195/50/15 vs 195/55/15 for vios... pros n cons?

Captain Fast

Apr 9, 2007
am using 195/55/15 for my gf's vios.

pros: corners slightly better (wider track), slightly less bumpier (thicker sidewall), protect rims better, gives a more secure feeling

cons: speedometer reading is off by a very minimal amount (barely noticable) due to bigger circumference

AD_EG

Apr 5, 2009
by right , 50 corner better.

BUT,it also comes down to owners preference.

some ppl feel more comfortable with 50,some 55,like my self also i "feel" that 55 corners better.

You can refer to this thread 195/55/15 or 195/50/15 some good points there

netmatrix

P Jaya:Malaysia
kh_tan.tripod.com
The tires (55) are taller with the replacement. Also speedo would show slower speed. You will not corner better. But there would probably be no different in handling. There might be slight increase in tire weight. So the steering would be very lightly heavier or no difference. But you will gain comfort as the higher sidewalls allow more travel in /damping compressing weight.

Again 195 is the width of the tire, 55 is the height of the sidewalls and 15 is the wheel size. Its very logical markings. I do not think a 55 tire would gain cornering advantage over a 50 one. Simply because the flexing of the sidewalls are more for a 55 one. So you get a wobbly response. But because 50 to 55 is not very much in difference, its hardly noticable. If you get a 60 or 70 one now that would change a lot. But the tire size would change too.

TRD.AE92

Apr 10, 2009
The tires (55) are taller with the replacement. Also speedo would show slower speed. You will not corner better. But there would probably be no different in handling. There might be slight increase in tire weight. So the steering would be very lightly heavier or no difference. But you will gain comfort as the higher sidewalls allow more travel in /damping compressing weight.

Again 195 is the width of the tire, 55 is the height of the sidewalls and 15 is the wheel size. Its very logical markings. I do not think a 55 tire would gain cornering advantage over a 50 one. Simply because the flexing of the sidewalls are more for a 55 one. So you get a wobbly response. But because 50 to 55 is not very much in difference, its hardly noticable. If you get a 60 or 70 one now that would change a lot. But the tire size would change too.
yeah... you are right... 195/55/15, 195 is the width of tire, but 55 is calculate like this... 195*55%=height of sidewall... means Weight * x % = height of sidewall. Example: 175/50/15, 175 is width, 50 is 175*50% = Height...

220mph

Mar 31, 2006
same track width la . thinner side wall.. harsher ride. better handling that all. nothing compllicated

scottwrx

Nov 18, 2007
am using 195/55/15 for my gf's vios.

pros: corners slightly better (wider track), slightly less bumpier (thicker sidewall), protect rims better, gives a more secure feeling

cons: speedometer reading is off by a very minimal amount (barely noticable) due to bigger circumference
i think he means compared to std vios lah.. std only using 185/60/15

muzhaffar

Dec 1, 2008
but if the rim diameter is same,but the tire is thicker, the rotational speed of the wheel will be less for the same car speed. so, it will give some advantage to the handling if use thicker sidewall..the speedo reading will be affected also..
my brother vios speedometer does not accurate if compared with GPS reading
the speedo shows 100km/h but the GPS shows only 91km/h
the car use 16" rim rim tire dimension of 205/45/16

220mph

Mar 31, 2006
crazy thin sidewall and crazy low profile tyre dont help handling.. but 195/50/15 still doenst fall under that category.
55/15 profile consider thick lo for performance driving. kills handling. high speed stability and cornering grip sure lesser.especially with ordinary tyre. only if u r using performance tyre with thick sidewall like ad07 then its another story. sidewall flex around with 195/55/15 , using man power to push ur car while its park from side to side already can see the tyre flexing. what more if u drive it harshly. im running on coilover suspension. with 195/55/15 go over pothole also merely felt anything. when change to lower profile tyre running with 16'' , go over pothole feel like breaking my vertebrate. but high speed grip and stability is no match with lower profile tyre ..

netmatrix

P Jaya:Malaysia
kh_tan.tripod.com
Low profile tires does not mean lesser handling. Its all in the compound and thread pattern. But so much variables to determine if the tires are good or not.

Width, height, rebound, thread design, wire, compound, blah blah. The best attributes simply means more money. hahaha.

Oh yeah to correct my last words on speedometer, its faster not slower.

jrkeong

Jul 24, 2010
I have one of the issue using 195 55 15(my02).. when is on highspeed 110km/h n above.. my ride feel like a snake...

I dono whether u guys get what i mean or not ??

is like i have to pull back the rear to straight line.

driving vios07

I hope u guys can gv solutions ?

thanks !

I have one of the issue using 195 55 15(my02).. when is on highspeed 110km/h n above.. my ride feel like a snake...

I dono whether u guys get what i mean or not ??

is like i have to pull back the rear to straight line.

driving vios07

I hope u guys can gv solutions ?

thanks !
MY01 and MY02 tyres are rubbish. 55 profile is a little high and MYxx tyres are soft sidewall. So looks like it might be soft sidewall?

I recommend Federeal RSR 205/50/15. Super hard sidewall and the height of the tyre looks like 55 even though it's 50. Wider track and awesome grip.

feipepe

May 12, 2010
balakong
MY01 and MY02 tyres are rubbish. 55 profile is a little high and MYxx tyres are soft sidewall. So looks like it might be soft sidewall?

I recommend Federeal RSR 205/50/15. Super hard sidewall and the height of the tyre looks like 55 even though it's 50. Wider track and awesome grip.
hi bro IZSO,
wanna to tumpang a thread ya.. spec tires 205/50/15 is not a rare tire spec? how much u get this tires?as what i know, this is very rare spec and also pricely is it true? this is only my 2cent knowledge.

Who daily drives with a racing shell? I'm considering doing it since my boat floats all over the place. I've had SR-3 before. It was great. But I've sold it to a friend and I want to upgrade. SR7 prices are ridiculous, Evo X Recaro's are madness.

Thoughts?