4afe "makan" engine oil really quickly

jfjohn

Mar 11, 2013
Selangor
Hi fellow ZTHians,

Need some help here.

I drive the ae101 (21year old car) with stock 4afe engine. It was the family car before being passed over to me. In my hand, I bring the car for service/engine oil change every 5000km/every 3 months.

So the problem is: the engine oil level will drop till almost empty before 5000km service interval (less than 3 months). Have tried using different oil rating but still the same problem and recently realised the problem is worsening. Last time still can go about 4000km before the oil level starts dropping, now about 3000km already less than half left.

Have asked the mechanic i usually go to, and he suggests to send it for a full overhaul and quoted me a price of about RM4k+, saying it will include changing all the seals, ring and rebore (or something like that). 4k is a very heavy sum for me cos i'm still a student.

Should I go ahead with the full overhaul?
What is the normal price range for this kind of overhaul?
Any second opinions on how to fix the problem?

Please and thank you very much! :adore:

ken yeang

6,000 RPM
Feb 2, 2006
Is your car emitting black smoke eccessively? If so, you might be burning the engine oil thus explain the makan engine oil....

Izso

NA NA NA NA NA
Helmet Clan
Mar 28, 2004
KL
Izso.. Nope.. clear only..
Then you might have a leakage. Clean your engine bay squeeky clean one of these days, then over the next few days monitor your engine bay and underneath for oil leaks. It might just be a faulty gasket or oil seal.

jfjohn

Mar 11, 2013
Selangor
Then you might have a leakage. Clean your engine bay squeeky clean one of these days, then over the next few days monitor your engine bay and underneath for oil leaks. It might just be a faulty gasket or oil seal.
Izso.. Previously the mechanic went under to check before but said got ntg.. but anyhow, i'd give it a try... hahah..

ken yeang

6,000 RPM
Feb 2, 2006