7A-GE 20v PRoblem...

Bo SEG

Jul 10, 2011
JOHOR BAHRU
bo seg,

did u n ur fren..... modified 7a block like 4a, whereby got oil spray to piston n conrod..?.....n......do balancing crank....

mine doesn't do oil spray system like 4A...because i think it already have oil supply system...i only rebore my conrod hole to fit cp pistons pin...because it spec is for 4a 1.6...anyway my fren do...Sun Hup JB can do...i didnt balancing my crank when i do the 7A project...and it didn't give any problem coz i can't rev till 9000...my fren i don't know...

---------- Post added at 08:33 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 08:30 PM ----------

and for info....my 7A highest hp is 6300rpm from dyno sheet graph..so when i rev till 7000 rpm the engine power drop...feel like empty...if i push till 8000..also same...

mh wong

Feb 14, 2012
mine doesn't do oil spray system like 4A...because i think it already have oil supply system...i only rebore my conrod hole to fit cp pistons pin...because it spec is for 4a 1.6...anyway my fren do...Sun Hup JB can do...i didnt balancing my crank when i do the 7A project...and it didn't give any problem coz i can't rev till 9000...my fren i don't know...

---------- Post added at 08:33 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 08:30 PM ----------

and for info....my 7A highest hp is 6300rpm from dyno sheet graph..so when i rev till 7000 rpm the engine power drop...feel like empty...if i push till 8000..also same...
that is wat my mech in kl told me,.....most of the 7a cant rev >7k rpm......his 7a can rev till ~8.5 to 9k rpm no problem, stil got power
im stil not decide yet supercharge or 7a......

---------- Post added at 09:22 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 09:17 PM ----------

most important.....is 7a reliable..?

D7zul

Feb 24, 2011
that is wat my mech in kl told me,.....most of the 7a cant rev >7k rpm......his 7a can rev till ~8.5 to 9k rpm no problem, stil got power

---------- Post added at 09:22 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 09:17 PM ----------

7AGE is not exactly reliable.. coz it depends on the mechanic's experience..

it's a 'rojak' engine made from 4A-GE & 7A-FE parts..

if u want power without headache, go for :

4A-GZE (almost plug n play but parts a bit hard to find)
3S-GE or 3S-GTE (installation is a bit hard but parts are plenty)

Bo SEG

Jul 10, 2011
JOHOR BAHRU

Yeah...7A-GE for me reliable...if u want to try...because u dont need to step on your paddle till crack your car floor...hehehe...and it's got low fuel consumption....much better than BT...its also got good torque at lower RPM....

my advise...if u want to build 7A-GE 20V...basic spec that i acknowledge..
1. use OEM 4age 20v pistons with 7A block(81mm bore..same as 7afe)
2. better use 7A oil sump and 4A oil pump...but you need to modify air cond compressor bracket
3. 0.8mm TRD metal head gasket can use....without any problem...
4. 1jz fuel pump with fuel regulator.
5. Adjustable cam pulley on exhaust side.
6. E-Manage blue for finest tune-up
7. 4A-ge 16V timing belt
8. if u have extra money...buy conrod bearing..KING BEARING...for 7AFE...ACL doesn't have for 7AFE...as i know..

hope it'll help u....but remember mine is using Racing stuff...if u use standard stuff i think it will be long lasting..

mh wong

Feb 14, 2012
Yeah...7A-GE for me reliable...if u want to try...because u dont need to step on your paddle till crack your car floor...hehehe...and it's got low fuel consumption....much better than BT...its also got good torque at lower RPM....

my advise...if u want to build 7A-GE 20V...basic spec that i acknowledge..
1. use OEM 4age 20v pistons with 7A block(81mm bore..same as 7afe)
2. better use 7A oil sump and 4A oil pump...but you need to modify air cond compressor bracket
3. 0.8mm TRD metal head gasket can use....without any problem...
4. 1jz fuel pump with fuel regulator.
5. Adjustable cam pulley on exhaust side.
6. E-Manage blue for finest tune-up
7. 4A-ge 16V timing belt
8. if u have extra money...buy conrod bearing..KING BEARING...for 7AFE...ACL doesn't have for 7AFE...as i know..

hope it'll help u....but remember mine is using Racing stuff...if u use standard stuff i think it will be long lasting..
tq so much,
i heard 3 mech told me, if u want secure, better dont bore 7a block, 1 of them use silvertop piston. y racing stuff not reliable than original ke ?

