**What is the difference?**

reddice

Jul 16, 2004
Tochigi Japan
japan.com
hye all,

i just want to know,how to compare between Fiber & PU?
many of us buying bodykit without knowing that the stuff is PU or fiber.
and maybe we can be cheated because we dont know how to compare between those two.Anyone can elaborate on this?

1 : the colour?
2 : the quality
3 : spray (some say that fiber is hard to spray and the spray will come off easily,is that
right?)

p/s : i dont want to buy bodykit at PU prices but get Fiber stuff.

oly

Jan 19, 2004
Lumut
Fiber is easy to crack...just a small accident the parts will crack all over...better get a pu...

pu is something like plastic...colour of the pu is usually black while the fiber is white...

simonchangwaimun

Nov 21, 2003
Cheras
teamshadowrider.multiply.com
PU can bend easily,as in,deliberately bend it,and will go back to original shape
its like those ori bumpers

ken12292703

Drives a shopping cart...
SoMeWhErE
As i know, Fiber glass outside layer wil be black in color and the inner will be white with a lot of fiber like thread over here and there. PU is one black soft and nice material that can be bended.

time2drift

Oct 18, 2004
what fiber are u talkin' bout? is it fibre glass or carbon fibre? we use this two in our motorsport scene rite now. if carbon fibre, it is black in colour with dots all over it.it is very hard and flexy, very hard to crack and very expensive. then the fibreglass. its colour is bright grey, very easy to crack and break. it cant be bend, hard but very brittle. the thing will break into thousand pieces even if u got into a minor accident. then the pu or polyurethane. it is actually plastic, same that we can get from our car standard bumpers. its colour is dark grey. it can be bend, can break but harder than fibreglass. one more, pu are more expensive than fibreglass... :P

rasco

Apr 26, 2004
shah alam/JB
comp.fsksm.utm.my
buy PU!!! hehehe :lol:
which heavier?? :huh:

reddice

Jul 16, 2004
Tochigi Japan
japan.com
Originally posted by time2drift@Mar 28 2005, 21:06
what fiber are u talkin' bout? is it fibre glass or carbon fibre? we use this two in our motorsport scene rite now. if carbon fibre, it is black in colour with dots all over it.it is very hard and flexy, very hard to crack and very expensive. then the fibreglass. its colour is bright grey, very easy to crack and break. it cant be bend, hard but very brittle. the thing will break into thousand pieces even if u got into a minor accident. then the pu or polyurethane. it is actually plastic, same that we can get from our car standard bumpers. its colour is dark grey. it can be bend, can break but harder than fibreglass. one more, pu are more expensive than fibreglass... :P
[snapback]848220[/snapback]​
talking about fiber glass..so,the original bumper use PU meterial?how about spray?some say that fiber glass is very hard to spray.and will come off easily..is that so?

zan

Feb 20, 2005
unlike fibre glass or carbon fibre PU is flexible, thus can be twisted. but just like plastic and fibre, kenot simply spray. need special material to make the paint stick to it. which is why back in the 80s, cars with pu bumpers kenot be sprayed as per body colour. this was evident in 1983 Nissan Sunny 130Y B11 and toyota corolla LE AE80. or even the SH4 civic and CA5 accord upon launch in 1988.

only beginning of the nineties manufacturer gained knowhow on painting pu bumpers. nowadays, any paint shop oso know..kacang only.

i bought a set of perdana v6 imitation side skirt a few years ago at cosplus.
for fibre glass they quoted around RM55 per set.
for PU, they quoted RM160 per set. that is a sample on price differences.

coldfish

Feb 21, 2004
for short,

fiber is brittle.
PU is flexible and can take a beating.