GTi 05'

kkchai

Nov 30, 2007
Hi guys & gals at ZTH,

Would like to get some opinion from everyone here on the Satria GTi 05' regard to its maintenance, pros & cons, upgrade feature and anything you people can advise before i proceed.

Thinking of use it as base to learn more on tune-ing.

Is it true the ECU can't be piggyback?

Hope can help, thanks :adore:

i tot gti 05 will be the R3 version?
its a good & reliable car bro. had a 2000 mmc ecu sgti before, kinda miss it bro...
thinking of buying another 1 back.....

the siemens 1, 03 & above can use piggyback, but the 2000 model with MMC ecu could.

LuKa

Jul 14, 2005
Kedah
if you want to use stock and only cosmetic mods can.. but if u want to tweak,upgrades,compete with friends n others better buy the mmc vertion..

kkchai

Nov 30, 2007
OkOk then I try hunt for version MMC (before 03')?

It is true the maintenance cost will be higher than normal?

LuKa

Jul 14, 2005
Kedah
what do you mean maintenance cost higher than normal??

if you referring maintenance gti siemen n mmc.. its basicly the same.. only computer box electronic devices related is deferent..

buying used gtis usually u'll will be spending a bit here n there to restore it to peak performance.. depending on the previous owner will determine whether the gti is in good form or not.. but rarely u will find a good buy that u dont need to repair for 6-12months period..
if you buy from used car u will get it with touchup paint/newly painted+new timing belt... but usually new owners will be spending on parts like engine Mounts,suspensions n some minor failing electronic sensor/devices..

prices for parts you can choose..there are cheap low grades parts,imitations, used,chop shop,genuine oem, aftermarket performance parts..

suhaimi_rahman

Dec 10, 2009
Kuala terenggan
bro danzeterna ..

i currently drive gti 03 model with siemens vdo.
i had a few gti's member who with an MMC edition and vdo edition. different with those 2 things is horse power and top end.

MMC - top speed ( standard ) about 240 kmh
vdo - top speed ( standard ) about 220 kmh

major service cost 5k mileage / timing belt /bearing - average. prices for parts you can choose..there are cheap low grades parts,imitations, used,chop shop,genuine oem, aftermarket performance parts..

electrical spare part -
hehehehe ..sorry to say that an MMC quite expensive than Vdo..like plug coil for MMC cost about RM 300 and above (same coil like Perdana V6 )
VDO plug coil cost rm160 nett. plug cable also different..an MMC model got a HUGE choise for you to choose, like NGK power cable :top:
not like VDO model , just a 'little' choices :banghead: currently i using an R3 plug cable.niceeeeeeee ..

1 thing not good about VDo just .. the Throtle body quite sensitive.very sensitive. u have to / must to put oil catch tank to make sure those T/B will live longer.and clean it every 5k mileage.

mmmmmmm...what else....errrrrr ....:smokin:
u should join satria forum to get know more about. pm me...

EGNINE

Jan 8, 2006
bro danzeterna ..

i currently drive gti 03 model with siemens vdo.
i had a few gti's member who with an MMC edition and vdo edition. different with those 2 things is horse power and top end.

MMC - top speed ( standard ) about 240 kmh
vdo - top speed ( standard ) about 220 kmh

major service cost 5k mileage / timing belt /bearing - average. prices for parts you can choose..there are cheap low grades parts,imitations, used,chop shop,genuine oem, aftermarket performance parts..

electrical spare part -
hehehehe ..sorry to say that an MMC quite expensive than Vdo..like plug coil for MMC cost about RM 300 and above (same coil like Perdana V6 )
VDO plug coil cost rm160 nett. plug cable also different..an MMC model got a HUGE choise for you to choose, like NGK power cable :top:
not like VDO model , just a 'little' choices :banghead: currently i using an R3 plug cable.niceeeeeeee ..

