ZTH MINI Club!

• Thread starter skyline86
  • Start date
  • Replies 3K
  • Views 267K
Hi twistedangel, minicooper, Somefella, Fastclubman, POW, Cchoi, hans, skyline86, sureshn, pimpin323 & ashnaz (Speed Mini Experts in Malaysia),

Happy New Year 2005 to you all!

I'm the new guy in this forum, could I join in your club? (Although I don't have a mini yet, but looking for one now.)

I'm looking for a classic mini, but don't have any good idea of it. I really like the classic mini outlook and impress of mini's performance. If you don't mind, please give me some advise on it, I would be very appreciate of your kind support.

I'm driving a Wira 1.5GLi Manual, but now I desired to change my car to a cool classic mini, anyone can support for me?Because I really love the mini rocket flying on the road. I spent a lot of time travelling from KL to Sepang, Banting, droved about 45,000km a year, so one of my main concern now is if I change my Wira to Mini, could Mini stand for these mileage within a year?

I'm also thinking about to build up a mini myself, but I know nothing of automobile mechanics, could I find a good master to build up a good mini for me? (My current budget is around 10-12K) Iz it a good idea to build up one, or anyone can join me and give me some help? Could you recommend a mini master for me, so I can contact me to do up a mini and join you all within this first half year.

My New Mini's main considerations are:
1) Stand for long distance (about average 120km per day) :o
2) Car performance is my main point (Speed Mini!), at least 1,000cc and above, so can take me to Genting if I want. :)
3) Classic Mini outlook must be good enough, interior must be comfortable. B)
4) Mini service fee and workshop location. (I'm in Cheras, KL), but I don't mind that if the best mechanic is in the other location.

Hope u all can help me to build up my dream and join u within this year. :)
Thank you very much in advance.

hey cls_minifan..

ur more than welcomed to join the mini club here...even if ur just a mini enthuasists without a mini as yet.. :D

well firstly...thank u for ur very very long essay..its been a while..hehehe the rest have grown lazy to writting essays for a bit ..:D

i guess everyone has a diff view..n i bet ull get a lot of feedback from the rest of the guys.. :D

a done up mini would prolly cost..more than 30k...like the one ashnaz is selling... :D 100% done by rosli jaafar...

i would recommand that u keep ur wira n maintain it..while gettin a mini too..n doing that up...mini is a more practical car as a hobby or project car...unless uve already done it up fully n thrown's a load of money into it..then its capable for daily usage...n like uve mentioned...

but still its an old car..n every once in a while no matter how good cond. it is in..it can break down ;)... no worries ull still luv it as much as u did before ..n ull learn to understand hehehee...that it needs tender ..loving care...

its a expensive car to upkeep n maintain for obvious reasons...its a classic.. :D doing it up would be awesome thats the main part of the FUN...hehehe hunting for parts...gettin it done...admiring ur finish product...:D that burned a hole in ur pocket..but it was still all worth while....

hehee..no matter what..i still luv my MINI... :D

btw... im sure the guys can recommand good plcs to get a mini...thats it running cond n not too pricey.. :D

btw if u have any contacts...malacca is a good plc to look for mini's :D
can contact the mini club there...im sure they will be willing to help ya out.. :D

somefella,

DCNF is quite a good carburettor on the mini to be honest, reasonable performance and fuel economy too. I guess its not hard to fit one on the mini but just hte manifold will be a slight problem i guess. Furthermore i am not sure of the clearance available from the bonnet to the airfilter as the DCNF is a downdraft carb.

I didnt know you were into webers! Yes jettings are bloody expensive. I spent close to GBp 150 just on jets and emulsion tubes on my last visit! I still dont know where they are correct or not, as my car has still not left the mechanics.

angel,

if i am not away then yes i can come and watch! hopefully by that time i will have my mini! hehehe, if not have to come in other car la!

clsminifan,

welcome to the our world of minis! My only advice based on your essay is, do not sell your wira!

sureshn,

so are u driving your moke to work now?

minicooper,

how are you doing?

fastclubman

cls_minifan,
welcome to the zth mini club! it's fun and great here. although u dont have a mini yet, u already hv the prerequisite qualification - ability to write essays! so, u gain immediate acceptance! .erm ... who started this 'essay' thing? our 'president', right?

on ur acquisition of a mini, i agree totally with what twistedangel says. and do follow fastclubman's advice: keep the wira. get a mini for hobby. like most of us.

miniclubman,
yes, i was on a 2 month break, since deepavali. im a teacher, remember? and that's why i was able to spend much time working at that workshop i took you to. yeah, the pic u posted - i really like that! that would be something i would like to do, but with a pickup.

fastclubman,
i live and work at the same place. so, no driving is involved. but, i do take every opportunity every evening and night to take mokey out for a spin. why evening and night? panas la - no aircon! only natural aircon available. if u come across a topless white moke in seremban n kajang area, that would be me. why topless? i've taken off the top cover as mokey looks sexier without!

so, the 17th has been postponed again?

hey surehn...

bout the essay thingy yes..its me...muahahaa :P
so ya bringing down ur moke on the 30thjan?
ooo sexier without a top on eh ;) heheheee notti notti...LOL

17th? tt izzit? lol :D

cls_minifan,

Welcome to the club, I am new to this club too. Am also looking around for a mini where I can build up from ground 0. Ash had recommended to buy a MINI shell and build from there, then lookout for a halfcut. Send the shell for totally respray and antirust, go for at least a 1000cc with cab ( advise from all: how abt 1300cc on auto, any BIG problem w that) That way it will fit into ur own spec, color for interior and exterior. I am still learning !!! Maybe that we cost abt RM10k-13k and hipefully by then it will turn into a CINDERALLA.

