM ----------

Anyways check this out:-toyota Altezza - Race cars for sale

love the xtrac gearbox!!

xtremeleo

Oct 18, 2005
if its a simple feat, i dont see y there are comments to go for 1j laa, turbo laa, kan? id rather read a discussion to make dat 200hp at the so called wheel, lol

green

Apr 12, 2005
well, there are also others who just talk n talk only...coz they are clueless as to wat they want.

bottom line is, all else being equal...if u have the dough, u can make >200whp on the 3S engine. Bummer, u can even put in a high revving v8 into the altezza...

lolx

xtremeleo

Oct 18, 2005
like i said, id be more interested in reading making a beams engine >200hp, especially if the reading is made on a dyno dynamics, not simply plonking a v8 in it. handling is gonna suffer big time with a v8 infront imo

so, what is the option for cams for the beams then? iam assuming a beams has twin vvti? any management dat can control and maximize those tak?

Yong_5290

Nov 4, 2004
Klang
hotmail.com
Nitrous will be the cheapest power over money solution...a simple press and u get a healthy 30hp shot...But if u want to run so high hp daily that means u have to pump ron97 daily too...If not then u have to run with methanol to increase the fuel

was wondering if this is a fake or ori meter

bought it from n1 racing sunway...

sifus please help

because i've been told that ori el2 meters have a grey outer ring housing instead of black and mine is black... so im doubting its genuinity...

thanks.