changing to larger rim

michaelkomodo

Nov 4, 2006
hi bro n sis, i've change my rim from 13" (tyre 175/70/13) to 15" (tyre 195/55/15).. anyone know how to calculate the speed?

wat i mean is, 110km/h on 13" may not b the same as 110km/h on 15".

papagoines

Orang Tua
Feb 6, 2006
Rawang/Selangor
hi bro n sis, i've change my rim from 13" (tyre 175/70/13) to 15" (tyre 195/55/15).. anyone know how to calculate the speed?

wat i mean is, 110km/h on 13" may not b the same as 110km/h on 15".

http://www.carbibles.com/tire_bible_pg2.html

remember to scroll to the A tire size calculator to calculate

what i did to compare 13" (tyre 175/70/13) to 15" (tyre 195/55/15), the result says that when your speedometer read 110kmh, actual speed might read slightly faster at 113.88 kmh

papagoines

Orang Tua
Feb 6, 2006
Rawang/Selangor
mayb shld try 195-50-15....
JIN is right..

done calc using 195/50/R15 gets a 0.14% variation... meaning for 110kmh travelled you can see
110.154kmh... can't see much actually in the speedo

JINEIL2EN

Sep 6, 2004
Island Of Pearl
team99ers.2.forumer.com
JIN is right..

done calc using 195/50/R15 gets a 0.14% variation... meaning for 110kmh travelled you can see
110.154kmh... can't see much actually in the speedo
finally, i shoot on the right spot... thanks bro...:adore::adore::adore:

michaelkomodo

Nov 4, 2006
too bad, i'd changed to 195/55/15 before asking this question... but thanks a lot on ur replies...

papagoines

Orang Tua
Feb 6, 2006
Rawang/Selangor
finally, i shoot on the right spot... thanks bro...:adore::adore::adore:
me got from calculations... you got frm experience :adore:

too bad, i'd changed to 195/55/15 before asking this question... but thanks a lot on ur replies...
no biggie.... just remember to maintain slightly below the speed limit lor

or you can sell it to jin hehe

loose_end

Jul 29, 2009
Wah , why you get 55 series bro ?

papagoines

Orang Tua
Feb 6, 2006
Rawang/Selangor
Wah , why you get 55 series bro ?
been wondering the same thing...:hmmmm:

but for me, if i do have a car that look good wif 15inchers, i'd go for 55 series... guess i like a chunkier look :love:

JINEIL2EN

Sep 6, 2004
Island Of Pearl
team99ers.2.forumer.com
me got from calculations... you got frm experience :adore:

no biggie.... just remember to maintain slightly below the speed limit lor

or you can sell it to jin hehe
must ask him sell cheap cheap... coz changing tires too frequently liao..:banghead::banghead::banghead:

papagoines

Orang Tua
Feb 6, 2006
Rawang/Selangor

PocketRocket

'(00) Mod'er
Nov 28, 2004
Up Yours
bro's...i think it wouldnt be so accurate on the calculations...

if ur using 195/55/15 against the new bigger rim of 215/40/17 you will experience slight decrease in pick up but better top speed due to rotational mass of the larger rims..

according to the calculator, 15' is traveling 70mph and 17' will be 73.34(roughly)...wouldnt u guys think that the 15's are easier to spin than a larger wheel?

loose_end

Jul 29, 2009
Lol .. there should more constant variable ..asumming both are lightweight rims

papagoines

Orang Tua
Feb 6, 2006
Rawang/Selangor
bro's...i think it wouldnt be so accurate on the calculations...

if ur using 195/55/15 against the new bigger rim of 215/40/17 you will experience slight decrease in pick up but better top speed due to rotational mass of the larger rims..

according to the calculator, 15' is traveling 70mph and 17' will be 73.34(roughly)...wouldnt u guys think that the 15's are easier to spin than a larger wheel?
the calculater i've featured is to see how much variance in the speedo when you upsized/downsized the driven rims thats all.. no relationship to the performance in any way....

i've heard that in some country if you upsized ur rim and its produce more than 5% variance in the speedo reading is illegal...

I am now certain the 330e isn't exactly an athletic car. it was wishful thinking that with the benefit of an 80+ hp electric motor paired with decent sportiness of the F30, would turn the e-quivalent into a bionic 330i.

In truth the 330e is more like a 320i loaded with BMW's famed plug-in e drive system but with a colossal 200kg extra, and a surplus that weighs as much as a human family...