Hi all, any other better advise and tips........cheers

cchoi&cls_minifan

Welcome to the world of MINI. Its a good hobby to get into but....don't over spent.

There's a doctor called himself Dr. Heinz Cooperatz. He discovered a desease called MINISHITESIS. Definition: sudden rush of 'shit' cells to the brain causing temporary mental disorder. Symptoms: 1. willingness to unlimited travelling for any MINI events in the country. 2. telling lies, especially to spouse (eg. Price of parts). 3. uncontrolable mind on speed and modifications. The CURE: Spend less time at workshop,avoid junk yard shop( chop shop). So, if you think of having this desease, come and join us.

My suggestion to both of you. Buy Japan spec rover 1.3i twin /single point & reg. card. You will have a peace of mind. But remember to modifya the spec to a local body.

Have fun dude.

Wish to have this car.....

hehehe.. hasn good one.. like the think we are all infected already muahahahaa...

cchoi..stay tune for more..tips n advise comin ur way.. :D
no worries...minicooper hasnt given his piece of advice n somefella hasnt too :D

u guys need any help ..feel free to pm of bug any one of us..in here :D
im online almost 24/7 ..so dont hestitate..to ask for help :D am willing to lend a hand in any way i can... :D

Guys, the entries for the FWD event is now officialy closed as we've received more than the originally intended 30 cars but sadly, there isn't a single mini entered despite me offering to create a class just for minis. <_<

Originally posted by hans@Jan 11 2005, 22:52
cchoi&cls_minifan

Welcome to the world of MINI. Its a good hobby to get into but....don't over spent.

There's a doctor called himself Dr. Heinz Cooperatz. He discovered a desease called MINISHITESIS. Definition: sudden rush of 'shit' cells to the brain causing temporary mental disorder. Symptoms: 1. willingness to unlimited travelling for any MINI events in the country. 2. telling lies, especially to spouse (eg. Price of parts). 3. uncontrolable mind on speed and modifications. The CURE: Spend less time at workshop,avoid junk yard shop( chop shop). So, if you think of having this desease, come and join us.

My suggestion to both of you. Buy Japan spec rover 1.3i twin /single point & reg. card. You will have a peace of mind. But remember to modifya the spec to a local body.

Have fun dude.

Wish to have this car.....
Hans, with regards to the pic, apart from the engine, there is (or at least was) one such mini in the country. And the revolution wheels that i mentioned i have and need center caps for are like the ones on the car in the pic..same size also. :)

oooo somefella are those the set of wheels ya were willing to loan me for the event? hehehee

well i did wanna enter the drift event remember..
only its too risky ...n repair works ltr on might cost a bomb..
:P

2004 London to Brighton ride

http://www.poshpawz.co.uk/mini/photos/l2b/

cchoi..thx for the link...ive seen it before...it im not mistaken fastmanclub put it up the last time... :D

this has got me excited...lol only thing ill be leaving my dear darlin mini behind :( n only bringing pics of it... :(

good link for a reminder...n for those who have not seen it
if v can organise one in Malaysia, KL-Png or KL-JB ride will be wonderful. Arh-ha, wait till i get my MINI build......cheers

hehehe...yea...
truthfully...ive been pushing for a tt...ever since ive join the group...hehehee but no avail.... :P hopefully ill be seeing all u ppl soon b4 i leave.. :D

Twistedangel
well done President, nice essay and advice to cls_minifan.

fastclubman
YoHo Iam still kicking lah. I am Ok How about everyone?

Hans
Hope your wishes come true so that we can see you soon in that car. cool man

cls_minifan
Like angel said welcome to this forum, club, fastmanclub or what ever.
My advise is also keep the wira for everyday use and get yourself a classic mini and customise it to make head turn whereever you go., but please do not get those joint cars or Mini mk5 bodies unless yor reg.say so. If not you will have faster heart beat where ever you take the car out. You know what i mean?

cchoi
1300cc Auto will be good for town driving but normally i have heard stories that when ever the auto box is down, there not many that can repair it and you will end up buying another 1300 auto box. Question is whether the box you do decide to buy is good or bad.?
Anyine here driving a 1300cc auto? Please comment or let us know who will be able to undertake the repair.

Somefella
Wah entries already closed. 30 entries, congrats and happy organising.

Sureshn
How things at school and with you.

Cheers

Hey you guys and gals

What's your comment on this. going ah?

(this is the best time for you guys to have a go or take a ride or learn or whatever. get a feel of the track.

http://www.malaysiangp.com.my/news.asp?nid=232

and its all for the greater good. This is by kenboy under the forum Racetrack junkies)