1 thing not good about VDo just .. the Throtle body quite sensitive.very sensitive. u have to / must to put oil catch tank to make sure those T/B will live longer.and clean it every 5k mileage.

mmmmmmm...what else....errrrrr ....:smokin:
u should join satria forum to get know more about. pm me...

mmc 240kmh..damn fast...my mmc only 180kmh..after some mod then only can upto 220kmh

mine was sgti 2000 model, top speed 220kmh, dont dare to go further,
but mmc model dont have speed or rev cut. able to rev till red line.

not sure bout the parts, but how often your plug coils fails on u?...

EGNINE

Jan 8, 2006
mine was sgti 2000 model, top speed 220kmh, dont dare to go further,
but mmc model dont have speed or rev cut. able to rev till red line.

not sure bout the parts, but how often your plug coils fails on u?...
owh 2000 model dun have rev cut eh? mine 2001 have cut @ 7.5k

suhaimi_rahman

Dec 10, 2009
Kuala terenggan
wait...i think got rev cut...7.5k rpm as EGNINE mentioned...., siemens bout 6.5-7k rpm...
something like that, pls correct me if im wrong....
mine..rev cut at 7.5rpm ...MMC got no rev cut ..:stupid:

lasy week i change lubricant from castrol magnatec to MAXOIL semi sen. .... fuhhhhhhh,,,trust me dude..my sate sooo smoothhh criminal...:driver: i will not change to other else.

my top speed 200kmh( standard 16" rim ) ..same like u mr danzeterna..dont dare to go futher..ada goyang2 skit.maybe complete bar from ultra racing will help to get more stable.

egnine ...
ur MMc need to top overhaul bro..change & port n polish..:nurse:
it's almost 10 years now since 1st edition gti produce.same age with standard 5 kids this year..:slug:
find gud tuner..change standard cam pulley to adjstable,1 unit only...just wasting money if change both,gud tuner just tuning 1 side...change light weight crank pulley ( at least 500g ) compare to standard crank pulley (1kg++) after that...u will get your top end back :burnout: thats enuff for n/a 4g93..

if want more fast .. just put on evo3 laaaa..:proud:

now i also pening, i cant remember my sgti mmc got speed cut anot, cos i sold it in year 2007.....but if not mistaken i think got.....i was also using ce28 taiwan rims, when i had an accident, all the batang & hub was attached, only the rim ring & tires came out......haha...

claim insurance & sold it. for me, i think i add on my insurance policy 1st....then install roll cage, by then only able to go beyond 200km/h.

if u want faster, evo3 + NOS...after that ended up like the white satria evo 3 in kelantan ......

EGNINE

Jan 8, 2006
mine..rev cut at 7.5rpm ...MMC got no rev cut ..:stupid:

lasy week i change lubricant from castrol magnatec to MAXOIL semi sen. .... fuhhhhhhh,,,trust me dude..my sate sooo smoothhh criminal...:driver: i will not change to other else.

my top speed 200kmh( standard 16" rim ) ..same like u mr danzeterna..dont dare to go futher..ada goyang2 skit.maybe complete bar from ultra racing will help to get more stable.

egnine ...
ur MMc need to top overhaul bro..change & port n polish..:nurse:
it's almost 10 years now since 1st edition gti produce.same age with standard 5 kids this year..:slug:
find gud tuner..change standard cam pulley to adjstable,1 unit only...just wasting money if change both,gud tuner just tuning 1 side...change light weight crank pulley ( at least 500g ) compare to standard crank pulley (1kg++) after that...u will get your top end back :burnout: thats enuff for n/a 4g93..

if want more fast .. just put on evo3 laaaa..:proud:
i've done all the above..one thing i notice is when u drive alone or with 1 co pilot it is good, response n top ok.. but when ur have 4 person in ur car then u will feel that all the light item u install make u lost some tork, maybe due to lost of inertia...maybe placebo effect hehehe...or my engine need to rebuild kot hehe

kumar22mostwanted

Jan 9, 2010
HELL!!!
vote for MMC ecu :biggrin:
from my experience with these ecus is there is NO revcut but there IS speedcut
and the ecu settings are easily altered using a piggyback or rechip for optimal perfomance

hi bros, any recomendation to upgrade the brakes on my wira?

servo showing signs of wear and tear, just buy new?