What's the grippiest tyre?

azbro

Sep 21, 2008
Toyo Proxes DRB???:hmmmm:
oledi on maket??
yeah i saw one shop in JB selling...he said better then T1R ...
\

Actually, to start with, T1R ain't that grippy anyway. Its an average joe Ultra Performance Tire.

So then comes the DRB, from the feedbacks I get, DRB is only slightly better in the Dry where else T1R is slightly better in the wets...simple as that.

JINEIL2EN

Sep 6, 2004
Island Of Pearl
team99ers.2.forumer.com
Usually a tyre that is super grippy in the dry usually performs badly in the wet.
That's why in F1, when it rains, they have to change to rain tyres.
thats most concerns the local car enthusiasts, cos most of us oso looking for perform superb on dry, then still works well on wet when street riding... thats why many ppl take the R1R..

azbro

Sep 21, 2008
thats most concerns the local car enthusiasts, cos most of us oso looking for perform superb on dry, then still works well on wet when street riding... thats why many ppl take the R1R..
I do agree R1R is one of the best for that situation, AD07 just doesn't feel right in very wet situations....Infact, its very difficult for me to defend myself in the rain using AD07 against those Kancil, MYVI and Avanza on skinny tires cutting the puddles.

But the Price of R1R is much much more expensive than AD07, and i heard that it doesn't last as long as AD07 either.

I really hope AD08 solves the problems of AD07...but at what price?

Thanks for the tip about Silverstone. Never thought of that. How would the price compare to Toyo R888?
Well, if the FTZRR is not the grippest stuff...I dunno what is...unless its race spec Michelins or Slicks
I dunno the price, but have seen it in the garage sale thread, but best is try contact Silverstone yourself to know more and get more :)
I heard they come in two compounds and sound like a Land Rover tires in all its glory.
Best thing is its road legal

Oversteer

Sep 4, 2009
I will give Silverstone a buzz next week to get some prices as they seem to have my size judging by the website.

What's the pricing like for Toyo R888 versus Yoko AD07 for the same size?

What about Dunlop Formula R, Yoko A048.... anyone have any experience with these two tyres?

Tks for the replies... valuable feedback always appreciated.

InitialD

Aug 27, 2004
Is this how that Silverstone FTZ look like?

There is no "longkang" at all for it to disperse water quickly. Would be dangerous in the wet.

EvolutionZ

Aug 3, 2007
R1R is very grip - wet & dry
thread wear off very fast - bout 10,000 to 15,000km depends on driving style.....

AD_EG

Apr 5, 2009
looking at the posts and reading tons of reviews..i keep on contemplating if i should try Kumho?

I go drags(friendly) about once a month...sometimes 2 ..i need a good tire in wet..not cause i speed..but cause i'm a bit paranoid when its raining...all the while i've been using T1R...and been really happy...buttt now...im just thinking if i should experiment another tire? since DRB,most ppl said its just ABIT better in dry...and about the same in wet...the price is around rm290 DRB 195/55/15 ...rm280 T1R same size.

Where else i can get kumho for much cheaper.....Whats the price going at now?they only got 195/50/15 right?but alot of reviews said T1R is better then Kumho XS...R1R too expensive for my budget.

expenditious

Dec 31, 2004
UNDER THE SUN..
i got mine from kin alignment sunway...

they have 205/50/15...
good stuff dont worry...
dont think just because its kumho its crap..and certainly better than T1-R...

AD_EG

Apr 5, 2009
How much you got yours?

---------- Post added at 05:42 AM ---------- Previous post was at 05:38 AM ----------

Where to get Kumho in Jb?

expenditious

Dec 31, 2004
UNDER THE SUN..
haha...i dont know the price for that size actually...
i bought 235/45/17

for 15 should be around the same price la...

you from JB ah?

tofu_manic

Jan 11, 2007
haha...i dont know the price for that size actually...
i bought 235/45/17

for 15 should be around the same price la...

you from JB ah?
elo boss, how much did u buy ur kumho xs, that size?

Source: Autoworld.com.my

155/70/R12
Goodyear GPS2 - Rm105 Lim Tayar (CKL), KL
Goodyear GT3 - Rm105 Lim Tayar (CKL), KL
Goodyear GPS2 - Rm105 EW (Michelin) Seremban 2
Silverstone Power Blitz - Rm86 Tek Ming Sunway
Goodyear GPs-2 - Rm105 Tek Ming Sunway
Simex 8000 - Rm79 Tek Ming Sunway
GOODYEAR GPS2 - Rm105 QuickSave USJ7
SIME ARENA - Rm95 QuickSave USJ7
SIME ARENA - Rm90 EW (Michelin) Seremban 2
GT Classitro - Rm98 Sg Dua, Pg 10/06

165/60/R13
Goodyear GT3 - Rm115 Lim...