Bo SEG

Jul 10, 2011
JOHOR BAHRU
tq so much,
i heard 3 mech told me, if u want secure, better dont bore 7a block, 1 of them use silvertop piston. y racing stuff not reliable than original ke ?

racing stuff also good for performance....but if u want your engine long lasting and drive it for long distance..better stand with OEM stuff...racing stuff cant stand for long distance journey...like racing cam, high comp pistons, racing clutch,...thats based from my experience...my car always JB-KEMAMAN....JB-SELANGOR....JB-KL...the ending not so good..hehehe...

but racing conrod bearing...H beam conrod...performance plug cable...all this item reliable to use with OEM spec...coz they will give you some performance and also long lasting item...also from my experience...

mh wong

Feb 14, 2012
racing stuff also good for performance....but if u want your engine long lasting and drive it for long distance..better stand with OEM stuff...racing stuff cant stand for long distance journey...like racing cam, high comp pistons, racing clutch,...thats based from my experience...my car always JB-KEMAMAN....JB-SELANGOR....JB-KL...the ending not so good..hehehe...

but racing conrod bearing...H beam conrod...performance plug cable...all this item reliable to use with OEM spec...coz they will give you some performance and also long lasting item...also from my experience...
tq so much.

mh wong

Feb 14, 2012
My fren 7age 5 speed gearbox which did by kegani really powerful, cost him 9k +. He test 04 wif te other fren bt 5 speed, leading 4 car space in front. N while he test wif my other fren ae111 wif toda 272in n out hicam, block original 4age, wif full lock lsd. 7a win 1 car space.

---------- Post added at 09:54 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 09:51 PM ----------

Many tuner do said better use standalone ecu instead of using e manage. U can squeez more power fr ur rebuild engine

hye there...
here i need some advice from all who know something about 7age 20v project...

i was built 7age 20v on blacktop.....

spec..

cp 82mm piston
7a-fe block bore 82mm
7a duratech con rod
king conrod bearing
stock 20v bt head + stock Cam + stock cam gears
4age 16v timing belt
0.8mm trd metal head gasket
7a 212mm flywheel
4age 20v 6 speed gearbox
clutch cover exedy racing with trinity clutch disc
tom's trumpet
e manage blue ecu
1 jz fuel pump
work fuel regulator
ngk r 09 plug cable
iridium tough vk 20 plug

but now after dyno...i only got 140ps..
the tuner said i must reduce the compression to get more hp..
he said my engine got to much of knocking...
he tell me to put around 2mm head gasket to reduce the compression..
too high compression will reduce the hp coz of too much of knocking...
so now he retard the firing(if not mistaken)...
and my engine dont have power that it deserve...

is that true???..
can this spec produce lot hp?
is there have another spec that suit for 7age setup????

i want to put 288 deg 9.2 lift for my engine...
but i want to settle this problem 1st to see the stock 7age 20v could make...:adore:

he is correct....

but if u have plan to change into higher lift+wider degree cam, then go for it...it also can help reduce dynamic compression hence reduce knocking...and increase power

my friend driving kancil 850... he forgot to put back the radiator cap after he check before his journey..

for some distance the temperature go high and after he check back, the water in the tank already dry... then he top up the water into the radiator and after that, his car broke down and cannot start back...

what is the real problem hear and what should he do??

getting help from expert.. :)

p/s: sorry for grammatical mistake