converting awd to 2wd

stutzedward

May 27, 2009
Haha no la. I only have a friend that makes carbon fiber parts and an accessories shop in Melaka. Dunno anyone that makes fiber. But fiber won't last. Cracks too easily.

cytien

Sep 25, 2013
Called ah Wah.. After converting 4wd to 2wd, cannot undo d... Have to buy new set..
So one more question before heading towards 2wd, is getting bigger tyre & rim can compensate the lost traction?

4gbanger

Jun 26, 2013
Johor/ShahAlam
bro kaninbu n stutz r sifus not me.. im newbie only.. :biggrin:

---------- Post added at 04:33 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 04:31 PM ----------

Called ah Wah.. After converting 4wd to 2wd, cannot undo d... Have to buy new set..
So one more question before heading towards 2wd, is getting bigger tyre & rim can compensate the lost traction?
bro, dont forget share us the outcome of 2wd convertion.. and also the cost please.. tq

kaninbu

Dec 2, 2008
higher tire wall not bigger rims.at least 50 series tire to compesate the tractions.

normality78

Any improvement in terms of FC?

stutzedward

May 27, 2009
Actually it should. You have shaved off at least 100kgs. That's a lot of weight. What more, your engine pushes less moving parts hence lighter. U will get more power n faster acceleration.

kaninbu

Dec 2, 2008
tricks learned from need for speed underground......weight reduction

stutzedward

May 27, 2009
"Adding power makes you faster on the straights, subtracting weight makes you faster everywhere.” - Colin Chapman (LOTUS founder)

cytien

Sep 25, 2013
some update on the 4wd conversion to 2wd after 3 3months..

traction lost -- not really
fuel consumption improvement -- a little bit only, maybe need a bit of tuning
car lighter - yes

1 disadvantage is my gearbox seems to be very rough when press hard..
Bro Kaninbu, since u convert liao, is it normal ?

Hi Guys,
I have an X reg VW Polo. Only a 1.4, but a very quick car. It is my first car (I'm 17). Basically, I've sorted the sound system, allows and D-badged it. I'm looking to buy an exhaust. I've seen a Sportex exhaust system, it comes with a race tube. My question is, do I need a race tube? and what difference does it make to the car?